Duke Clinical Research Institute Employee Reviews

Showing all 56 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Financial Advocate (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 18, 2014
Worked as research assistant
Learned how to code data
Worked with a team of research assistants
Worked with coding research for Porter Lab
- Conducted research on how patients with cancer communicated with their peers/family
-documented data through coding sheets and used Psychiatry Drives
-worked with numerical system to create data
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace with excellent benefits
CLINICAL TRIALS ASSISTANT III (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 31, 2014
Started out great, good management and advancement with comp pay rates, but management got bad and no advancement or pay increases.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked, end of story.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 29, 2014
- Worst place I've ever worked, end of story.
- they have a throw you under the bus culture
- people get let go at the drop of hat with no reason or explanation as to their disappearance.
Pros
benefits if you're lucky enough to be converted
Cons
everything's bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Research Organization
Clinical Trials Specialist (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 24, 2014
I spent a lot of time here. As an academic research organization, it is a great opportunity to learn a lot about clinical research.
Pros
Parking garage, and attached to the work site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dcri
Clinical Trials Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 26, 2014
Great work /life balance , great health benefits, employee appreciation.
Pros
n/A
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
HR/Duke Clinical Research Staff Assistant (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 19, 2013
Patient request for Pulmonary Lab, Unit Calendar forcasting, handling of meals and parking passes. Learned IRB process. IDX process.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
Pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work, tense working conditions with unstable job security
Admin Assistant to 4 Research Facult Physicians (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 17, 2013
Arrive on time. Be available for your physicians and their needs, whether it's expense reports or making travel plans.

Management does not have your best interest as a priority. Service to faculty is most important.

Co-workers work together as a team. Hardest part of the job, lack of supervisor support.

Most enjoyable part of the day, working with a great team of people.
Pros
free coffee and hot chocolate
Cons
healthcare is a difficult place to be. There is a hiring freeze in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duke Clinical Research Institution
Clinical Research Associate I (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCAugust 10, 2013
Management has changed and employees have been layed off. I have no problem working hard and more responsibility, but DCRI is the lowest paying ARO/CRO.

During my orientation they stress work/life balance and leaving during lunch to take a break and enjoy the Duke Campus. It is very rare I leave work to eat lunch, I eat at my desk as 80% of the employees.
Pros
benefits
Cons
DCRI Management has changed, no advancement and pay is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like team I worked with
Clinical Trials Coordinator III (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 15, 2013
Worked for 11 years with outstanding performance evaluations and leaned that dedication and hard work basically means nothing. It does not lead to fair or equitable treatment when they have a lay off and choose to force you to resign instead of calling it a layoff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 8, 2013
I worked with a very talented team rolling out MS Office 2010 and teaching the core products to the faculty staff at Clinical Research. I enjoyed working at this facility and the hospital. The hardest part of my job would have been traveling so far to work.
Pros
great place to work!
Cons
too far to travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Statistician I (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 19, 2013
Work typically as a stitistician.
Learned how to be a statistician
Write SAP, specification, generate tables with SAS, program SAS code to analyze endpoint .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Project Lead Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 5, 2012
Management team is flexible and tends to take on some mentorship roles for its direct reports. Co-workers do the same making it a very productive work place. The only thing is that compensation isn't very competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Doctors and co-workers
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 13, 2012
I learned alot here they valued there employees, I worked with 3 great GI doctors, and my coworkers were a pleasure to get along with
Pros
free on job training
Cons
not enough work to keep me busy all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll know why Duke is so highly rated once you work there
Senior Financial Analyst - RCC Certified (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 28, 2012
Of the big three in the area, Duke UNC and NCSU...Duke is the most highly rated in every field and when you work there you'll know why..doesn't compare to UNC or NCSU, just heads and shoulder above the other two.....
Pros
training, benefits
Cons
hard to get in, or back in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Senior Business Development Associate (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 23, 2012
DCRI encourages a work/life balance. Upper management is open to new ideas and process improvement.
Pros
training opportunities, work environment
Cons
duke rarely fires employees, can work with people that don't perform well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duke Clinical Research Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 56 reviews
516
417
315
25
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

Duke Clinical Research Institute Reviews by Location