Double Kwik Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the location
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hazard, KYOctober 11, 2018
My store was excellent. Great employees and great management. Not every store is the same, however. As some managers are not exactly "friendly". Overall it's a decent place to work.
Pros
Birthday pay
Cons
No scheduled breaks/lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits, no lunch breaks, impossible tasks
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Caney, KYSeptember 1, 2018
Expected to work 10-12 hr shifts, no break. Full price for everything, expected to clean inside out and cook while not allowed to leave register.Learn to use lottery machine, and had to remember codes for food and drinks to type it on register.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pikeville, KYJuly 11, 2018
worthless management, minimum training, poor wages, fire you without cause and give you unemployment. No breaks or lunches unless you can fit them in around customers which isn't likely in a store of 2 people at a time. Impossible tasks
Pros
work alone
Cons
no breaks bc your not allowed to clock out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Hazard myMarch 29, 2018
Great if you’re in a pinch. Pay is better than most, workers are decent. Inconsistent schedule and hours. Usually short staffed so you’ll almost always have a ton of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Hazard, KYDecember 27, 2017
I worked there on three separate occasions, and under different supervision. They are a cut throat company. Pay is alright and you get a week of paid vacation once a year. If you need hours they'll give them to you. But if they decide to cut hours, they'll let someone go, so they're picks don't loss their hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Neon, KYDecember 21, 2017
I would recommend this job for anyone needing money without having a college degree. The job can be fast paced at times, but with training and experience it becomes easily manageable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced, Retail Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hazard, KYNovember 29, 2017
Typical work week is between 25-35 hours. Schedules are made weekly, with limited flexibility in scheduling. They do not offer breaks or lunches, other than occasional restroom breaks or cigarette breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, terrible pay
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Pikeville, KYNovember 8, 2017
The company has great aspirations. However, they under pay and over work everyone, especially management at the store level. They hire people from the outside and when they mess up the whole company gets punished. They play favorites. Their bonus system is a joke. The raise system is non-existent. You have to threaten to leave for them to even consider a raise. You get one week of paid vacation after a year. You do not get two weeks until 10 years, which is terrible. My phone is almost entirely used for double kwik, yet no compensation is offered other then a meek 20 percent discount from Appalachian Wireless. No paid sick days. The medical insurance has a high deductible so it's pretty much worthless. The paperwork people at the office are ignorant, and blame store level management for everything. And it takes an act of Congress to take a sick day. They don't have a retirement plan at all.
Pros
The co-workers.
Cons
Pay, benefits, work-life balance, retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast pased work enviorment
customer service and cashiering (Former Employee) –  Martin, KYOctober 29, 2017
I enjoyed working here. I worked in the deli and as a cashier so when I was in the deli, I could make my own food and eat it for lunch for free. also, had paid vacation!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Asistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pikeville, KYOctober 6, 2017
It was good sometimes just very stressful and fast paced some rude customers some employees wouldnt do there job it was very stressful and draining job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  JusticevilJuly 2, 2017
I was promised full time hours and usually only received 10 or less a week. No one can survive with these hours! Also, the atmosphere was so uncomfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Pikeville, KYMay 15, 2017
Alot of responsibility in a fast paced environment. The actual people that you work with make alot of the difference and eliminates alot of the medial repetitive tasks done daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Cashier, 3rd Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Nicholasville, KYApril 26, 2017
It was an out of state job in Nicholasville, Kentucky where I use to live and I sure do miss working for them. The owner flew me and my son home when my mom had a heart attack.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
had insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so fun place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jenkins, KYFebruary 22, 2017
During my tenure at Double Kwik, I went through multiple managers. Sometimes the managers would work with the employees but most of the time, they just sat in their office. The only time they would help their employees is if the job got really busy.
Pros
Experience with customers
Cons
Managers, bad workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co-workers, friendly customers, company does not give promotions or raises
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Pound, VAJanuary 4, 2017
Company does not give any raises. Do not recognize hard workers. Company does seem to give better shifts to friends instead of hard workers.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
No chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas party
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Elkhorn City, KYJuly 19, 2016
they is always room to grow and move up all different kinds of jobs and the staff are friendly and great to work with love you can wear jeans or shorts
Pros
lots of breaks
Cons
no hot lunch area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that great
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Belfry, KYFebruary 23, 2016
Id show up for work and i would work from 4pm to 2-3am and they try to stress u out over the little stuff. Its like a big family there i miss the employees but not the work cause i did more than i was getting paid for.
Pros
half off on lunch
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Belfry, KYOctober 26, 2015
Interact with customers daily, take care of there needs and wants. Always be friendly to everyone. Build relationships with customers and always do all you can to help them. Stock everything that is needed for the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Virgie, KYOctober 12, 2015
The managers are amazing they try to make you feel as comfortable as they can the co-workers are so nice. Its a great Job to have, everyone is just so nice.
Pros
Paid lunches, supportive people, great customers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers and managment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pikeville, KYApril 5, 2015
This job brought experience in different areas learning and meeting people and learning new projects and understanding management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Double Kwik. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 32 reviews
56
47
39
24
16

See reviews about

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
2.8Culture