Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Found 443 reviews matching the search See all 570 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2018
I would not recommend to sacrifice any other opportunity for this company. The company has a high employees turnover rate. High employee turnover costs your business money and compromises its reputation.
Cons
Company constantly replace knowledgeable workers to cut cost.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice working place.
Technical Lead/Consultant (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJSeptember 17, 2018
Direct Energy is very nice working place with lots of opportunities. you learn lots about utilities industry and able to apply it implementation. Utilities industry is unique and new opportunities open up allot if you have business knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training was exceptional
Account processor and manager (Former Employee) –  Suffern, NYSeptember 15, 2018
loads of calls and if you used proper call protocol execution you are able to sell product well..management usually not around to support work place culture very diverse. explaining to customer about the service provided
Pros
call execution for bonus pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 10, 2018
I schedule appointments for people that needed assistance I think it was a very nice and fun workplace. There was many opportunities for advancement. A great place to work
Pros
Raffles, prizes, company picnics
Cons
I got laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unlimited commission, with a pool table and food trucks
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 8, 2018
setting appointments for customers that have issues with HVAC, Plumbing, or Electrical, and suggesting suitable coverage plans for any other foreseen issues in the home.
Pros
unlimited commission, many raffles
Cons
I got laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 4, 2018
.Ok company to work for there was originally much growth and good people managers were not knowledgeable hope the best forth to the company .........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Energy was a nice company to work for
Billing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 27, 2018
When I was hired, I was tricked into believing it was for the long haul, however they orchestrated a massive hiring event, which forced new hires to believe that the positions that they were hired for were permanent positions, but the company new from the very beginning that they only needed people to get the company caught up so that they would be ready for a massive lay off due to the outsourcing of jobs to India for budget cuts
Pros
sometimes meals were provided by the company, and they offered discounts at several different establishments for the employees of Direct Energy
Cons
It was a temporary position, posing as a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good serious work environment
Natural Gas Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Iselin, NJAugust 16, 2018
Collaborative work environment. Easy to get along with management and other employees great if you want to get into the energy business. Amazing first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sr. Gas Analyst - Small Business Portfolio (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2018
Direct Energy has a different culture for oil and gas because its owned by a British company. I enjoyed my time there. The people are great and the environment is nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of Constant Change
Reporting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OkAugust 15, 2018
The prevailing culture at DE is one of change. Upper management changes every 3-6 months causing constant shifts in goals and directions. If constant changes of goals and directions are your thing, this is the place for you.
Pros
Unlimited vacation if approved by your manager
Cons
There is no stable. It's constant turmoil and chaos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too bad they closed down the call center in Tempe
employee (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 14, 2018
Not many in-town jobs remain after the closing. If you are able to relocate to Houston, where they are headquartered, DE is a great company to work for. Parent company is Centrica based in the UK so some of the EU benefits are adopted in the US.
Pros
culture
Cons
cutbacks leading to closure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Senior Analyst, Production Support (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 5, 2018
Good place to work...No micro management..

Open work place where you can see ll the other coworkers ( and without any disturbance)

Good compensation and training facilities...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Direct Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, OHAugust 1, 2018
I liked that I would be making new friends as coworkers & a lot of other people. The most enjoyable part would’ve been going out of town. The workplace was very neat. The hardest part of the job was facing your fears & getting into the field.
Pros
You got your own space
Cons
Short breaks, walking for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
HR RECRUITING COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2018
This company had company culture and team building down! It was a great experience. The commute to Greenway was a bit much for me as it relates to traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Bag
IT Professional (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 19, 2018
I really liked working there originally until the long hours started. Once they started, it never really stopped for a while. Constant change (people leaving, people getting laid off), it was not very stable. People were very nice and knowledgeable.
Pros
Co-workers, unlimited vacation
Cons
long hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 10, 2018
ok company to start off at for accounting experience when you first get out of school. you have to be a very patient person and very detailed in order to be a good accountant......
Pros
location
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the Hills
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
ANY place is better than Direct!

Management positions are selected based on a high school modeled popularity contest. Then if management does not like you personally, you have no chance despite your skills or work ethic. However, if they like you, you can be the most incompetent, lazy, unproductive employee and they'll find a place for you - as long as you continue laughing at their jokes and do not challenge the status quo. And do not expect HR to advocate for you - they only advocate for the company - this place is a lawsuit waiting to happen.
Cons
Nepotism Like Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor
Plumbing, Electrical & HVAC Analyst/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 2, 2018
Supervisor was unprofessional, untrustworthy, and unfair. My hours and position were changed without notice. I did not receive a raise yearly. I always received excellent yearly evaluations but was not compensated for my work. Paychecks were sometimes not paid on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For contractors Horrible place to work and worst vendor system
iOS Developer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 27, 2018
Even though company follows good practices, it's vendor system is very worst. The vendors are not paying to contractors in time or properly. When complained these things to the client, they also didn't care. It's kind of mental torture kind regarding payments.
Cons
Vendor Management System, Payment Delays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my cup of tea
Customer Representative (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 22, 2018
have said all I have to say with questions. I have answered all questions asked and feel there is nothing else to say about company bad supervisor. this is it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 570 reviews
5170
4140
3143
268
149

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight