Duane Reade Employee Reviews for Cashier/Stocker

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 1,191 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5289
4326
3346
2125
1105
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 85 reviews matching the search See all 1,191 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2018
Duane Reade was a great workplace benefits was great overtime holidays sometimes I had a fell back with the company and the pay but then I lift my selfback up it was never a problem when it came to my job .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade is great company to grow in a learn lots from
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2018
Over all working at Duane Reade was easy and chilled back some days and some days it was crazy busy with long lines. The location I was working was small compare to other Duane reades however we did get a lot of customers. All different kinds too. What I mean by that is we would get thrifts. Scammers, tourist, crazy people, weird people and very nice people. In my location their isn’t room to grow or step up really but if you wanted to transfer you can and then be able to grow within the company.
Pros
Discounts paid sick days/holidays
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As far as retail goes, this is par for course.
Cashier/ Stock (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYApril 27, 2018
In a span of less than a year, I was to be assigned to 3 different locations due to downsizing. I wasn't having that so I left the company. It's a retail job. You stock the floor, you help customers find what they need and you ring them out. Sometimes it gets rough, sometimes it's quiet. As a starter job, It helps your resume going but try not to make a career out of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a really good productive place
Cashier and Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2018
a good place to work, excellent management, they treat the employees really goodand with respect, i loved working for them, its a really safe place to work,
Pros
safe environment
Cons
i dnt have negative comments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job for young adults
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 2, 2018
It was years ago I worked for Duane reade most likely things are different now, I didn’t enjoy working there, they expect so much out of their employees but pay only the minimum. Good job for a young adult that wants to make pocket change.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked and under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier and stock
Cashier/Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2018
I loved this job working there build my strenghths. I worked hard and my goals through the day was to make sure that each costumer left with a smile on there face.
Pros
Learn the register, item check, experation dates
Cons
I was always a fast paced worker needed to slow down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as part time student
Cashier/stock (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 16, 2018
I worked there as a cashier. I recieved cash and performed daily transactions. I also wokred at the photo department. I made sure all the photos and canvases were completed on time. My goal was to make sure customer was satisfied with thier needs
Pros
Good place to work for students, Flexible schedule.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier, Stock Merchandise (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYFebruary 13, 2018
I have no opinion and choose to refrain from commenting or reviewing. The management was nice, I went to work during the day and came home in the afternoon. That's all there is to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and productive work environment
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2018
A typical day would consist of rotating between shared work responsibilities. Starting on cashier, then into stock or cleaning depending on what needed to be done. This allowed me to acquire experience in several areas, learning the ins and outs.
Pros
Great manager, discounts, flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good at all
Cashier/Porter/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
didn't learn much at all they bounced you around without teaching you the skills and rules of the department I wanted to learn more people were always trying to get one another in trouble no team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special. Not too stressful. Not too boring.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2017
Overall a decent work experience. got to meet a lot of great people and learned a lot about responsibility. sometimes it did get boring, due to the fact that morning shifts would just be me and a manager.
Pros
Coworkers were cool.
Cons
opening was torture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balanced place to work
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2017
the environment was balanced and co-workers were pleasant to work with. if you worked Monday - Friday sat and sunday were off. It is undergorund 1251 avenue of the americas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 9, 2017
It's very excellent to work there! Flexible work hours, great people, and the wonderful memories! Helping out the customers to find what and need in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 28, 2017
You have to work hard and fast. It's a very busy job so once you finish with one task there's another one to do. The hardest part is getting the job done in a timely matter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/stocker (Former Employee) –  47st lexinton ave ny,nyJuly 26, 2017
A tipical day at work would be i get there clock in and go to my register and start taking care of the customers. It was a fun experience all around .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place ok to work
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 1, 2017
I enjoyed working here very much. The atmosphere was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend anyone to work here because they do a lot of in house growth in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade was a great experience
Stock/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2017
I enjoyed working for Duane Reade. The best part was getting to know the customers and building a connection with them. I learn alot while working there that i can use in the future.
Pros
hours. discounts
Cons
Not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and safe work environment
Cashier and Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 2, 2017
Maintain clean orderly check out area and complete other general cleaning duties to insure OSHA safety protocols
Greet customers entering the establishments
assist customers by providing information and resolving their complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be stressing
Cashier/ stocker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 1, 2017
Duane reade could be a good place to work if it's only part time. I was full time and I felt they expected a lot from me I did cashier I help in inventory, clean,set up the racks & also unloaded the truck...ect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting at times
Cashier / Stock (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 27, 2017
Working at Duane Reade was and experience that thought me how to handle people with many different personality and I am grateful for the experience. With the ability to handle many different personality's hitting you all at ones it helps you to stay calm and figure out everyones needs.
Pros
the face pace environment
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport