Drexel University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 6, 2018
I currently work as an adjunct professor at Drexel. I am given complete control over what is taught in my course and how it is taught. My particular department trusts its adjunct to bring the most pertinent information from the field and deliver it to the students,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, unreliable system
IMS Technical Specialist & Phone Support (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 5, 2018
Overall, I enjoyed working with my coworkers and the job wasn't horrible. The systems were constantly failing, so especially at the beginning and end of every class term there would be critical system failures. The office was small but it wasn't too much of a problem as the environment was comfortable. My only qualm was there was no possibility to advance past the part-time internship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Porter (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2018
Good job for people who are fast learners, like to stay busy and like to work in fast paced environments. Car recommend if interested in the job. Requires traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sourcing Agent (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2018
At one time I enjoyed working for Drexel, once we hired the new AVP she started a limiting positions in my department. I worked at that University for 30 years and never had this happen to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership, but great people. The college-finances are declining.
Director (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 16, 2018
The people (workers) are great. Covering your butt is required. Over 300 positions elimitated in the past 2 years due to poor financial descisions and leadership. No merit increase in over 4 years except for executive leadership. Instead they give you time off to compensate for poor financial descisions. Morale is very low and knowing who you can trust is not easy. If you need a job and there is nothing else out there...I guess you have to consider, but steer clear until the current leadership is gone and financial situation is better. Drexel will be great again, but not under the current leadership and financial woes. Remember...they want you to think things are great. Make sure you ask questions and be sure to negotiate everything in writing.
Pros
Great people, compensation and benefits
Cons
Cut-throat leadership, poor finances and morale is a majority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Drexel as an Undergraduate Teacher's Assistant was great
Undergraduate Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 14, 2018
I enjoyed every day as an undergraduate teacher's assistant. I was blessed enough to work for some amazing Professors and Teachers alike. My first year was a little confusing on what was expected of me but after that it was very simple. I could control the class room without interruption and had the benefit on understanding on how different people could view the same question and destruct it in different way but still receive the same answers. I would include and challenge the class on who could get a better solution. Most of the time I won but there was one occasion where a student had a better approach than I did.
I loved every minute of it.
Pros
Meeting and engaging with a vast group of people
Cons
I was an undergrad so I didn't receive benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Adjunct Faculty-Clinical Nursing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 11, 2018
I was an adjunct clinicl instructor. Worked mainly off-site and partnered hosptials with Nursing Students during clinical rotations, twice a week, average 8 hour days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management friendly
Clinical Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 11, 2018
learned a lot about many different aspects of science and research. interacted with positive smart professors. eight hour work day. flexible hours, laid back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 11, 2018
Good life balance
Great team
Nice work environment
Nice Co Workers
Love working with pediatrics
Love working with geriatric patients
Nice location
Cons
Shirt breaks, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student work study
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 4, 2018
Being a student, it is a perfect opportunity for me to experience a careful environment and is perfect for me who was more focus on my GPA while also able to work on the side.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Drexel University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 30, 2018
Excellent work place!
Extensive options and benefits ranging from health insurance to vacation. Health plan covers almost everything. Drexel has good places to eat as it is situated right in the city.
Pros
Helping and enjoyable environment
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun working place
Cook /assistant pastry chef (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 28, 2018
Am I five years with the company I've got to meet some very interesting people and also soon very helpful chef I learned a lot I have grown to know and love the profession and the Art of cooking
Pros
Working with others
Cons
Looking for a room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army srotc
Senior Military Science Instructor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 25, 2018
Drexel is a great university in a great location. Drexel supports the ROTC program which has been a part of Drexel for 100 years. Drexel is a military friendly campus with over 150 veterans attending
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant position was great
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 25, 2018
Got to work with many different faculty on a variety of projects. The PIs were understanding and very knowledgable and great to work with. Would recommend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working there
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2018
A typical work day there was fun and very useful. I learn how to become a better person and how to work other to the highest level there is. I learned how to respect others the management there was useful and nice and respectful. there really wasn't any hard work or job I couldn't handle.I enjoyed everything about the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2018
I just have a temporary employment with Drexel. Based on that, I can state that it is a good place to work. The professors are great and willing to make you learn the work assigned to you. Very cooperative and understanding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Director of Finance (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 11, 2018
A Typical day at work is busy, and interesting...

There are a lot of good people at Drexel, and, as with any place, there are some people who can be considered difficult.
Pros
Employees get the benefit of Education
Cons
Many employees have been terminated over the last few years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 11, 2018
Great place to work --Typical day is teaching and meetings. The students are great and there is openness to collaborating and creating here. The students are the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and engaging
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 10, 2018
Drexel was a wonderful place to learn and advance. While there was regular turn over in management - it created opportunities to redefine your role and lots of opportunities to make things better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student here for 2 years
Physician Assistant - Student (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 29, 2018
The school has changed since I was there. It was an intense 2 year program. The instructors were average. None of them had actual teaching experience and it showed. We learned by reading the text books
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Drexel University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 402 reviews
5177
4136
367
29
113

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.7Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.