Dierbergs Employee Reviews for Courtesy Associate

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 252 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace that teaches customer service skills.
Courtesy Clerk, Cashier, Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Arnold, MOMarch 13, 2019
Dierbergs was a great job for me, as it was the first job I ever had. I learned a lot here, gained friends and mentors, and gained much experience in a professional setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILDecember 19, 2018
It was a great high school job, but it was time to move on. It was a great high school job, pushing carts and bagging groceries. It helped me interact with people and customers. Which will help me in the future with other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Wentzville, MODecember 3, 2018
I bagged groceries and would have shifts going out and receiving carts. I would sometimes go and make sure the products on the shelf had their labels faced forward, so customers could read them better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Florissant, MONovember 17, 2018
This is also a good first job for high schoolers. More of a boys job then a girls but it’s a fun interacting with customers and building relationships
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Courtesy Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 14, 2018
This was my first job as a high school student and I stayed for almost for years because of their willingness to work with students. I was allowed to stay employed while away at school and worked when I came home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people there, but awful positions.
Courtesy Clerk/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Oakville, MOOctober 12, 2018
I worked my butt off for 2 years through scorching heat and stressful conditions just for $8 and hour and for maybe 12 hours a week but the people there were nice, so there's that.
Pros
majorly reduced prices in dierberg's freezer.
Cons
health care sucks, no sick days given, will give you the maintenance position before anything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dierbergs
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 12, 2018
Dierberg is a good place to work ;the culture is supportive of students. I enjoyed working with the customers and learning the about the grocery industry.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Too few hours available
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 11, 2018
\bag groceries and bring in carts
how to properly bag groceries/better people skills
currently poor management
boring
bagging-I do not like standing still
carts
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Courtesy Clerk/Bagger (Current Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILAugust 22, 2018
Whether you are working a second job here or full time it is a fairly easy-going place of employment. Customers are nice and coworkers are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job and great coworkers
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, MOJune 28, 2018
Working at Dierbergs is generally pretty easy. Dealing with customers is the hardest part. I don't know if it's because of the area it's in, but some of the customers are really difficult. Other than that, it's a simple job and I love my coworkers and I feel as though I am a part of a community. I have made long lasting friendships with people at my job there.
Pros
great coworkers, simple tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job as Courtesy Clerk
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 13, 2018
A typical day at work included working with the public all day and helping them all and giving them all a smile on their face. Locating items and stocking involved. Management was decent. The hardest part of the job was pushing carts. The most enjoyable part of the job was the customer service.
Pros
Customer service
Cons
Pushing carts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dierbergs as friendly and a good place to work for a first job.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 15, 2018
At Dierbergs on a typical day, I would clock on and start on bagging. You rotate every so often and go out on carts. I liked the friendly atmosphere inside the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good for a high school job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Des Peres, MOJanuary 23, 2018
The job was fine enough as part-time high school work goes. The work was relatively easy, the pay was pretty normal (minimum wage). The best part was the location (it was right next to where I live)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First official job
Courtesy Clerk/Bagger (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 6, 2017
Everyone was friendly there and people were willing to answer questions if I ever needed help. Bagged groceries and retrieved carts. Assisted the elderly to their cars to help them unload the groceries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice for a first job, stay for a few years if possible.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, MOOctober 4, 2017
Having multiple managers tell you to do one thing in 3 different ways can make it a more stressful job.
They will switch it up, put all the work on the newbie and let others laze around.
It can be nice if you make friends.
You'll have a mix of odd coworkers, nice ones, and rude ones but the job can be nice. Working as a courtesy clerk will only get you so much, but as a high school student its okay money.
Pros
Can buy food in store, discounts
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and not fun
Courtesy Clerk and Trainer (Former Employee) –  Warson Woods, MOAugust 31, 2017
Could be long days with very little breaks. Management would get onto you about anything and everything but everyone was still nice for the most part. Some drama. CARTS SUCK!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-paced
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MOJuly 13, 2017
Dierbergs was not a great experience for my first job because it was to far, and I also wasn't getting paid enough. But my co-workers and customers were really nice and enjoyed my work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough pay for the job done
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wildwood, MOMay 7, 2017
Dierbergs was a good starting job for me, but I had many times where I wished they would schedule me for more hours. I talked to my manager about scheduling me more and they told me they would be unable to do so. I eventually quit due to many factors, mainly being the fact that I was not being paied enough due to the union dues as well as not having enough hours.
Pros
Friendly People
Cons
Minimum wage plus union dues, not many perks to having the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & friendly!
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 17, 2017
Great starter job for a student in high school or college! Flexible with hours around schooling. Typical stocking of products, running a register and assisting customers with their shopping needs.
Pros
Flexible hours, friendly employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Courtesy Clerk/Bagger (Current Employee) –  Wentzville, MOApril 6, 2017
This is a good place to work. They are really flexible on hours. The managers are great very personable. The pay is the only thing that is hard to manage.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dierbergs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 252 reviews
564
479
363
224
122

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight