Eataly Employee Reviews

Found 138 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hire pretty much anyone
SERVER TERRA (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 15, 2018
working here seemed great at first until i realized they will hire anyone that answers their ad. there was a sous chef they had just hired that didn't even know how to make a béchamel sauce and from there it all went down hill. beware of "chef" jason at terra. he can't expo for the life of him.
Pros
health benefits
Cons
terrible food for staff meal, terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 5, 2018
Eataly was a great place to work. The level of service and food is unmatched. The staff and management were amazing and I enjoyed every minute that I worked there
Pros
great discounts
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
Server (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 18, 2018
Great overall company. They're very hands - on based when it comes to teaching employees the vast products we offer clientele and it goes a long way into making a difference for employees learning and relaying to guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fine work place like any other not much to tell
Baker (Former Employee) –  shaping, CNSeptember 18, 2018
It was a fine work place like any other not much to tell. As long as you did your job every thing was fine, friendly clean and pleasant and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Place to Work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2018
It's a tourist attractions and hundreds of people come there daily and it is NO surprise that celebrities come there to shop and dine as well. Be prepared to be fast in your feet.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its and okay job to have.
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2018
Gets very overwhelming at times. hours get cut short. People get fired easily. Lack of communication. Unruly customers. Very cultured employees. Nice staff.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place, to Grow
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 29, 2018
I worked at this place for 2 years, I still make minimum wage and so does my coworkers. You are constantly watched and stared at by different managers and it makes it very uncomfortable to work. They are constantly firing people they don't care about their workers, only costumers. They are constantly changing and adding different rules, and sometimes they make you do jobs out of your job description. Schedules are given the day before you start work, so there is no room to make any type of plans based off your schedule, on top of that it constantly changes.
Pros
You get a paycheck
Cons
No advancement, minimum pay, less hours, overlooking managers, unsteady schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We heavily over worked
Crew member / Porter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2018
We were over worked for a time where there were no customers repeatedly getting cut, burned and screamed at because we didn't have the equipment to work with such harsh chemicals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive overworked
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 6, 2018
Chances for upgrades we're not grated taken advantage of and not rewarded. Not enough hours for those who were committed to the company. Go for what you deserve and not what there willing to give.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not apperciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainwreck
Baker (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 5, 2018
Two months into my employment, from day 1 everyone was jumping ship. I couldn't afford to, but now I am looking for new employment because the chaos is going to kill me. There is nothing good about this place other than the fact that you get steady hours.
Pros
I can not think of a single thing.
Cons
Absolutely everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool vibe
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
A lot of team work in play. Smiling and providing cool customer service . From foh to boh all plays one role in providing an open market dining experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Develop processes before continuing growing
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Century City, CAJuly 6, 2018
Terrible company to work at. The upper management crew are clueless. They will go out of their way to throw you under the bus. Do not consider working here.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Family meals( unhealthy), management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Quick Service Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 3, 2018
The dress code for hair and nails are ridiculous and vary from every section of the store. Management is not understanding and loves to punish workers when they have broken a code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced restaurant
Busser/Server (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 28, 2018
Working here was really laid back as there were a lot of shortages on customers. I would say its OK. Not the kind of job someone with any kind of direction in life would do.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lively place to work. Lots of interaction with people.
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Century City, CAJune 24, 2018
The job isn't challenging enough. its got more to a working in a supermarket feel to it and you work in a food court. Pay isn't bad plus you get benefits. Only downside is you have to pay for parking. Very minimal creative freedom.
Pros
Great People to work with and pay if you are a manager
Cons
Favortism in certain departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, productive and supportive staff
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 12, 2018
The environment was positive and flexible to the needs of it employees. The Human Resources department and management were understanding and kind. Coworkers are friendly and approachable as well.
Pros
Discounts, friendly coworkers
Cons
Odd break times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 9, 2018
Beautiful place to work learn about many different cultures. Cool job but establishment needs work in management department. Overall I enjoyed working for the company and growing
Pros
Very busy flexible hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lead Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 4, 2018
My interview was great.
I enjoy working here. The staff is good. The is food GREAT. COME CHECK IT OUT. SERVICE IS GREAT TOO. I've worked 1st ,2nd and now 3rd shift in my position.
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It sucks
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2018
It sucks. Management is bad. Pay is ok. The employee meal is barely tolerable. Managers play favorites, and hardly help out. It’s ok for just a job, but you should keep looking for a better one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 3, 2018
The Job was a good experience a lot of opportunity for growth. Management was terrible. Overall a good job for those in food service and customer service.
Pros
free lunch. Lenient with time off.
Cons
Over worked sometimes. Management unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eataly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 226 reviews
555
461
353
231
126

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight