Duty Free Americas Employee Reviews in Atlanta, GA

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 207 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a job
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 9, 2019
Was scared to miss work here at one point till I knew my worth management was not good and belittle the employees no raises unless you applied for another job in the company and pay was very low I had to get a second gig
Pros
Benefits and networking
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 2, 2019
Negative place..no reviews..no raises..no appreciation or recognition. Modern day slavery..company not loyal, Hr / operations are the worst . No structure
Pros
None
Cons
High turnover, pay 8.50
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Luxury Brand Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 2, 2019
It was a terrible workplace unfair place and hard work with little money. Poor management and tries to put coworkers against one another for sales making us enemies and causing drama and rift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duty free
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 2, 2018
Duty free was very challenging.. never done retail before.. but now I can sale anything I put my mind to... from liquor to Tabacoo. Even luxury items such as gucci, Michael kors, Cartier, and do on...
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
15, and 30mins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back job
Support Associate/ Dispatcher Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 2, 2018
its a great laid back job ... its just the management sucks at the company , they need to be trained all over again... but other than that the job is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never work there
Inventory Specialist/Customer Support (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 22, 2018
if you aren't management they'll treat you like dirt it is the worst place to work will never recommend this job to anyone. just a terrible company all together
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale you a dream
Luxury Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 19, 2018
The company does not tell you that you do not get a raise
Store prices are to high for out dated items
Very strict on restroom breaks
Employees fall asleep at gates
Pros
None
Cons
Discuss more about the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job...that's it
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 6, 2017
I worked at this establishment for 2 very stressful years due to favortism, constant bickering among employees and managers. The managers was always working together with certain employees to get other employees terminated. And the biggest issue is they have no grace period and you are always at adversity to get to work on time you have to come from the domestic side of the airport all the way to the international side of the airport , To be honest all the headaches you have to put up with does not match your compensation whatsoever.
Pros
Vacation time
Cons
No grace period, cutthroat evironment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is for someone who is in high school or is at a complacent time in their life. I can only go off my experience, and we are all different.
Luxury Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2017
This place is for someone who is in high school or who is at a complacent time in their life. I can only go off my experience, and we are all different.
Pros
You meet different cultures and learn the product of luxury items.
Cons
No job advancement, they don't communicate well, and they expect you to do so much and show no appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work along with everyone happy and willing to assist when ask
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
Be work ready.and start your day with good happy mood
always try to clock-in the time your shift starts because,
management requires everyone to be at work early.
Be friendly and willing to assist the customers in a timely
manner.
Pros
stay honest, do not take anything that does not belong to you
Cons
If you are not happy with your work situation speak to supervisor or manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 24, 2017
Customer care and delivery packages task that was high demand through out the day. Provide customers with Friendly environment to enjoy. The most enjoyable part of job I was able to move around and not stuck in one department
Pros
Free gift for good work ethics
Cons
Short breaks paying for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duty Free Americas
Support Associate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2017
Duty free is a pretty laid back environment , the turn over rate is some what high and can be stressful because of being understaffed but the benefits are something that may compensate .
Pros
freedom
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Runner (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 22, 2017
One of the best jobs I ever had great benefits great people to work with and you're always meeting someone new even celebrities this is a great job if you love being around people
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job will really drain you...they really don't care for their employees
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 7, 2017
The company is great as for what it offers for the customers as in fragrances, cosmetics, luxury and alcohol but when it comes down to catering to the employees making them feel as though they are appreciate it that's a thumbs down
Pros
Seminars. There are ways to earn more money. International environment
Cons
Mirco management. No grace period. No raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 5, 2017
Work was always there stricted with attendance. Management wasn't very helpful. Work was real easy an self explanatory.
The employees there would try an keep themself happy an entertained.
Pros
good hours
Cons
lunch sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much DRAMA
Luxury Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 2, 2016
Management is messy They hire anybody. They're very unorganized. They make up rules that are not in handbook, and try to punish you for it. This job is for someone fresh out of high school or that may be in desperate need of a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderate
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 27, 2016
I learned to multitask, have an awesome positive day while working. Mangers are very helpful, co-workers are friendly. Having an angry customer, putting a smile on the customer face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse company, EVER!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 3, 2016
This company or rather this carnival, has zero redeeming values. Lousy pay (no raises, bonuses, promotions), lousy benefits and a turnover rate that exceeds that of McDonald's. You live under the constant.threat of being fired. Senior management both locally and at the corporate office spend a good part of each day watching cameras to see what minor infractiom they can use to justify termination. Furthermore, they are as insencere as the day is long. Horrible is too soft an adjective. Gross from top to bottom
Pros
all you have to do is show up for interview and you're hired.
Cons
absolutely everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Retail
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 1, 2016
It was a beautiful luxury retail store located at Atlanta International Airport. Meet people from all around the world. Loved interacting with my co workers. always met the company sales goal and gain great commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time!!!!
Luxury Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, Ga.June 17, 2015
I was hired to be a Luxury Specialist for their store on the F concourse. 80% of this store's luxury section consisted of watches varying from $50 to $13,000. Not having ANY experience with watches high end or otherwise, I entered the job with the expectation that I'd be trained to handle and sell the merchandise. I got NO TRAINING by the management what so ever. This is not just in my section but for all employees. The typically first day of any employee here involved a brief walk around the store and then they will be introduced to whom ever is around to "help" them out. This proved to be the ultimate thorn in my side while working here. Realizing quickly that no one was going to train me, yet expected me to sell, I took it upon myself to learn what I could independently. I soon became the top luxury seller and in return I ended up having to train upwards of 14 people during my shift without the supervision of the luxury manager of which there were 3 during the year and half I worked there. The Speicalist position I held NEVER specified that I were to train anyone, yet all luxury managers "just so happen" to get off before my shifts started leaving me to train people, make sales, remerchandise as needed, clean and keep a daily inventory of the merchandise (which for roughly half my employment included EVERY SINGLE ITEM in that section. Close to 2,000 items) all by myself. After the first handful of months and dumped employees I brought my issues to upper management where I was met with empty promises and the explanation that "I wasn't training people I was merely helping them."  more... When 5 to 8 of the people I trained were basically given new positions that paid more than mine it was the last straw.

Another thing is their paid time off (PTO) policy. The hours you earn are to be used for any and ALL reasons you can't or won't be at work. This includes vacations, being sick, your kids being sick or any other emergency. All PTO has to approved my the general manager, but no more than two people on the same shift can use their hours on the same day. Hopefully your not sick the day your colleague is on vacay or needs to attend to their children because it is also their policy to write up any unapproved uses of your PTO. I once was written up for having to use my hours while having food poisoning. After returning to work with documentation for my doctor I was still written up for an unauthorized use of my hours. Some months later, after a look into my file, I was told that that write up didn't exist and there's no record of if. I still have copies of all their paperwork about this situation. Funny how bogus bisness procedures that make this company look poor seem to disappear.

Short List: poor management, no training, bad company policies, 0.002% commission rate, no sick days, no flexibility in scheduling, NO REASON TO WASTE YOUR TIME.
  less
Pros
None
Cons
Working Here
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duty Free Americas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 207 reviews
556
449
349
223
130

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture