Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Found 11,853 reviews matching the search See all 12,168 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 24, 2018
Slow days usually
Packed during holiday seasons
Well management
All employees fun and friendly
Easy going as long as tasks are kept up with
Minimal stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great and fun place to work
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Bozeman, MTSeptember 24, 2018
The typical day would be what you expect in a retail environment. Management was fantastic, the hours were simple 8 hour shifts. I learned that good management can make work more enjoyable. The job was easy and environment was relaxing.
Pros
Management
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at the dollar store.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 24, 2018
Everything is 1.00 and when I say lines off the wall, I mean it but its all worth it at the end. Being on register from when im on the floor stocking ive learned that I have to move a little bit faster before the lines get crazy but it always made the day go by faster, which is a good thing. We basically make sure every items is stocked, and that the store looks presentable and make sure the customer walks out with an outstanding smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Mgr (Former Employee) –  Richfield, MNSeptember 24, 2018
time goes by fast, extremely high paced, need to know that going in that every day is going to be stressful and yet fulfilling. one know's that when day is over, you did put in a full day's work.
Pros
always busy
Cons
never enough time in a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn’t beey much care for dollar tree
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlantic Beach, FLSeptember 24, 2018
It was OK very slow but sometimes we pick up a lot of that a lot of the time you’re standing for multiple hours. They pay below minimum wage. Its really worth anyone’s time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, MNSeptember 24, 2018
No Review's! Very low work of personnel,
dirty the workplace, bathrooms very dirty and with very little hygiene ,products with expiration dates very often due to lack of personnel who are checking more often..
Pros
No
Cons
Short breaks and very little salary!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers are loyal
Assistant Manager/Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Eastman, GASeptember 24, 2018
Dollar tree when I was there was a good place to work for until the last week I was there. The employees were amazing, our customers were very loyal. You could call people by name and know what they were looking for when they come in. I truly enjoyed my job there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming attitudes from associates
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Price, UTSeptember 24, 2018
The workplace culture was inviting and productive. The workplace guidelines were easy to understand. All associates were helpful. Hours were flexible.
Pros
Good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not bad
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Orono, MESeptember 24, 2018
Nice enough place to balance out life but not quiet enough hours. Was fast pase around holidays but over all it was a good job. Need more workers around holidays though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sebastian, FLSeptember 24, 2018
Horrible company to work for. You are expected to work 70-80 hour work weeks. Not family oriented company at all. Always understaffed due to no hours allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVSeptember 24, 2018
Great place to go for a first time job in retail if that is the field you like fairly easy to do for the pay given to employees. Simple work loads holidays can be hectic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Key holder/stocker/cashier (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsSeptember 23, 2018
I enjoyed working there only because I like working in a fast paced work environment. Makes the day go by faster and your feel good when u finish your section before your hrs is up.
Pros
You can take a 30 min break, and can buy food there.
Cons
Dealing with some of the rude customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my days at Dollar tree
Cahier (Current Employee) –  Kent, WASeptember 23, 2018
a typical day at work is getting behind the register and putting smiles on customers faces, I've learned a lot about customer service in this job position, the hardest part of the job was nothing because nothing was too big or too big of a job for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will not recommend at all.
Cashier/Customer Service/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rosedale, MDSeptember 23, 2018
I would not recommend dollar tree because it has lack of team work, not enough hard workers, also they are limited on hours. The management was horrible and they didnt work on meeting the main goal of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general work environment.
STOCKER/STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  McKenzie, TNSeptember 23, 2018
Handled standard duties for a retail store, stocked shelves as merchandise came , cashiered, helped customers when necessary, They were more interested in speed on registers than on greeting customers and paying attention to cash drawers.
Backstabbing was present in the store.
Pros
Friendly, store was clean, good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back compared to bigger stores.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Arvada, COSeptember 23, 2018
I liked working at Dollar Tree but the pay wasn't enough and every time I got a raise, minimum wage would go up and the raise wouldn't carry over. The result was me making the same amount as a new hire despite being there for five years- at this point longer than anyone else at my location. Additionally one of the new higher-ups has instructed the management to ignore the scheduling needa of the employees and leave the schedule up to the computer, which may end up leaving employees with less than 15 hours a week.
Pros
Flexible hours, laid back, everything is the same price so its simple
Cons
Sparse hours, cold corprate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy
Cashiers Associate (Former Employee) –  Swainsboro, GASeptember 23, 2018
This place can be fun but very stressful. The job is fast packing but can be overwhelming dude to having to get it all done.

Customers are all different kinds.

Manager can be fun.
Pros
Fast. You forget that is time for break or clock out time.
Cons
Not enough hours for the pay!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar tree
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  OAKPARK, ILSeptember 23, 2018
Easy stocking
Learned more about grocery process
Management changed often
Self paced
Lifting can be challenging at times
Great people
Typical day at work goes by fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very communicative environment with flexible hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Middle Village, NYSeptember 23, 2018
A typical day at work would be your on your register with another employee who is on the sales floor and they are your backup just in case things get busy. Sometimes you switch positions. There were four managers and they were all great managers who made sure you never lose sight on what your task is for the day. The hardest part of the job would be midday and the weekends, also when it becomes close to the holidays. The most enjoyable part of the job was all the friends you make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If the store is a mess, you guess... the management is a mess too.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Hackettstown, NJSeptember 22, 2018
I gave them one star because I cannot give them zero (what they deserve). Poor management, poor training, low pay (low than the minimum wage), unorganized workplace, unprofessional. From five hours of work they just give you 10 minutes break. Give yourself a favor and apply for a job somewhere else!
Pros
None.
Cons
Short breaks, unprofessional staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12,174 reviews
53.1K
43.1K
33.4K
21.3K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight