Duty Free Americas Employee Reviews

Found 198 reviews matching the search See all 202 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment
STORE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXSeptember 4, 2017
Excellent Job Culture to work and learn together.
They have the Corporate Guidance and Support, i would definitely recommend this place to a friend.
Great working environment.
Pros
Sales, Employee Support.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgable environment in handling cash and sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 23, 2017
A typical work day for a Sales Associate at Duty Free Americas was counting your cash float of $150 and starting to take sales on the register carefully. I've learned to manage cash efficiently without being over or short at the end of the day. The workplace environment was a good experience because you meet new people from all over the world at the airport. The hardest part of the job was dealing with rude and impatient customers but there were worries on my end because I let management handle the situation. The most enjoyable part of the job was trying to make as commission as possible at the end of the day.
Pros
The company was with the union.
Cons
We would have to stay late if there were any call-outs of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would steer clear....
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYAugust 23, 2017
Wonderful co-workers. Pay is ok, not great. Long days due to lack of staff, high turn over, very poor and aggressive management, awful communication and no accountability with management. High stress and work load, can be as busy as black Friday every other day during the summer which would be fine if management hired enough people or could keep their staff from quitting or firing them with inadequate reason. Big changes would need to be made for me to recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 16, 2017
Constant work...very busy store. Will teach forklift skills to stock associates. Management extremely fair and very nice. Employees and customers fun to work with.
Pros
monthly bonus based on business.
Cons
no raise unless you are promoted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Blaine, WAAugust 16, 2017
Full time position. Start with minimum wage. Nice people but no one seems happy there. You must join a union but don't get the good union wages or good union benefits. Hours are not consistent. Big turnover.
Pros
One of few full-time positions in area
Cons
Not well managed in regard to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work along with everyone happy and willing to assist when ask
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
Be work ready.and start your day with good happy mood
always try to clock-in the time your shift starts because,
management requires everyone to be at work early.
Be friendly and willing to assist the customers in a timely
manner.
Pros
stay honest, do not take anything that does not belong to you
Cons
If you are not happy with your work situation speak to supervisor or manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All I can think of is , jump up
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIJuly 31, 2017
Stocking, cleaning , sweeping, and pricing
you have to be over to Canada for more than 24 hours to have wine
and my hardest part of the job is money but I want to get better at it
stocking and pricing
Pros
I have an a half hour lunch
Cons
15 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 24, 2017
Customer care and delivery packages task that was high demand through out the day. Provide customers with Friendly environment to enjoy. The most enjoyable part of job I was able to move around and not stuck in one department
Pros
Free gift for good work ethics
Cons
Short breaks paying for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast Paced and Team Oriented
Art Director (Former Employee) –  and there was a reduction to everyones pay in 2008July 19, 2017
At Duty Free America, I was the Art Director with a team of 5 people that worked under me. I would not only delegate the work but also be working along side them to bring out the best quality work for that particular project. Whether it was a billboard, Newspaper ad or a window display. Our team worked together. That is what made it a fun and creative environment at Duty Free Americas.
Pros
Duty Free is a large company wher you feel that you have a secure job.
Cons
The pay increases were minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job, until it went to mostly commission only.
Sales Associate / Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 18, 2017
I loved working here; the people, the environment, and the job itself. There wasn't much room for advancement. Management changed after I left the job because I was moving to where there was not a location. Overall, I loved this job out of all the jobs I had and I miss it.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Little to no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duty Free Americas
Support Associate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2017
Duty free is a pretty laid back environment , the turn over rate is some what high and can be stressful because of being understaffed but the benefits are something that may compensate .
Pros
freedom
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 30, 2017
This work for me is fantastic. I love to help customers working in full harmony, a cheerful atmosphere, is for me one of my best experiences was in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommebd DFA to anyone
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 29, 2017
Store Manager's position at Duty Free Americas was a great job.
However upper management was the cause of all the problems at this location.

The workplace culture was a nightmare. If upper management did not like you they made you like a nightmare even working 95 hrs every 2 weeks. While other managers who they favored did not even work the hours they were suppose to.

I could go on but I do not have anything nice to say about this company
Pros
Working with my co store manager.
Cons
General Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Runner (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 22, 2017
One of the best jobs I ever had great benefits great people to work with and you're always meeting someone new even celebrities this is a great job if you love being around people
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2017
Weird work hours at times. Hardly ever seen management as they were always in the back and sometimes playing big brother and watching the cameras. Some of the other employees are rude and stuck up.
Pros
you get to meet a lot of interesting people
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Beauty Ambassador (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 8, 2017
But they need to have more postions available some of the airports are so good to work at cause they have no opportunity after a while and then lay offs
Pros
Benefits
Cons
More positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job will really drain you...they really don't care for their employees
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 7, 2017
The company is great as for what it offers for the customers as in fragrances, cosmetics, luxury and alcohol but when it comes down to catering to the employees making them feel as though they are appreciate it that's a thumbs down
Pros
Seminars. There are ways to earn more money. International environment
Cons
Mirco management. No grace period. No raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy work place
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 25, 2017
Duty Free is a small international store with fun and diverse crew members, who seem to work well together. Located in SLC International Airport so never a dull day.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Airport store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales Associate, Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIApril 11, 2017
Excellent place to work, with many positions available throughout the store. Time there will give you a wide variety of skills that will be most helpful at other places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 5, 2017
Work was always there stricted with attendance. Management wasn't very helpful. Work was real easy an self explanatory.
The employees there would try an keep themself happy an entertained.
Pros
good hours
Cons
lunch sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duty Free Americas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 202 reviews
555
449
347
222
129

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture