DSW Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 1,393 reviews matching the search See all 1,441 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't know
Freight Specialist/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 23, 2019
This is a ok job for a younger person part time to make some cash and gain some work experience in slow motion environment it can be good retail experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DSW is a great first job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CAJune 19, 2019
A typical day at work was maintaining your side of the sales floor, giving great customer service, and making sure you were consistent in where you were placed. i learned a lot of new skills with this job. Working at DSW helped me manage my time, be more aware of my surroundings, and helped me develop as a whole. the management did their job to hold up the stores maintenance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  PAJune 15, 2019
I enjoyed working for DSW. They pay well as far as a retail management job goes. The health insurance is good and they provide a generous amount of PTO if you are management/full time. As with most retail jobs I had to work most weekends and holidays.
Pros
Good pay, Pto, Health insurance, Relaxed dress code
Cons
Working weekends, holidays, lack of work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good leadership
Associate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 15, 2019
typical day of work includes interactions with customers, assisting customers in finding shoes, and mostly cleanup/ recovery of store. Can be very fast paced and management can push you to high levels of physical activity. Most enjoyable part of day was management, they were very collaborative and had good personality. However, didn't have consistent hours which is understandable in a retail environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior Azure Solutions Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2019
cloud based technologies, workflows and containers applied to all supply chain web based applications running under microservice layers and virtualized containers/nodes/vms in various cloud environments.
Savvy iT developers eager for cloud oriented solutions!
Great place to work
Pros
cutting edge technologiesq
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dsw is a great part time job to have.
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Joliet, Il.June 12, 2019
Dsw has been great to work at, the people I work with are friendly and inviting. They always help when I have a problem at the front or if I need to change my schedule.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Under $10 an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fast-paced work environment
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 10, 2019
Fast-paced workplace,busy but friendly environment great management and staff. Handling customer issues answering any questions and resolving any issues or concerns cleaning processing online orders as well as handling in-store purchases.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
DSW Worker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 8, 2019
I loved taking care of people. I loved to answer phones and be there for people when they needed me
I love shoes and helping people find shoes. It's rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Stocker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 8, 2019
Great employee's. Management was always willing to help and answer any questions. Great customer service. They always wanted to make sure that their customers were happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Shoe Expert (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILJune 8, 2019
This was a relaxed workplace, casual attire. My typical day included assisting customers with finding correct shoe sizes at our location or another location, ensuring aisles were clear of shoes, putting shoes back in their boxes and back on the shelf... Ringing out customers on the register...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was too low compared to the amount of labor
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodlands, TXJune 7, 2019
Pay was too low compared to the amount of labor.
Coworkers were very friendly
Managers were very understanding
Closing shift was very tough, and included long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall DSW is a great company to work for
Sales Supervisor/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  North Olmsted, OHJune 7, 2019
I loved working at DSW from the very beginning. They are currently going down a more progressive path, and really trying to shake up the retail world with more innovative technologies and different selling strategies. They are one retailer that will be around for awhile continuously growing and evolving with the next
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Redlands, CAJune 6, 2019
Decent work place, but no real opportunity to advance/get promoted/get a raise. That may have been due to my area (Redlands) not being one of the most profitable branches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates don’t matter
Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 4, 2019
you are not appreciated at DSW. They don’t care about the associates at all. They just need bodies. No matter how hard you work they give ZERO appreciation.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Treated poorly, gossipy, inconsistency, no appreciation for long term associates, low discount, low pay for all the work you have to do and how horrible the customers are
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Cashier, Sales, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 4, 2019
It was a really cool experience working at DSW. Everyone was really nice and welcoming. It was a lot of work dealing with shoes and different departments but I liked it a lot. the pay wasn't so good but overall it was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Millbury, MAMay 30, 2019
nothing comes out of working for DSW, the company doesn't care for its employees. they are much more concerned with VIP than anything else. No benefits come from working here either.
Pros
work crew is cool
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, they'll keep you busy for sure.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Monroeville, PAMay 29, 2019
I currently work at the Monroeville store as a Sales Associate. The managers are great, therefore the people they hire are nice hardworking people 9 times out of 10. Your coworkers easily become your new work buddies 🙂

They will keep you busy. Very seldom that there's nothing to do around the store. If you're not ringing in the front you're either marking down shoes or doing "go backs" which is basically putting away items that were returned or items customers didn't want.

When you're placed on the floor, you are to have the company ipad with you to help enroll people to receive discounts in the DSW VIP program. The managers will train you on how to do so successfully, and they will stay on your back until you become a pro at sales, they will not leave you hanging. They are there to help you.

In addition with being on the floor, you will be expected to straighten boxes in shelves, make sure the smallest shoe size is on display, etc. Helping customers with finding the right item. The key is to remind the customers that there are more options online, and that you'd be happy to place an order for them. Remember, you are a Sales Associate. Make that sale!

If you plan to work in the back, you'll be moving boxes and putting away shoes from the truck, along with making shelf space for new items and marking locations in the price scanner aka "the gun". You may need to help ring upfront every once in a while when it gets busy, and you'll be expected to greet customers and help them find whatever they need.
Pros
Helpful Management, flexible scheduling, Pto, quarterly raises (If you're meeting expectations)
Cons
Corporate constantly changing up procedures. Constantly light staffed. Hours depend on sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a joke
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 28, 2019
This place has so many issues with it's management on multiple levels. Store manager and regional manager can't agree to one thing ever. Policies aren't abided by management but expected of associates. Be prepared to push it's membership program as it's really the only thing they care about. Doesn't matter if you signed up 60 people that day if you miss 3 people out of 63 you will be called out for it. Very negative.
Pros
Customer service experience
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
DSW Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 24, 2019
very organized place, managers were cool and fun to work with. not too stressful, you just have to be good at talking to customers. i learned to be organized and open.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot work
Hospital/ packer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 23, 2019
It was a cool job for its time but it gets very hot in warehouses an it was hot. But it was fast pace so the days would go quick an i was good at my job so it made it fun
Pros
They did give rewards
Cons
You have to get your numbers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DSW Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,441 reviews
5373
4469
3352
2133
1114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at DSW Inc..

Powered by Comparably