Dorman Products Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's your basic factory/warehouse job
Material Handler 1 (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYApril 28, 2018
A typical day in distribution consists of a 10hr shift of operating a pallet rider carrying a Gaylord, picking parts into case boxes and taking the Gaylord to the shipping floor to be closed and put on the truck.

Receiving consists of unloading the trucks (depending on items, i.e. rad. fans, have to be unloaded by hand), then (re)palleted, and taken to the warehouse until picked by distribution or production staff.

Production consists of taking raw material (and sometimes finished goods) and repackaging them into finished goods, either by hand or by machine.
Pros
holidays off and benefits
Cons
prefer not to answer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and family oriented company
Material Handler1 (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYMarch 8, 2018
Dorman was a very pleasant place to work. They tried to make your job fun as well as productive. They plan events to make your job less stressful along with opportunities to advance quickly.
Pros
Free lunches, prizes, paid time off
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Ghent, KYFebruary 18, 2018
Bosses didn't know how to regulate work. Couldn't work a 40 hour week due to running out of work. Work was repetitive and boring. Bosses we're confusing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good
Contributor Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland, TNJanuary 16, 2018
it was really good when i started feb 2016 but things changed a lot and the rate was getting inpossible to achieve or act like a robot. overall its not yet too late for this company this can still be saved with good management.
Pros
time flies
Cons
hard rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYJanuary 13, 2018
Great company to work for. Fast paced and benefits are great. Management is great to work for. They try to maintain a good production schedule, sometimes its hustle and bustle, then other times more relaxed.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No advacement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People & Working Environment
Process Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, KYJanuary 8, 2018
Great place to work; leadership is steadily improving at interacting with employees and welcoming ideas for growth.Teamwork/collaboration strongly emphasized. Opportunities for advancement are arising more frequently as company and site grow and expand.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits.
Cons
Frequent gossip/drama. Changes sometimes implemented too soon without assuring sustainability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Voice Picker (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYDecember 26, 2017
I enjoyed working at Dorman Products, made quite a few lifelong friends while working there it is really a community just have to stay away from the bad apples.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great til it wasnt
Distribution (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYDecember 5, 2017
Cant seem to get a straight answer from anyone. Always passing the buck onto someone else. Promotions not handed out fairly. 3 different explainations from 3 different hr reps on why 1 person didnt get a job, yet they hire active drug addicts. Scary sight to see when someone driving power industrial trucks and cant even keep their eyes open. (Nodding out) but claims to not have any right to drug test.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work
Production/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNNovember 27, 2017
Dorman provides activities and special events throughout the year which helps alleviate some of the more stressful times when we are really busy. They provide a competitive benefits package which is really affordable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful position
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Colmar, PANovember 17, 2017
Constant meetings and constant arguments. Could have been a very fun environment, interesting work, but so many egos. Was laid off because I did not have a bachelors degree, even though they knew that when I applied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mean girl movie....lol
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KY 41095November 14, 2017
It's a great place to work other than the other people. They are moody and my coworkers were some of the most miserable people I have ever met. Rough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNOctober 31, 2017
This is a great place to work. Would recommend to anyone at any time. They should be more lenient on their probationary points but that the only problem I had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay. For some
Packer/Picker (Former Employee) –  Louisiana, MOOctober 30, 2017
The lady's at the desk would pick and choose favorites just like the mangers would, in order to get hood numbers you would have to have a huge order and get it done quickly. My first time there I was working for about a week or two and they fired me on a friday morning while i was heading to work because my numbers weren't good enough when there was prople working there for months or years whos numbers were either tge same as mine or worse. The second time i worked there they fired me because i had bad numbers one day. And the reason i had bad numbers was because it was a slow day there weren't any big orders so us packets hand to pick off each others orders.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
They have to like you to keep your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good experience
Distribution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland, TNOctober 24, 2017
i am just looking to advance and do a little more in my job opportunity and find hours to better suite my family and household.
overall dorman products provides a great opportunity, benefits and decent pay per hour.
Pros
company get togthers, the pay, the benefits
Cons
the management and the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced relaxed
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYAugust 31, 2017
it was a good place to work, fast paced well caring managers, good pay, good benefits. no problems with the other employees. they work with you on what hours you want as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but not a career option.
Forlift Operator (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYAugust 23, 2017
Very laid back place to work if you're not afraid of manual labor. The leadership team is mostly not present and disorganized though. Also very limited opportunity for advancement in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Picker (Former Employee) –  Louisiana, MOAugust 22, 2017
Good pay, good benefits, and good people.its a good work environment lots of breaks lots of activities company picnics games free lunches extra breaks for high temps.
Pros
Incentive pay
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, relaxing, and people are nice.
Material Handler/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYAugust 20, 2017
Great job. Even though its 12 hour shifts, you will have a good time. The better you do, the more you get noticed.They see hard workers and help achieve their dreams.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYAugust 9, 2017
I worked here for 2 years. Always kept my percentage well above what is expected. Could not get moved onto another shift. Left this job because my weekend supervisor was very homophobic And got by with saying all kinds of things and making everyone feel like they were no better than dirt. The money is great for the work.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace
Voice picker (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, KYAugust 9, 2017
It's a company that sells automotive parts for vehicles. It's fast pace and you have a quota to meet everyday. Fun people to work with but sometimes it can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dorman Products. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 92 reviews
528
427
320
210
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

2.3Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight