Eastside Academy Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Well Ran Organization
Other (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WASeptember 2, 2018
The great part about working here is that you really get the opportunity to build genuine relationships with the students.

That being said there were most cons to working here. I'd rate the culture as poor. Its definitely slow paced, but there's a lot of passive aggression.

The best staff and directors seem to "resign" or get fired.

It claims to be a ministry, sometimes, so of course you're not going to be making a lot of money... unless you are a director.

SOO much turnover year after year. That makes for a lot of confusion among staff and students.

Team meetings out the wazoo! They're unnecessarily long and frequent.
Pros
Impact the lives of students
Cons
Bad Pay, Bad Hours, High Turnover, Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding teaching work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  BellevueMay 30, 2017
The work day for teachers is 7:45 to 3:30 on a typical day. If you like a changing pace this school is great for you. We very often are taking trips and getting outside of school for activities. We are able to be a part of service projects like Northwest Harvest and others. Our students have opportunities to be part of sports like snowboarding or skiing. Teachers have the autonomy to plan and seek out field trips to take students on.
Pros
Lots of activities and a relational holistic approach to education
Cons
Rhythm of curriculum sometimes gets interrupted by breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Teacher/Assistant director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 5, 2016
This was a great place to start my career in the Early Childhood field as it work with me with my school schedule and gave me an opportunity to grow.
Pros
Family like establisment, provides flexibility and growth.
Cons
Value pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremendous opportunity to share Christ in your daily work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  BellevueOctober 8, 2015
If you love Jesus and serving kids, this place should interest you. Lots of hard work and opportunities to coach students through challenging life choices alongside amazing co-workers.
Pros
Lots of opportunities to serve the community alongside your students
Cons
Large workload can be stressful if you don't manage time well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powerful Mission // Incredible Co-workers // Amazing Kids
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  BellevueOctober 1, 2015
Typical Day at Work: Lots of emails and great experiences w/ students :)

We do great work at EA. It is a privilege to serve out students and families.
Pros
Lots of time off, weeks at a time, throughout the year.
Cons
While there are plans to improve on this, pay is a little low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Christ centered place of work
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WASeptember 3, 2015
Working at Eastside Academy is such a blessing. I love coming to work and getting to know my coworkers, working alongside them, praying with them, and just being a part of their lives. It's such a rewarding place to work when you get to work together to change the lives of the teens that we serve.
Pros
All school vacations and breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission - poorly managed
IT Specialist/Computer Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMay 19, 2015
One symptom of an unhealthy company is high employee turnover. If you're applying for a job there make sure to ask about employee turnover - in my observation it was tremendously high.

Many of my co-workers were truly excellent people. But there was little support/encouragement from my boss or her boss. There are high expectations (not a bad thing) but little room for error, creativity, or flexibility.

The students are amazing, strong, wonderful kids who are putting the pieces of their life back together. If you take a job there love them a lot!

There is a lot of fear among staff for different reasons. Some fear for their jobs if they point out deficiencies. Others fear that they will lose control and hold employees in tight reins.
Pros
Noble coworkers, great students
Cons
Fearful atmosphere, long work hours, little compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly relational with students, too many hours per week
Staff (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAFebruary 11, 2015
A typical week could consist of over 50 hours. You will learn about HS graduation requirements, substance abuse and counseling.
Management is a bit weak. The principal of the school lets others dictate core decisions at the school. These leads to a hostile work environment with some co-workers.
The hardest part of the job are the long hours, over commitment, and HUGE student turnover.
The most enjoyable part is getting to know the students.
Pros
Long breaks, student interaction
Cons
Long hours, poor management, high student turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eastside Academy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 9 reviews
51
45
30
21
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Eastside Academy Reviews by Location