Disabled American Veterans Employee Reviews

Found 91 reviews matching the search See all 92 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the DAV
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 28, 2017
working for the DAV was okay. meeting many veterans and hearing their war stories was interesting. the pay sucked. there was no benefits and no real advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
Senior National Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, COFebruary 4, 2017
Assisted veterans and their families file disability claims with the Department of Veterans Affairs. I have learned what documents need to be submitted with a claim. Managed 6 personnel to accomplish the mission of the DAV. In a good office your fellow co-workers will assist you if one client's appointment runs longer than scheduled. The hardest part of the job is making sure that everything is done correctly so it does not effect the veteran or his family in a negative way. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you are able to get the veteran or his family a grant from the Department of Veterans Affairs that changes their life for the better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but it will suck the life right out of you.
Secretary II / Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Bay Pines, FLDecember 19, 2016
Management is awesome as are most co-workers. I feel I have much more to offer our veterans then what I currently do. A happy vet makes my day. Some of my co-workers don't share the same views and are just mean to veterans who are only looking for help.
Pros
Secure job, benefits, pto, holiday outings, close to home, great management.
Cons
Pressure, gossip, negativity, no team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy BUT...
Driver (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CADecember 18, 2016
I've noticed that everybody in the workplace talk behind each others backs. I am not a fan of that kind of work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor managment. No chance for promotion.
Department field Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 20, 2016
The management in Detroit, Michigan is ruining this organization. Seeing at least 20 people per day and the training is very poor. The work is not worth the pay because the people doing most of the work are the service officers. Would not refer anybody to work for this organization in the Detroit, MI area.
Pros
None
Cons
Very short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and helpful company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 11, 2016
I enjoyed working at the DAV for the fact that we got to help veterans with any problem they may have had with obtaining their VA benefits. I felt very complete while being able to help in any way possible. I learned how to deal with a lot of different issues within the company and got to help a lot of different individuals understand that there are people that actually care. The hardest part of this job was when we could not get things done as fast as the veteran had hoped, putting them in a tough situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Fort Snelling, MNMay 27, 2016
the job was very easy the staff was very inviting and it felt like a family until a new assistant supervisor was hired and had the worst people skills ever!!! other than that I would work there again
Pros
hours, benefits, pay
Cons
last assistant manager was not professional, low moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
National Secretary for the DAV, I (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 2, 2016
Disabled American Americans (DAV) is an outstanding company to work for. Over the past 18+ years I was there DAV has always provided outstanding work to ensure ALL veterans received the due benefits.

As an employee DAV has also provided myself an excellent benefits package. And co-works who are willing to assist whenever they can and has became really good friends out of work.
Pros
Good benefits and 401K
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with customer relations.
Bingo floor worker (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 4, 2016
Fun if you enjoy the fast pace and helping customers and coworkers. Cash handling and knowledge of gaming laws and rules are a must.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient
Department Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKFebruary 19, 2016
Have a very resourceful environment that have the dedication to assist veterans and their families. Veteran friendly and strive to make the life transitioning experience back into civilization for veterans easy.
Pros
independant worker
Cons
no healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving veterans is a priviledge
National Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAFebruary 1, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my career with the Disabled American Veterans was knowing that I was making a difference in the lives of veterans and their families. People that dedicated there lives serving their country.deserve no less.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little opportunity for advancement
Transition Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Fort Belvoir, VADecember 15, 2015
Great Organization, Great Mission!
Love the people I work with, I enjoyed the work and the things I've accomplished. I feel that I can do more and that opportunity is just not available to me at this time. I need to look towards the future, not concentrate on only the present. I have a lot of good years left and I want to accomplish as much as I can!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Member (Current Employee) –  Coronado, CADecember 8, 2015
Proud to have helped connect Veterans with their benefits.

Volunteer work, so I worked as much as I could while still serving on active duty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall satisfied with employer
National Service Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 10, 2015
Great organization that strives hard to provide optimal legal information pertaining to veteran benefits available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and on purpose organization
Receptionist/Secretary (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 24, 2015
DAV's top priority is to help our veterans and their family.
Busy but yet balanced workplace. Great people and management.
Pros
DAV is an awesome organizatio
Cons
Compensation is ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK place to work. Working with Veterans and transportation.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COJuly 5, 2015
Enjoyed transporting and helping veterans. Boss was a good person to work with. No co-workers. Hardest part was listening to complaints about medical appts and other people that work at the VA
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, good poeple,
Mail Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Cold Springs, KYJuly 2, 2015
Worked parts as ceo at tnt roofing 20 years managed 6 people did inventory, I worked on equitment such as trucks,, dump trailers
I liked working with the people and the hours ,free lucnhes ,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office, changing and improving government policies for veterans
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 20, 2015
* Answering calls, managing incoming clients
* How to maintain healthy professional boundaries
* High stress for all staff, many veterans believed that our office was the government keeping their benefits instead of the non-profit advocating for them
* Learning how to encourage people and de-escalate situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to give back to vetrans and provde a nessary service
Transportation Coordinator (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAApril 26, 2015
Arrive at 6 am make sure all drivers have their assignments
and have access to there assigned vehicles. Answer phone
calls from drivers in Escondido, Oceanside, and El Centro.
Take incoming phone calls from veterans concerning their appointments and pick up times.
Start taking phone calls from veterans and schedule appointments for the present month and the following month. Averaging 25 to 30 calls per day.
Keeping everything organized and operating smoothly.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to provide a
safe and free program to assist our veterans. Being a veteran myself
I appreciate the service we are able to provide to those who would
not be able to keep their Medical appointments with out this service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded office comfortable working enviornment.
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NVMarch 25, 2015
Typical day at work would consist of answering several phone calls and trying to help the veteran get answers to their questions. Staff is very helpful and the hardest part was not being able to answer all questions that the veteran would ask.
Pros
Comfortable office setting
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Disabled American Veterans. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 92 reviews
541
421
315
28
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture