Dollar Financial Group Employee Reviews

Found 91 reviews matching the search See all 108 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Merriam, KSOctober 29, 2018
Upper management does not care about their customers or the staff running the branches. There is constant employee turnover due to the deplorable working conditions. People are expendable to this company. Not a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Lead Collector (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 18, 2018
I worked as DFG for 5+ years. I found the management and supervisors created a hostile environment because there were too many ways to "cheat" This was allowed for some people and not others. Unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  CAAugust 12, 2018
Worked for the company for a good amount of years,too much favoritism, training process is all over the place, forever changing policies and procedures, locations could be in better condition, a lot of pressure to sell products. turnover rate very high, I would not recommend this company for employment.
Pros
benefits
Cons
a lot of things
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady paycheck
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 13, 2018
Somewhere to work until you find what you are really looking for. Late hours can be dangerous. Don't think it's necessary to be open for business 7 days a week. No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with DFG
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lehigh Acres, FLJune 26, 2018
No set schedule. Created each week by a certain day. If working in Lehigh acres then there is a possibility of traveling between 2 stores depending on need. Work can be busy or completely dead depending on what day of the month it is. Sunday shifts are an all day shift.
Pros
Flexible schedule depending on whether they are fully staffed or not.
Cons
Pay is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Company
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLMay 2, 2018
Pretty ok place to work for. Felt secured working there. Very busy environment. Diverse & challenging staff to work with. Work in a small area. Customer service is average depending on which location you go to.
Pros
Security
Cons
Stay locked in, cannot leave unless your shift is over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrongful termination
Collector (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 30, 2018
Worked there for 7 1/2 years was wrongfully terminated, large bonus checks are what made me stay. New management took over and I cleaned out as much of them as possible and left when I had enough evidence to convict them.
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Me
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonus, Raffle games, Potlucks and PTO.
Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 4, 2018
Overall everything this company was always a challenge on learning new system data. They would set new goals every month on how to hit goals for bonus. Call flow to certain agents would get more clients to collect. Even on the same base line, I feel it made it more challenging to hit bonus.
Example: Supervisor that step down are on the same baseline and allowed all call flow to that agents. They had 4 different levels on the same baseline.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
short breaks, system change frequently
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, Great People
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT 84119April 4, 2018
Not like most call centers, it's a small group (teammates) and the phone calls aren't stressful as most call center jobs. Pay and Bonus end of Month is Great too, Management is very understanding!
Pros
Great Pay, Great Work Activities, Small Call Center, Open Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager was a nighmare
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAFebruary 9, 2018
Payday load company. open 24 hours. schedule was based on favoritism. District manager would call you and cuss you out. Night manager sexually harassed the lady staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sr. Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Malvern, PAJanuary 30, 2018
pleasant atmosphere to work.

friendly SME...

great genpact team that i ever worked.

Due to change in management our project was not continued any more. Since i'm doing contract job i can't say more than this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Strategy
Senior Vice President/CIO (Former Employee) –  Berwyn, PAJanuary 6, 2018
I found that the three key leaders at that time did not agree on any key issues. Communications were poor to staff and motivation was very low. There was no trust in the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All talk NO Action
Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 22, 2017
They tell you what you want to hear. They do the opposite. They focus on hitting goals regardless of doing the right thing for employees who achieve results. Card table size desks and outdated equipment. Outdated chairs with plywood seats. Management do not care about any concerns to create a better environment. Computers are dinosaurs.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and mildly stressful.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CADecember 5, 2017
Assistant Manager and Managers will open the store. Walking in you check store for security then set vault timer . While waiting for the safe set up and/or verify misc. inventory. Once the safe is open then verify the money then get out the cash drawer to be worked out from. Verify the money in drawer and assign it to work yourself.
Pros
A different day then the previous day.
Cons
Upset customers, busy, sales expectations from upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Coffeyville, KSNovember 9, 2017
My experience with DFG has mostly been positive but I feel as if the higher ups and especially in the bigger cities don't truly understand how business works in the smaller towns. I don't like that they feel as if marketing will bring in ample amounts of new business. In our field people will come in if they need or want to. I understand marketing to get your company's name out there but in my opinion after working in a store for almost 7 years the best way to do that is radio, and tv commercials. Social media ads, phone book ads, and billboards even fliers.
Pros
Decent starting wages, offers benefits.
Cons
Very small yearly pay increases if any
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job if you like breaks!
Soon to be ex store manager (Current Employee) –  UsNovember 7, 2017
They do not allow breaks and you are not allowed out of the secured area while at work. If your a smoker this is not the job for you! I was hired as a smoker and they changed the rules after 5 years of being there. If you are a non smoker and like to sit most of the day and maybe help a couple customers then this is the job for you. Also management in corporate does nothing but bark orders that cant even close to be fulfilled!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Regional Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fresno, caOctober 17, 2017
It's a great place to work if you enjoy this line of work. You must enjoy working with people and enjoy crosselling. You must relate to change and grow with it
Pros
Flexible and fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart No Longer In Business
MANAGER IN TRAINING (Former Employee) –  Brook Park, OHSeptember 27, 2017
This business no longer operates in the US. They issued payday loans and cashed paper checks in various lower income areas and neighborhoods.Also provided Western Union services and sold money orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financil services
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Wayne, PASeptember 23, 2017
A typical busy work day, since accountants had to answer calls from different store employees and gave solutions to their questions.
Management encouraged teamwork and a positive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job Ever
Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 30, 2017
Dollar Financial Group was my first job. If the company had not closed all their stores in Las Vegas, I would still be there til to this day. It's a great company to work for.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Store hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Financial Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 108 reviews
522
427
320
215
124

See reviews about

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture