DONOVAN & WATKINS Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 24 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59
46
39
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 24 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immediately placed; not much after that...
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 6, 2018
Placed in a position immediately which was a plus. However, the assignment and what was described to me were two different things. My recruiter was only focused on her profit because despite me voicing my concerns she would tell me to just hang in there or stick it out. This was disappointing and ultimately I left.
Pros
Immediately placed
Cons
Head hunters - say whatever it takes to keep you in posiiton
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, a lot of work, no benefits
Attorney (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2017
Low pay, a lot of work, no benefits. I would not recommend, it served its purpose while there, wage was around $20 per hour, you can get that anywhere without being an attorney.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Donovan and Watkins was a great temporary agency that I have used over the years. My latest assignment was for the Data Services department of Wester
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 27, 2017
Donovan and Watkins was a great temporary agency that I have used over the years. My latest assignment was for the Data Services department of Western Geophysical. Duties included answering phones; typing; filing; and other office duties as assigned. Donovan and Watkins management team provided great assignments with the possibility of becoming permanent. The hardest part was not having steady work or income. The most enjoyable was working with different companies and industries.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent comaraderie and management style
Senior Data Analyst (Fraud Waste and Abuse) (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAFebruary 14, 2017
This is a contract position, so I have limited contact with the Donovan and Watkins staff. However, the position in which I am placed is terrific. The job is interesting and the co-workers and management are fantastic. As a contract position, it is not intended to provide upward mobility. There are various opportunities to engage and learn new skills, and management is supportive of this undertaking.

Management fosters a fantastic work/life balance and many co-workers have become friends. There are numerous social gatherings and charitable causes undertaken by the entire group.

I could not have asked for a better environment, both professionally, and personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career starter opportunity
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2017
This is a great way to get your foot in the door to big companies. Provides variety but not very flexible. No training available. Would definitely work with them again.
Pros
great for career starters
Cons
you have to keep calling them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Important Temp Job Assignment
Temp Clerk Assignment (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXDecember 16, 2016
Helped with data entry on the litigation end on claimants injuries from specific surgeries. My supervisor for the department I was in is nice and loves her job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Agency
Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 9, 2016
Staff is very pleasant, placement opportunities were great. Assignments were very good. Wages were fairly good. Agency is well respected by contractors and companies.
Pros
Locations
Cons
No leave time offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Temporary Assignment (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2016
Productive - need more work. Really good agency and great building. Not enough of staff. Need more jobs from bigger companies in Oil/Gas Real Estate and less customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 28, 2016
The company I worked for treated me as an outsider other than that it was okay. I enjoyed it that they let me come in early to beat the traffic.
Pros
Weekly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staffing Agency
Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXAugust 13, 2015
Company seems to always care for your needs and would do it's absolute best to make sure that you are place with a company that fits you and not your resume. A very productive staff, it has been a pleasure working with them.
Pros
Cassondra Johnson
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great consulting projects and pay
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  HoustonJanuary 14, 2015
been working with them off and on over the last 5 years.Great projects and communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Warranty Processor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 18, 2014
Keep records of customer interactions or transactions, recording details of inquiries. Prepare invoices, shipping documents, and contracts. Verify customer and order information for correctness, checking it against previously obtained information as necessary.
Pros
Lunch included
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly atmosphere.
TX-Contract Attorney (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 30, 2014
Good performance is recognized and rewarded. Additionally, the atmosphere is professional and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finances
Payroll Tax Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 24, 2014
The company never had any money on hand to pay for the payroll taxes so therefore I would have to wait to pay payroll taxes for up to 3 weeks; in which the company had to accrue for penalities and fines from the states and the IRS.

No organization at all.
Pros
they let you work overtime
Cons
no management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place
Payroll (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 10, 2014
Staff was very cooperative and instructional. Enjoyed working with them,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Temp work proivder.
File Clerk/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2013
Staffing company very friendly and good on keeping me on assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place new assignments
GENERAL OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2013
Basically this position was a office floater general and basic office work.
Pros
Meet new people and learn new things
Cons
Contracts never lasted long
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Contractor (Former Employee) –  HoustonMay 15, 2013
they are ok its just another temp service. It good they find you somewhere quick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial litigation e-discovery
E-Discovery Attorney (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2013
Work is on a temporary basis depending on size of projects. I review corporate documents and client emails for litigation purposes.
The best part of the job are the people i work with. The worst part is the in-house politics.
Pros
Minimal supervision
Cons
Work instability
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Document Review Attorney (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2013
I have been complimented on my ability to respond with a sense of urgency and surpass responsibilities frequently assigned to special projects and privilege teams.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DONOVAN & WATKINS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

DONOVAN & WATKINS Reviews by Location