Direct Auto and Life Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 276 reviews matching the search See all 278 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Office Support (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 18, 2018
Direct is a good company. I stayed for years, and would probably stay longer. But, i feel my calling may be elsewhere. If it works for you. do it. You get benefits.
Pros
fun, money, BEST coworkers, Awesome Teamleads
Cons
lots of work, late shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Auto Property Damage Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 11, 2018
Work processes could be better but the company needs to listen to the employees! A lot of time wasted on non-productive meetings. Not a very positive environment and some of the employees get into physical altercations!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management. Not trustworthy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 7, 2018
I was very dissatisfied with the District's management. Too much added stress, too much expected for the pay. Have to use your own vehicles for marketing, going to the bank, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We do a lot marketing is was fun
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Statesville, NCJuly 7, 2018
Do a lot staff for customers. I love work with Direct, is fun in competition with other branch’s about sales.
We do Marketing inside the store is was so fun to do all kind staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great environment
Agent Manager (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAJune 26, 2018
Great coworkers, couldn't keep a district manager! No real career advancement opportunities. High paced but good environment on the job training and development
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Bueno
Sr. Analyst/Developer (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 14, 2018
I would not work there again. It was not a good experience. Their benefits are aweful and pay is too low. Only worked there because I was out of work too long.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management Sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the staff and District Manager
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Statesville, NCJune 11, 2018
best job ive ever had the agents are super nice and our district manager was super cool i love going to work everyday its never a drag. couldnt ask for a better job!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Underwriting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 18, 2018
I have enjoyed working at Direct. I learned a lot in the underwriting department. The people are great to work with and my supervisor is very good at her job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Folks
Bi-Lingual Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMay 10, 2018
I worked here and got into the Insurance industry. I would go back if the pay plan was better and if they had a better location. the Lead Agent is AWESOME !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok
Auto Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Lehigh Acres, FLMay 2, 2018
I have been working for Direct for 18 years and I am being paid below what a average agent with my experience would get paid. I am at the point where I can work from home and less stress.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
The pay scale is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Office Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  MississippiApril 25, 2018
it is a high stress position with too much expectation and not enough man power and too much emphasis put on numbers and meeting number-related goals than attention to costmers and staff/staff relationships. They pay never did meet up with the demands of the position

The reason I stayed so long is my love for the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Panama City, FLApril 16, 2018
I enjoyed my time with Direct Auto and Life Insurance. I enjoyed working for my superiors and team members. I had to relocate to Puerto Rico on family matters.
Pros
Excellent work environment
Cons
Health Care Options
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tense working environment
LITIGATION MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 12, 2018
Upper level management (Director and above) was a revolving door. As a manager, your stretched in many different directions and the demands exceed what can be done in the scope of a normal day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary
coustomer service (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 11, 2018
Direct was a family owned when I worked there the owners new their employees and family's. They did extra things to make being there not but a long eight hours but insteresting.
Pros
We had company picnic
Cons
Training someone else to take your job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was thankful for the job oppertunity.
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 21, 2018
I would not return to this company for future employment. I am thankful for the job opportunity that Direct Auto and Life Insurance though. I feel like the management could have been more professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast Pace work environment
Area Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  AlabamaMarch 19, 2018
Great management.
Overall great company to work for.
Continuous string of leads.
Hardest part is coming up with ideas to drive business during slow season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct General
Auto Property Damage Representative (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 17, 2018
Direct General was a good company to work for till National General bought them out. I think the Teams leads were great to work for. While as Direct General overall great company
Pros
Free Lunches, friend enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for career minded people
Lead Sales agent (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 13, 2018
This is a company where you write bad buisness so even though you write a huge amount of policies you can have double that to cancel, so you can end up owing them. Also, they require you to sale products you know are not beneficial to the customer. They also expect you to do work off the clock and clock in until you are in the office.
Pros
You get paid base pay and commission
Cons
You get chargebacks and they give penny raises. They also don't follow procedures when firing you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Lead Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  TNMarch 12, 2018
I think they are a good place to begin in insurance and gain knowledge of the insurance field, I loved working there but I felt they didnt keep you up to date on the changes
Pros
knowledge
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and company
Front Desk Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lutz, FLMarch 5, 2018
The typical day would consist of getting all the adjusters faxes and mail together, when asked upon take them their files. I learned to work with a big company and how fast everything moved. Management was good very understanding and if there was ever a problem , I could always go to them. There was a mixture of culture and religion . The hardest part was when everything would get behind and had to get caught up. The most enjoyable part was we were all a big family.
Pros
Long lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Auto and Life Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 278 reviews
560
462
369
230
157

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture