Dollar City Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Land O' Lakes, FLApril 28, 2018
Dollar city is the title of the party store I worked at in Land O' Lakes village lakes plaza before the store closed down after several years of operation. It was my first job and my first experience working for A retail company.
I have learned most of my customer service skills from this employment experience. Due to my loyal, hard-working nature I was able to eventually obtain the position of being A store manager.
Pros
Excellent learning environment and experience.
Cons
The store closed down as A result of local corporate financed competition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sunrise, FLMarch 16, 2018
I loved my experience at dollar city. It was an amazing stay for me, I learned many valuable skills during my time with this company and would recommend working with this company for many.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Raeford, NCFebruary 14, 2018
Great place to work in a friendly atmosphere. Customers are great and so are the staff. The company is relatively small for the time being but plans to expand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work and manage
Store Manager/Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Springerville, AZMarch 24, 2017
Love working with the customers, meeting new people daily and making peoples shopping experiences fun and enjoyable. Love interacting with people and their families
Pros
Interacting with the public
Cons
No health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Part-time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 15, 2015
i was the one in charge of the store i open it and close it the pay was low but it was my first job in america and i used to work there just until i find a good job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and great work experience.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Land O Lakes, FLAugust 24, 2015
A typical day at work:
• Open store and organize product presentation.
• Communicate and implement sales transactions with vendors and customers.
• Take inventory of products in store and replenish sales-floor with more products.
• Complete mission objective according to store owner’s instructions.
• Assess profit margins and adjust prices of product accordingly.
• Review prospective employer applications and conduct interviews.
• Build rapport and interact with customers.
• Serve customer needs implementing good customer service.
• Implement maintenance procedures on schedule.
Pros
Work experience and lessons to learn from and a good wage
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store was nice & neat, wrong location for retail.
store manager (Former Employee) –  836 Guilford Ave. Baltimore MD 21202April 27, 2013
Investor was nice family to work with, Based on the culture, limited English and no management knowledge, plus high rental. The location had no other business to bring the customer for shopping.
Based on all these reasons, the store tried so hard for 16 months, finally have to shut down the business.
I was the person who do the purchasing and cashier. During the working hour I always try to communicated with customer to build a good relationship for the store image and it was very successive, lots of customer love our store. When we were on the final sale lots of them feel so sad.
Pros
sometimes got free lunch from owner
Cons
no health or vacation benefits or overtime based on small business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & friendly work environment.
asst manager (Former Employee) –  Hazelcrest,ILOctober 22, 2012
Enjoyed working with my other co-workers and keeping a well organized team. I enjoyed meeting new people & learned that management takes patience and is not a task but a skill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, INMay 6, 2012
Got to know regular customers, job was very laid back and fun!
Pros
free lunch, got discounts on products
Cons
n-a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Dollar City reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar City. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12 reviews
55
44
32
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
3.8Culture