Duty Free Americas Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 48 reviews matching the search See all 201 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No compassing for life outside work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ogdensburg, NYJanuary 2, 2019
I worked there for a few months, i really liked my job, but the place has no compassion for family issues beyond your control. Asked to have Tuesdays off but nope couldn't have it because you need to be available to work everyday. My husband is disabled and can't drive. So made all his appointments on Tuesdays. he was going every week since i started. But they felt the need to fire me over the phone, as far as i am concerned not very professional. if you have time on the books they don't pay you for it when they terminate you. hear every day that hours are going to get cut. i just don't think in my opinion that it is a very good place to work. People lazy and when they get a good worker they let them go. I wasn't there long enough to qualify for paid family medical leave. but i don't think the company offer it because there isn't enough workers in the place. when you clock in a few mins early from your break you get told that you can't do that. just not a very friendly place to work.
Pros
no pros
Cons
no compassion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duty free
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 2, 2018
Duty free was very challenging.. never done retail before.. but now I can sale anything I put my mind to... from liquor to Tabacoo. Even luxury items such as gucci, Michael kors, Cartier, and do on...
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
15, and 30mins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York StateNovember 13, 2018
Non professional and unskilled management, favoritisms, lack of advancement, often unsafe work requirements, minimum wage with no raises, minimal training
Pros
Employee discounts, 401k, paid vacation time
Cons
Unsafe and stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 30, 2018
Had a fun time learning about all the products. It was also fun working with the co-workers, we had a good time. Very outgoing people and easy to work with
Pros
Learned more about personal products
Cons
Not very willing to work with schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL 33126August 30, 2018
This company doesn't offer any benefits at all. The environment was very hostile. Unethical behavior from almost all the employees. people were caught stealing all the time.
Cons
This company no benefits at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wellesley Island, NYAugust 4, 2018
The number one goal here is to sell, sell, sell. I enjoyed selling products and getting people to upgrade to a higher quality purchase. I also enjoyed the flow of international customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical work day
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAJuly 11, 2018
My duties consisted of providing customer service and exceptional product knowledge and sense of urgency. I made sure I greeted the customer and gave them the ability to come to me with any questions and concerns about the particular product they were interested in instead of hovering/ hounding them to but something they had no interest in.
Pros
discounts on food and anything related to Duty Free
Cons
Having to make sure someone is not piggy backing you in risk of both of you loosing your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management Team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dulles, VAJuly 2, 2018
Management team sucks
Misinformed by the managers
Totally unproffessional management team
Worst place to work
management were not honest
you are not sure if you are getting paid the real amount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at duty free
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 23, 2018
the company was not great there was no way of moving up .everyone has a different pay .you can be doing the most work in the store and still make the least .there are 3 positions in the store .but if your a male employee they will make you work all tree .not letting you make sales and at the same time they will write you up for not making sales.you are a replaceable employee in this company
Pros
none
Cons
no moving up in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 5, 2018
Opening/Closing procedures. Worked with great people. Enjoyed meeting the international travelers. Cash handling. Delivering purchases to passengers as they boarded their flights.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale you a dream
Luxury Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 19, 2018
The company does not tell you that you do not get a raise
Store prices are to high for out dated items
Very strict on restroom breaks
Employees fall asleep at gates
Pros
None
Cons
Discuss more about the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working with duty free tem
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXDecember 28, 2017
I liked working with duty free,
Great team, not really good commission
Associate fights together about customer
I didn’t like their schedule, not enough hours that I do need
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn new things and helpful management
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 20, 2017
I learn lots of things about customer services in here specially my manager and supervisors are very cooperative and very helpful with there staff and treat then very nicely.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks and healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Blaine, WADecember 5, 2017
I worked there as a seasonal employee, and they constantly insulted me to my face. They fired me because of my mental health after my house burned down. When I asked if I should finish out my shift, the manager said they could care less. I have never been so disrespected in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, poor shift management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Port Huron, MIOctober 25, 2017
Most shifts consist of maintaining store appearance and cleanliness, i.e. stocking liquor/tobacco and general merchandise, as well as cleaning the store and restrooms. Upper management is great, they work around other schedules and try as best they can to give you shifts you want and day off requested, Very poor lower management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is for someone who is in high school or is at a complacent time in their life. I can only go off my experience, and we are all different.
Luxury Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2017
This place is for someone who is in high school or who is at a complacent time in their life. I can only go off my experience, and we are all different.
Pros
You meet different cultures and learn the product of luxury items.
Cons
No job advancement, they don't communicate well, and they expect you to do so much and show no appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgable environment in handling cash and sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 23, 2017
A typical work day for a Sales Associate at Duty Free Americas was counting your cash float of $150 and starting to take sales on the register carefully. I've learned to manage cash efficiently without being over or short at the end of the day. The workplace environment was a good experience because you meet new people from all over the world at the airport. The hardest part of the job was dealing with rude and impatient customers but there were worries on my end because I let management handle the situation. The most enjoyable part of the job was trying to make as commission as possible at the end of the day.
Pros
The company was with the union.
Cons
We would have to stay late if there were any call-outs of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Blaine, WAAugust 16, 2017
Full time position. Start with minimum wage. Nice people but no one seems happy there. You must join a union but don't get the good union wages or good union benefits. Hours are not consistent. Big turnover.
Pros
One of few full-time positions in area
Cons
Not well managed in regard to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work along with everyone happy and willing to assist when ask
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
Be work ready.and start your day with good happy mood
always try to clock-in the time your shift starts because,
management requires everyone to be at work early.
Be friendly and willing to assist the customers in a timely
manner.
Pros
stay honest, do not take anything that does not belong to you
Cons
If you are not happy with your work situation speak to supervisor or manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All I can think of is , jump up
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIJuly 31, 2017
Stocking, cleaning , sweeping, and pricing
you have to be over to Canada for more than 24 hours to have wine
and my hardest part of the job is money but I want to get better at it
stocking and pricing
Pros
I have an a half hour lunch
Cons
15 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duty Free Americas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 201 reviews
554
449
347
222
129

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture