Duane Reade Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun stocking along with vending
Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2018
day went by with many task at hand. being able to kill one obstacle and move to the next in good timing was cool.i would say the only problem was the wage
Pros
the beverages free at time
Cons
small staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You won't get promoted
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  401 Park ave southJanuary 30, 2018
This company will tell you they're opportunities for advancement but they will over look you and promote someone who don't deserve it. This company is a joke
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 27, 2018
When I first started at Duane Read, it was a slow day that day. There wasn't a lot of customers that day and I felt like the "new kid on the block". After a week working there I felt like I was working there a long time because of staffs welcomed me with open arms. Great experience !!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pleace to work at
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2018
It a great place to work at the people are nice and friendly and the bosses are great too happy pleace customers are wonderful and great to talk too wish I could go back
Pros
Happy
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (full time) (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 26, 2018
i enjoyed working with the general public. i learned how to operate and cash register and i learned how to stock merchandise. i helped customers with their shopping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace.
PHARMACEUTICAL CASHIER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
Duane Read was a great experience! Awesome staff.
Able to learn more on a daily basis. Management was fair. Clean environment, friendly, good location.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and productive work environment
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2018
A typical day would consist of rotating between shared work responsibilities. Starting on cashier, then into stock or cleaning depending on what needed to be done. This allowed me to acquire experience in several areas, learning the ins and outs.
Pros
Great manager, discounts, flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock person
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
I would go to work. I would start stocking the isle as assigned. Clean up any mess left behind. Then I would assist customers when needed. Finally I would end my day at the register.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good at all
Cashier/Porter/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
didn't learn much at all they bounced you around without teaching you the skills and rules of the department I wanted to learn more people were always trying to get one another in trouble no team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always On Your Feet
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 23, 2018
Duane reade Is A Great Working Place If I Can Go back To The Company i Would . Its Felxiable The Pay Is Amamzing , If You have A great Spirit And Love Beimg Social with Customers Then This Is The Job for You. Only Thing is Sometimes The Manager Positions Get A Little Over There head with That Title Haha.
Pros
The Customers
Cons
Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  1191 2nd ave ny nyJanuary 22, 2018
come in walk the sales floor and see what need filled and done before the morning good company to work for and grow in the culture is one of kind and if u want to move up it can be done
Pros
good company to work for
Cons
to many policy that don't factor in real life situation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Retailer
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2018
I was a manager here for 3 yrs my DM was AWESOME, Loved the people. Great place to work - advancement opportunities
Working in the city is hard on commuting from other areas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Truck Loader (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 20, 2018
loading the trucks was fun and you had to work in a fast pace because some of the stores were looking fpr their items right away.the people was fun to work with.
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the customers was the best
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2018
I learned that nobody does your work for you. to work in a time. to be friendly toward customers.the hardest part is people stealing right in front of your face. I loved my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2018
This was the worst Job I've ever had in my life and it was the longest running Job I've ever had in my life, they don't care about you, about your life, about your family, you have to be dead in order to ask for a day off, no thanks
Pros
Breaking time bathroom time and going home
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it wasn't fun, just a job to get you by
Cashier, Stockperson and Maintenance (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
i went to do my work and go home, nothing special about the job. management was bad, took away hours and shorten checks from the employees. no fairness.
Pros
helping the customers and doing my job
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs i had
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJanuary 16, 2018
I loved working in duane reade my managers treated us like human beings they were all so understanding . I didn't want to leave but then i got offered a job somewhere else with a larger pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2018
Great place to work . employees work hard, sales are always 500,000+ annually. Will do promotion to management level.
Your duties is open store on time . check the store to make sure it's clean and zoned . office duties check emails, money drops and balancing tills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade instilled in me a competitive spirit
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 9, 2018
A typical work day at Duane Reade entailed filling prescriptions and immunizing. Duane Reade gave me the opportunity to learn how to work in a competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was one of my best jobs
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2018
I got hooked up by my best friend he was the hiring manager we had a lot of fun we made sure we did our job & helped customers extremely all of our locals loved us
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duane Reade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,107 reviews
5273
4302
3322
2115
195

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture