Dierbergs Employee Reviews in Edwardsville, IL

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 254 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILDecember 19, 2018
It was a great high school job, but it was time to move on. It was a great high school job, pushing carts and bagging groceries. It helped me interact with people and customers. Which will help me in the future with other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad excuses for management
Courtsey Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILDecember 7, 2018
The environment was pretty fun. I was constantly targeted by one of the managers. Lots of catty gossip up front, mostly about other employees. No benefits, no discounts except for the cooking school. They make it very hard to get a raise. The only positives were the customer interactions and the flexibility with students. Often when I needed off, I was sighed at and told they would make an exception this time as if no one else had ever needed off. I hadn’t called off very often, except for good reasons. Managers couldn’t care less about employee satisfaction. I had often told managers that I wanted to move into something else and was ignored. Very poor managers.
Pros
Fun customers, fast paced, flexibility
Cons
No benefits, discounts or raises, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to relate with customers.
Cashier/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJuly 25, 2018
I enjoyed my job because I could help people and I could talk with people. The management were mostly helpful for those who needed it. Coworkers were nice and helpful. I learned a lot about cashiering and the many ways there are to check out people with different payment methods, etc. The hardest part of the job is the multiple shifts that changed every week. I felt as though I never knew what day it was.
Pros
Nice customers and job environment.
Cons
Multiple shifts ranging from early morning to late at night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Deli and Seafood Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJuly 14, 2018
The job was great for a part-time employee that still lives with their parents. This did not pay enough for the amount of work. However, it is a pleasant atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotional opportunites
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 29, 2018
The job offered good advancement to a certain level and then it became a waiting game which is why I left. The job is fast paced and the benefits are incredible. The hours are awful but that's part of the deal with retail.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
hours are all over the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Salad Bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILNovember 27, 2017
Dierbergs was a fun and energetic place with lots of options for advancement! Worked with a great group of management! In the future I could see myself going back after getting some more experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing, good managers
Cashier/ Floral Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILOctober 23, 2017
Typical part time shift was four to eight hours long. I learned a lot about customer service being in floral and being a cashier. Flexible hours. They work with you around school schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & friendly!
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 17, 2017
Great starter job for a student in high school or college! Flexible with hours around schooling. Typical stocking of products, running a register and assisting customers with their shopping needs.
Pros
Flexible hours, friendly employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, yet difficult to get promoted
Assistant Manager/Manager (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILFebruary 4, 2017
At base Dierbergs is a good company, the respect and positive affiliations are there.
Nepotism remains rampant, the daily structure is often in upheaval.
They definitely need to change certain business models to if they want to remain relevant for years to come.
Management is often inexperienced with handling diverse employees.
Corporate seems to always be one step behind in communication, while communication store to store is slightly difficult.
Pros
30 minute lunch; 2, fiteen minute breaks
Cons
little hours, no ability to move up unless nepotism is the main motivator, no benefits if they keep hours low for the associate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to place to work with great management and flexible scheduling.
Courtesy Clerk/ Bagger (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 28, 2016
Good to place to work with great management that help provide flexible scheduling. Co-workers were enjoyable to work with. Hardest part was dealing with difficult customers.
Pros
flexible scheduling and great management
Cons
dealing with difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great family company to work for
Cashier/Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, iLMarch 5, 2015
customer service
cashier duties
cash handling
fair management
co workers are like family
standing
great work environment - interacting with customers
Pros
good benefits
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers
Deli/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILOctober 25, 2013
I have met many lifelong friends while working at Dierbergs. I have even made some rare cross-generational friendships while employed at both the front end and the deli.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Deli/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJune 20, 2012
prepare and cook food, provide customer service, cleaned work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report

See more Dierbergs reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dierbergs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 254 reviews
565
479
363
225
122

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight