Dr Tavel Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't pay enough
Dispensing Optician (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 15, 2019
I've been working for thus company for some years, and it took about 2 to 3 years to get a raise. They will deduct my commission if you make little mistakes. They're more of the retail then medical. Im over dealing with retail.
Pros
People i work with.
Cons
Not enough pay. High employment turn over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Optician/Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2018
Plenty of room for advancement at this job. Management is great-everyone is very willing to help each other with any task at hand. Working in a small office setting can be challenging, but I have become lucky enough to have co-workers that are easy to work with. Depending on which office you work at, it can be very fast paced. It is very important to have exemplary customer service skills at this job. I started in this company not knowing anything about the profession, and was able to move up in the short amount of time I've been there.
Pros
Benefits, commission, discounts
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dr. Tavel
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INJuly 6, 2018
Very poor management. The manager was very rude and didn't pay very much for what all we had to do each day. The workplace was very poor. I would never go back there to work.
Pros
1Hour lunch
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Optician/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Franklin, INMay 15, 2018
A typical work day was checking in the patients and helping them pick out their frames and/or contacts. The hardest part was measuring for the bifocals.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restrictive no ability to advnce
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  indianapolisJune 19, 2014
No benefits, not a loyal environment. The company does not have a system to review performance. No system for annual cost of living increases
Pros
flexible
Cons
no system for reviews or raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Zionsville, INJanuary 5, 2018
They keep you trained so you are able to keep up on Medical advances and ask how they can help you with your job. They keep in touch constantly. The management is GREAT.
Pros
Free Lunches from Dr. Tavel when he is there
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Fishers, INApril 6, 2018
I absolutely loved working at DR. Tavel. It was always an upbeat and friendly environment. I learned about vision and facial structure while working there. I loved helping children and adults learn how to put in contacts. The hardest part about my job was telling a customer that their insurance doesn't cover anything on the Versace frames.
Pros
Music is always playing
Cons
no commission as receptionist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
optomitrist (Current Employee) –  Kokomo, INJanuary 8, 2018
Dr, Tavel is a great place to work with advancement opportunities and commission. It is a relaxed environment with a small friendly staff. There are office across Indiana for convenient re-locating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 1, 2018
From the interview to the to the ending of my time working there, I was very excited to work there everyday! The staff was beyond d awesome I felt very welcomed and appreciated at Dr. Tavel I was not just another employer there.
Pros
atmosphere, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice doctors
Optician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 2, 2017
i sat at a computer and answered phones, scheduled appointments. I helped fit glasses and contacts for paitents.

the management was rude, and made me feel that they were better then anyone else.
Pros
discount glasses
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Optician (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INJuly 7, 2017
I would not recommend this job or company to anyone. Whether you might want to work there or if you want to receive their services. A lot of people around the office would refer to one of the owners as the devil.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Receptionist/ dispenser (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INApril 22, 2015
type in insurance. call patients and let them know there glasses and or contacts were in. also have to have great customer service for the job as well.
Pros
relaxing job
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 1, 2014
Relaxed and friendly staff. Free lunches and breakfast often. Learned numerous tasks that are outside of being a receptionist.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
unstable environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, Productive, and Rewarding
Optician/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 5, 2016
My entry level opportunity into Optical. It was my first door of opportunity into the medical field; medical of optometry. It was rewarding to help with the sight of eye health and vision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thank you for your time
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INDecember 12, 2016
dr tavels making glasses fun place to work teamed up to help other co workers enjoyed working helped were needed worked over or came in early when needed enjoyed working and staying busey to get the work out I enjoyed my experance as I have taught and trained many co workers as well
Pros
i liked we had cook outs during the summer
Cons
the hrs were long at peards of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service experience
Optimetric Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 13, 2013
I enjoyed working for the company. My coworkers were great, my manager was very understanding and I loved the hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dr Tavel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 17 reviews
55
44
32
24
12

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.7Culture