Dressbarn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very fashionable place to work for. The clothes were professional.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 13, 2018
My overview of this company was always promoting sales and we catered to each and every customer we came into contact with. It was a place a slow pace
Pros
I always got the chance to shop, discounts, nice managers..
Cons
They need more customers to buy, prices were too high even though you get 20% off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Full Time Manger (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXAugust 12, 2018
if you are looking for a new creative work place dress ban is a great start. friendly environment and great staff, makes you feel like your ideas matter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New Hyde Park, NYAugust 11, 2018
A nice place to work providing nice clothing options for the working woman. The sales associates were pleasant. Good experience overall but salary was insufficient for volume of work and responsibilities.
Pros
discount on clothes
Cons
short lunch breaks and salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MissouriAugust 9, 2018
Cares about developing their employees to be successful. Good at promoting from within. Great benefits. Annual raises and market increases for long term employees.
Pros
Good benefits, Opportunity for advancement
Cons
staffing can cause long hurs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Sioux City, IAAugust 8, 2018
count drawers, check daily reads like ADS,UPT,CONV, SALES, check emails, check omni. open store.

management -could be better

the hardest part of the job is knowing when to discipline your staff.
the most enjoyable part of the job is working with the staff.
Pros
benefits and full time
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide customer service
Customer Service/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 2, 2018
I enjoyed working with people. I loved the location as it was near my house. I liked the merchandise that was sold there. I liked providing customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Training Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSAugust 1, 2018
I enjoyed this job except for the variable hours and weekend hours. I go to be creative and teach others. We also got discounts on clothing and first dibs on the items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Store Leader/ Regional Training and Development (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 30, 2018
Great place to work. Teaches you leadership skills. You work as a team. Goal oriented, district leader is amazing and helps you attain all kois and goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Retail, Management, Time (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYJuly 30, 2018
Customer satisfaction is the goal. I learned that everyone is Beautiful in their own way. Management is supportive. Hardest part of the job, there really wasnt a hard part of the job. i enjoyed interaction with the customers.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with Good Qualities!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, GAJuly 30, 2018
A well organized business with a good work ethic within it's stores & within it's mission on being successful in the clothing industry. Dressbarn also maintains a high quality level of encouragement & enthusiasm toward their employees.
Pros
Employee discount, great "team player" environment
Cons
having to learn & say the store "greeting" correct & in a timely manner
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJuly 27, 2018
This sort of retail could burn you out. You have to make sure you are helping everyone or having another staff help someone. You have to get to know each customer that comes in and make a personal connection with them so they not only trust you, but also come back and buy from Dressbarn.
Pros
Fun staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to wrk for
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 26, 2018
Great place to work the styles and fashion are great and at a reasonable price.Dressbarn is always current with the fashion and product knowledge. The ladies that work there are always very helpful and courteous.
Pros
Great Employee Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to learn specifics about dressing to fit your body type.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Castle Rock, COJuly 26, 2018
Working at Dress Barn was a good experience because it helped me to feel more comfortable in talking with total strangers about clothing choices, style and to fit their body type. It also provided the opportunity to begin learning about making outfits work with what you already have and building on it.

I also enjoyed the really nice discounts we received. I get compliments almost every day on my outfits and I am always pleased to say, "I used to work at Dress Barn".
Pros
Excellent discounts
Cons
Everything was about women's clothing, jewelry, accessories, not much variety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gilroy, CAJuly 25, 2018
This retail store taught me everything about excellent customer service. My co-workers were motivating, worked diligently, and had a great attitude.
It was an amazing 7 years working as a sales associate/merchandiser.
You build great professional relationships with your customers. It was a fun and enjoyable experience for me.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fun workplace
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Orland Park, ILJuly 24, 2018
Easy and fun workplace, staff and management is good overall. Cute clothes make it pretty easy to sell to customers/make recommendations. There could be improvements with job security/hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay part time job for extra money
Stylist, Part-time (Former Employee) –  Willow Grove, PA 19090July 22, 2018
Management changed 3 times in 8 months. Co-workers unreliable, no benefits besides discount. Very little hours. No holiday pay. Just overall a stressful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Sales Associate/Stylist (Current Employee) –  Pearl, MSJuly 19, 2018
i love working here. it’s such a fun environment and i immediately connected with my coworkers the first day. working at dressbarn has most definitely changed me life for the better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Retail Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Tannersville, PAJuly 17, 2018
Dressbarn is a great place to work! Great work/life balance. Great discount on the merchandise. Great benefits for full-time employment. A great place to learn and build your skills!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2018
the company is a good work place, you deal with all kinds of customers , you also learn how retail operates and its fun, i like it and was a good learning experience for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, TXJuly 10, 2018
This company gave me so much room to grow and made me into the respectful woman I am today. The most enjoyable part would have to be my customers and helping them.
Pros
discount on merchandise
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dressbarn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 893 reviews
5321
4279
3191
261
141

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.3

3.0Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight