Dickinson College Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership Initiative
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAFebruary 4, 2019
scheduled meetings and conference while working in the Leadership Initiative Office. Also worked in the Registrar's Office and Admissions office. the culture was satisfying
Pros
students - Learning environment
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJanuary 18, 2019
-Was employed by the university and told I would be getting paid a certain amount. Was not paid that and was significantly underpaid.
-University is concerned about numbers and recruiting students whether or not they will succeed within the university
Pros
Beautiful campus
Cons
Work enviornment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Student Work Experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PANovember 5, 2018
Working for Dickinson College while in school was very manageable. They provide flexible hours that work around class and extra curricular activities. Co-workers and managers were always nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Friendly
Gift Recorder (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PASeptember 14, 2018
Family friendly environment, great people and good culture. Opportunities to learn new skills within your own department. Flexibility and respect of personal time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company provides uniforms, and liberal leave policy
Housekeeping - Facilities Management (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMay 29, 2018
Dickinson College is not a bad place to work it can actually be a lot of fun they provide benefits the same as the students. have access to counselors, and the sports facilities
Pros
Access to all sports facilities
Cons
Small Financial raises with increased health insurance cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing at Dickinson College
Warehouse Transportation Manager (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAApril 15, 2018
What I really enjoy working at Dickinson College is being able to manage my staff and implement positive changes. Upper level management very open to hear ideas and vision.
Pros
Great benefits and people
Cons
Lower pay scales for jobs being performed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Residence Life & Housing, Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMarch 22, 2018
I am a student at Dickinson College, so my "experience" is working in Residential Life and Housing and other organizations on campus. Seeing as I am a student, I have no salary, other than the small amount I receive from Residence Life and Housing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and always changing
Caterer (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAFebruary 22, 2018
The day to day work at Dickinson was always changing. It all had to do with catering but it kept things moving and exciting to work there. I highly recommend working at this establishment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Tutor (Former Employee) –  28 N College St Carlisle, PAOctober 4, 2017
Good place to work while studying at dickinson college. Many different jobs available to students. I worked as a basketball ref, tutor, and TA while in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work at
Metal and Wood Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAAugust 4, 2017
I worked in the studio art department, while most of my time was spent cleaning the machines in the wood and metal shop, i also got to perform many tasks requiring me to build things and confront challenges and task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Spanish Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pennsylvania, USAJuly 30, 2017
I had different groups of students who I met with once a week for a session of Spanish classes with a native speaker. I had a lot of fun working with them and learnt a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain leadership skills.
Student Astronomy Researcher (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAFebruary 25, 2017
Part time job consisted of all the pieces that go into event planning and training that I wanted to get into, while also allowing me to pursue my studies at the school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient learning environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJanuary 13, 2017
A typical day of work included following a procedure and making additions if I deemed necessary. I was able to learn more about the process of drug research and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities
Serving Line Server (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAAugust 25, 2016
Working in a college cafeteria, especially at Dickinson College, provides its workers with a great deal of opportunity to meet young people from all over the world. The job not only gives them a pay check and good work experience, but also allows them the opportunity to make connections with people from all over the world.
Pros
experience, free meals during before the shift
Cons
small amount of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the problem
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAAugust 24, 2016
The worst place I ever worked at. Would not recommend this place to to anyone. Management is a joke. They don't know what they are doing and the treat people terrible. If you complain they will just fire you for no reason. Hopefully when the new president comes they will see what management has done and replace them
Pros
None
Cons
Dirty, nasty place, not kept after mold every where. Housing not fit for rats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, benefits and extras as in using fitness center.
Admissions staff (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMarch 18, 2016
Dickinson college is a great place to work. Great benefits and nice people and students to work with.

Interesting and varied work responsibilities keeps a day intersting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Orientation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJuly 30, 2015
There was a lot of training involved. My direct superior was very nice. I met a lot of new students and had a good time. My co workers were very invested.
Pros
networking
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJuly 11, 2015
Employed under a work study program while I attended school there and it was a nice form of extra income. The atmosphere and lifestyle is light and fun with easy people/coworkers to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term place to work.
Maintenance Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJanuary 30, 2015
There is no future working for this college. The managers were alright, but i didn't learn anything from them. The hardest part of the day was keeping going when things were slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community & Campus
International / Transfer Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJanuary 9, 2015
Friendly accepting, adaptable culture
Numerous wellness and education opportunities available
Allows for a good home / work balance
Very understanding of family / medical needs
Good location
Beautiful campus within walking distance of downtown Carlisle
Sustainability is extremely important to the campus as a whole, vegetables are even planted around campus for staff and students to pick at their will.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dickinson College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 35 reviews
514
415
35
20
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Dickinson College Reviews by Location