Education Alternatives Employee Reviews

2.9
Overall rating
Based on 28 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
43
34
24
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 28 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place environment
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Bedford, OHJuly 6, 2018
Catty, lazy workers who have nothing better to do than gossip about other people. Poor management, with poor communication, and little to no training. Definitely would not recommend working here.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Bad management and no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work place
Dont Matter (Former Employee) –  Brook Park, OHApril 13, 2018
If you are comfortable working with prejudice and things being said in the work place that should never be said ever or to anyone then this is the place for you.
Pros
None
Cons
Corporate Office Prejudice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for licensed professionals !!! Ethical and legal risks daily.
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Elyria, OHJanuary 20, 2018
No training . Job requirements for Master level therapists are whatever the often non-degreed staff choose. Many illegal and dangerous practices with clear ethical violations. Licensed mental health providers BEWARE! !!
Pros
Office door with a lock
Cons
Undereducated management and staff violate client rights and devalue educated providers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress workplace
Vocational Coordinator Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Elyria, OHJanuary 3, 2018
Poor communication on the part of management and administration. Lack of professionalism and compassion for students and staff. Very high turn over rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Van Driver
Van Driver (Current Employee) –  OhioOctober 22, 2017
As a Van Driver, you get training for your "route," but very little guidance for anything else. You have to ask every little question to figure things out otherwise.

There is no real organization or structure in place concerning drivers, again they only have systems and processes for "driver routes." (and that doesn't appear to be 100% solid).

The office staff isn't all that friendly, they seem to kind of just exist. But, the drivers are really nice and helpful.
Pros
Flexible hours (if you need free time between routes), Many locations.
Cons
Creates a huge gap in your day due to morning pickups & afternoon drop offs, Low pay, minimal hours offered, Usage of a lot of personal gas driving back and forth multiple times a day, no real training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the place but I wish there were medical benefits & 401K .
Behavior Consultant & Therapist (Current Employee) –  King of Prussia, PA 19406September 16, 2017
Sometimes I am a PCA & assist the child all day. Other times I do consultant work & document behavioral concerns to help get services for child.Great hands-on experience in working with various disciplines schools have utilized.
Pros
Co-workers are nice
Cons
No medical benefits, 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Valued
Employee (Former Employee) –  Northeast OhioJuly 13, 2017
Never worth the time you put into it.

Take a job here, but be searching for other schools. Management never communicates problems and nobody high up values individuals. They're on a mission to create the highest turnover.
Pros
Friendly at first
Cons
Disorganized, owners aloof, negative environment, high turnover, low staff, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No integrity or care for staff
Facilitator (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 7, 2017
Great relationships with the kids but poor relationships between staff and management. Especially the owners who fire people if you disagree with them or file a grievance.
Pros
Good change for kids
Cons
High turnover rate, Majority of staff are terminated or resign within 2 years, Massive disorganization, under staffing and under training and under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Director and Academic Coordinator
Intervention Specialist/Grades (Current Employee) –  Brook Park, OHApril 22, 2017
Both are in experienced in completing their jobs. The director only knows one side of the business and the academic coordinator is afraid to interact with the students and teachers.
Pros
Staff is hard working
Cons
The director has to seperate herself from being friends with one staff member, this clouds her judgement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully ran company
Intervention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 12, 2017
I was let go after 3 years because i would not go into a building where i broke both of my hands on two separate occasions. If you like helping kids and are willing to deal with nonsense i recommend.
Pros
The employees in the trenches all have each others back!
Cons
Owners are bullies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture while giving back
Director of Daytreatment (Current Employee) –  Ravenna, OHFebruary 28, 2017
I find working at Education Alternatives to be very rewarding! I enjoy the team atmosphere and the professionalism of everyone I work with. It is great to know that I work for an organization that is driven to help the community and clients above all else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job but Great Team Atmosphere
Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Ravenna, OHFebruary 21, 2017
I worked at EA for 2.5 years, mostly as a facilitator at the Ravenna branch. The work is very challenging as you deal with emotionally unstable youth. The job requires a calm, yet assertive demeanor to deal with the clients. The Director at Ravenna leads by example and really helps to cultivate a team mentality, which is key to helping the building run smoothly. The job can be demanding, but the staff at Ravenna is supportive of one another from the Director down to one-on-one aides. In fact, many of my co-workers have become close friends. The Ravenna branch is probably the best workplace culture I have ever been a part of.
Pros
Ravenna has great team-culture, great director, seeing progress with clients
Cons
Clients are difficult to deal with at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this company
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 19, 2016
This was such a wonderful company to work for. Great mission and really cares about the kids. The building directors and owners are approachable and care about the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a tax return
PCA (Current Employee) –  Limerick, PADecember 14, 2016
One downside is that it is an independent contracting job which really comes back to hurt you during tax season even if you plan for it. I owed several thousand one year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here is not worth your well-being
PH facilitator (Former Employee) –  ohDecember 4, 2016
Education Alternatives is a stressful environment to work in, due to the traumatized kids, the owner of the company, and lack of proper training. While it can be fulfilling to build relationships with the kids, the lack of staff aid in a dangerous environment. Due to the owner being a bully (i.e. yelling and blaming employees, targeting employees who question or disagree with the owner, and lack of communication between the husband and wife CEOs) there is a high turn over rate. In addition, the owners rarely check into their different locations or offer assistance. Overall, I would not recommend working for this company.
Pros
Relationships with kids and co-workers
Cons
Owners, dangerous environment, low staffing, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 7, 2016
I loved my time working for this company and I am not the only one who feels this way! The job is tough and not for everyone, but it is about as rewarding as it gets. I recommend this job to anyone who is in either the education or mental health fields and wants to do your part making a difference. Also, seeing as EA was nominated as one of the top companies to work in Northeast Ohio, they must be doing something right! Keep up the good work.
Pros
Staff work as a team
Cons
Environment can be tough
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 18Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family ran business
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Bedford and BrookparkSeptember 7, 2016
The only rewarding part of the job was seeing the youth succeed. The owners will break you and belittle staff. If you disagree with them or bring policy and procedures not being followed to their attentio, You will loose your job. They will break any and all rules to make money. They do not care at who's expense including the children.
Pros
clients
Cons
Owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Therapist
Therapist (Former Employee) –  OhioAugust 31, 2016
The psychologist -- who is basically the boss of this company -- needs serious therapy! She is manipulative, significant anxiety and anger issues that she takes out on her staff. She only hires young people she can control, easily...and pays them poorly. Go to a real Agency with a Director who has worked out his/her issues. It's amazing how many psychologists have mental health issues....the owner on this company is one if them.
Pros
The clients
Cons
The owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Loving place to work
DRIVER/MONITOR (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 1, 2016
This company strives on helping young people learn, strive to be the best at what they are doing, and focus on being better individuals in society to be able to make a difference in there lives. Most important is having patience with young people to help them overcome diversity and become leaders , and seekers of self sufficiency.
Pros
learning environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impersonal inviroment
food service assistant (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 19, 2015
Rewarding; Preparing,transporting and serving meals to alternative school children leave me with a special feeling of accomplishment.
This maybe the only hot meal that a lot of these children receive daily, and I'm happy to be the one to give it to them.
Pros
I love to drive, and transporting these meals satisfies that desire.
Cons
Working at my own pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report