Disney Cruise Line Employee Reviews for Line Cook

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 355 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work an contact basis
Demi Chef de Partie butcher (Current Employee) –  GalleyMarch 10, 2018
This is not Good for family life. This company is good for the bachelors to work an contract basis with out family life w. We are working with out day off for entire contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely exciting great company to work for
Secrets Resorts & Spa Chef de Partie for Vegetable (Former Employee) –  Buffet PreparationSeptember 9, 2017
Working there was ok you get to meet different people from all over the world and the different cuisine for each Restaurant .It a joy to get up each day and prepare meals for different kinds of people.
Pros
meals there are free
Cons
we get breaks randomly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best fine dining restaurant at the 7 seas
Chef de rang (Former Employee) –  orlandoJuly 5, 2017
french style and american meet on board disney cruise line, for a perfection combination
high level standar service
high level cuisine, with the best product worldwide
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I incharge for the kitchen out lets,
Chef De Partie (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 11, 2017
As a chef de partie you get to oversee a section of the kitchen, be it pastry, butchery, fish, sauces, vegetables and so on. This is why the job is sometimes called a station chef or line cook. In large kitchens, you usually get help from a demi-chef de partie, commis or trainee chef. Chances are that you'll be cooking fine dining or French dishes, but modern kitchens offering informal or contemporary menus generally have two or three sections, too.
Pros
Chef De Partie
Cons
Chef De Partie
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work and experience
Chef de Rang (Current Employee) –  orlandoDecember 4, 2014
Work everyday serving between 30 and 40 guest in 3 different restaurants.
I´ve learned to exceed guest satisfaction.
I´m coordinator with 2 more chef de rang and we are responsible for put the restaurant ready.
I work with an assistant server.
The hardest part of my job is work everyday in 6 months without a day off.
Metting people from all over the world and travel its a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest & Fun
Junior Sous Chef de Partie (Current Employee) –  Port Canaveral, FloridaOctober 17, 2014
Best part of working here is the company and the family you build from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency
Cook 1 - Demi-Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 21, 2014
been working for cruise line for 6 years now. and the pressure to be ready for service time is enormous. i started to work as a cook 3 and rose to demi chef in six years. i experienced working in different sections of the hot galley and I'm very willing to learn. working with different nationalities is both fun and challenging, adjusting to each culture and norms. the management in disney are efficient but very strict. rules and regulations are followed to the dot. but they give chance for people to move up.
the hardest part of working in a cruise ship is being away from the love ones. i was very lucky to have met my partner while we were there but we have decided to settle on land to start a family.
I don't have a new zealand work visa for the moment and would appreciate if you could give me a endorsement for that.
Pros
everything is provided by the company
Cons
very lone hours, we work 12 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mickey mouse earning billions of dollars through children
Demi Chef De Partie (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 12, 2014
typical day at work for 13 - 14 hrs a day
catering in bulk to international market and best of hygiene standards.
Great management skill of operating a hotel at sea.
multi cultural enjoyed working with different nationality
no off on the ship was the hardest part of job.
when my salary would come in my hand
Pros
free lunches, party for the staff
Cons
long hours and too much mental stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the life in the ship is more fun but too hard
Sushi chef / Demi chef de Partie (Current Employee) –  port canaveral floridaJune 23, 2013
its fun working in the kitchen specially if you like and you are happy if what you gonna do. you learned a lot of things specially to the higher position and the old colleagues the very important to accept what is your mistaken. the most of all im enjoyed because thet is my special skill and master piece to make sushi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report

See more Disney Cruise Line reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Disney Cruise Line. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 355 reviews
5205
499
338
28
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.6Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Disney Cruise Line Reviews by Location