Eaton Vance Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great experience.
RFP Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 13, 2018
Overall a great experience. Great work life balance. Great Co-workers. Great Opportunities. Appreciative of every employee. Great Benefits and Salary. Boss was the best boss of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 20, 2018
I worked in the back offices shipping mail from multiple buildings and collecting mail and information. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and networking with multiple individuals who were successful and learning some of their trades while still in high school
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
It was temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 4, 2018
This is a great place to work. you should tell everyone to work here. This is a great place to play games. Managment is great. I love the snow season. I love seaport
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy hours
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 18, 2018
Working nights one week days the next, with some days and some nights mixed in, couldn't really get in to a healthy groove. Life work balance was skewed. Great pay though
Pros
Pay
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and kind workplace
Corporate Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 17, 2017
My daily work was tracking and booking journal entries for cash activities and corporate stock ledger. During month end, I was responsible to making financial statements. I learned various accounting software, and making entries and statements in Excel in the real workplace. Not only the group I worked with, but also all colleges in the company were friendly and willing to help me. The most enjoyable part of my work was the nice working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job.
Legal Department Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 4, 2017
Work there for few months as a temporal staff. I did not had enough experiences to fully understand the corporate culture. My work was limited to contract assignment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Compliance Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 21, 2017
Good company to work for but doesn't promote work from home. The workplace culture is very laid back. I enjoy the most working with all the employees in our company
Pros
laid back
Cons
work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balence
Senior Institutional Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 31, 2016
Great Place to Work! Great work life balence. Great Management. Nothing really bad to say about the company other than career advancement was tough.
Pros
Work Life Balence and Cafeteria
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Mutual Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 12, 2016
very much a open door policy company and they meant it. the ceo of the company used to sit in the cafe and talk to everyone. treated employees very well. they recognized when you did well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture
N/A (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 23, 2015
At Eaton Vance they do their best to provide a fun work experience and can be a lucrative place to work at if you meet their expectations that they are looking for perfectly. The "glass ceiling" seems a little bit lower and a lot thicker at EV but all in all it was a good place to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional organization
Sr Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 4, 2015
Gained experience in many technologies and company invites initiative and willingness to go beyond typical work boundry.
Hard working culture in IT, people where many hats
Pros
Great location, clean, newer work environment. Very good employee cafe.
Cons
longer commute due to financial district setting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Permanent, Contract Work is Bad
BA (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 25, 2015
A small asset management firm, where you do not want to work on contract. You will have no job security, and will be dumped once the project you're working on slows down.

Once you make VP (if permanent) you become bullet proof.

Not an exciting, innovative or highly successful firm. It's risk averse in investments and won't hire you if you are highly intelligent or too clever. You need to be a company man and go along with whatever management says, regardless of how bad the new product is...
Pros
Good location and friendly atmosphere
Cons
Mediocre management that can't innovate or make good returns on capital
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A while back
Assistant to VP Equity Research (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 8, 2015
Not certain of the company or the culture now, as the C suite has changed up completely.

Very steady, reliable, but due to that.... there was not a ton of opportunity for growth and promotion.

Great benefits, good hours. Company ran pretty lean.
Pros
Benefits, steady work
Cons
Little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Internal Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 24, 2015
Great people, leadership team, smart and conservative. Very good reputation within the Industry with room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company that promotes from within
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 27, 2015
While salaries lag other asset managers, the stable platform and willingness to promote from within offer significant advantages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work space.
Help Desk Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 20, 2015
Eaton Vance has a professional work space that i had to learn to adapt to. I learned how to be apart of a team in a corporate setting and how to go about things on my own as well. My Help desk team all came from the Year up program. They come from the same circumstances as myself so it was easy to connect and understand them and their story. The hardest part of my job was the beginning of my internship and learning how everything is run. After about a month in I got in the hang of things and met some really nice people that let me shadow them. Shadowing help me learn how things were done and got me comfortable with the team i was working with. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning new things everyday that i know no one can take away from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Facilities Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 29, 2014
Eaton Vance is a great company to work for, There are some really great people that work there. I worked in a department that was not really a good fit, but the company itself is very friendly.
Pros
modern, friendly, great location
Cons
not for me, more training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OBIEE Report Developer
OBIEE Report Developer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 7, 2014
• Worked closely with the business users and developers to make sure that business requirements are correctly translated into database schemas and ultimately into the application
• Identified the tables that needed to be bought in from Cisco data center
• Designed and developed the 3 layers of the repository, Physical Layer, Business Model and Mapping Layer and the Presentation Layer
• Imported Physical tables from Oracle database and defined relations between Physical tables at the Physical Layer
• Created Business Facts, Dimensions and defined Logical relation between them at the Business model and mapping layer
• Created Presentation catalogs, and Folders in Presentation Layer, and Performed Global Consistency Check
• Worked on Initialization Blocks and Variables development to achieve security and personalization
• Set up data level security for different application roles/groups
• Caching options configured and defined overall cache strategy
• Build mockup reports from crystal reports during the requirement phase to visualize the reports and clarify requirements
• Designed, developed and implemented complex OBIEE user interface objects (e.g. reports, ad-hoc queries, dashboards, etc.)
• Worked extensively on OBIEE Answers to create different kinds of reports (rank, union, pivot, charts, graphs)
• Used a new feature in OBIEE 11g Selection Steps, to make complex reports simpler and faster
• Used conditional formatting and data formatting extensively
• Implemented Dynamic Dashboard Prompts to zoom into different segments of the Brokers, to achieve performance
  more... optimization and easy navigation of reports
• Used session variable and repository variables to filter reports and dashboard prompts
• Applied security on dashboard sections and setup access and query privileges
• Performed validation of data in the reports and dashboards
• Enhanced Query performance, by analyzing & modifying SQL Query and Filters, for all the reports and dashboard prompts, to minimize the delay in Physical Query Execution
• Worked extensively on BI Publisher, creating reports and bursting them to various users
• Helped set up daily, monthly and quarterly jobs for bursting various reports to end users
• Worked on various ad hoc requests and trouble shoot reporting issues
• Enhanced existing reports and created customized dashboards
• Environment: OBIEE 11.1.1.3/ OBIEE 11.1.1.5, BI Publisher,Oracle10g/ 11g, PL/SQL developer, Golden Gate, Windows XP
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a great culture, an amazing work place
(HNW) Portfolio Administrator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 24, 2013
Great company, with an amazing culture, allowes for a work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Audit
Intern, Internal Audit Department (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 14, 2013
This was a very pleasant company to work for. Asset management firm,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eaton Vance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
516
47
33
22
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

4.5Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Eaton Vance Reviews by Location