EF Hutton Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 13 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
40
31
21
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 13 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uggg
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHFebruary 1, 2018
Great potential poorly managed.
If you do choose to work here be prepared for anything. Management tends to inflate numbers and ignore issues. I would recommend having a backup plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Springfield, OHOctober 4, 2017
Great experience, plenty to do never bored. Co-workers always jump in to help each other. Opportunities to take on new challenges. Location is centralized in Springfield, easy to get to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2017
My first work experience. E.F. Hutton is still famous phrase "when E. F. Hutton talks, people listen. It was a great place to work for me because I learned about investing.
Pros
Personal Investor
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and unfocused
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHJuly 17, 2017
Very challenging environment, unfocused in mission/objectives and poor communication.

No benefits. No real leadership.

Unequivocally would NOT recommend. RUN. Do not walk away from this organization.
Cons
No benefits, unfocused, poor leadership, lack of transparency and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and unfocused
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHFebruary 16, 2017
Very challenging environment, unfocused in mission/objectives and poor communication.

No benefits.

Would not recommend.
Cons
No benefits, unfocused, poor leadership, lack of transparency and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
Registered Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2016
My first taste of the world of finance. Awesome supportive and encouraging coworkers. Competitive environment filled with so much talent.
Pros
positive learning environment
Cons
Mergers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, very knowledgeable team oriented.
Computer Operator III (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 10, 2015
First thing during every shift was to take the previous shift turnover report. The turnover was written by the shift supervisor or the lead operator, There you would know about all services calls pending and or any down equipment. lost jobs and priority job lists. The shift supervisor would then assign each operator to perform either tape pool, print pool or console operations accordingly. Shift production would then begin until the shifts end whereby the in coming shift would do the same. It becomes routine after you know what each group has to do.
Pros
Bonus, clean work enviroment, vacation and starting salary
Cons
Not much time to spend with family. Always working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my kind of Company
V.P., Registered Options Principal (Former Employee) –  Great Neck, NYOctober 10, 2013
Was not happy there so I quit after 6 months. I did not like the people and I did not get along with the Manager
Pros
No pros
Cons
Did not like management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never missed a job so much!
Sales Assistant to Vice President (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJJuly 22, 2013
This was my first full time employment experience and it set the pace for the rest of my life. Wonderful individuals who worked diligently until the market closed and then it was off to play softball, go out on someone's yacht or for dinner. Those were the good old days!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strong culture. Driven professionals. Dynamic work environment
Associate, Investment Banking Department (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 29, 2013
Very strong culture. Driven professionals. Dynamic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When EF Hutton talks...................
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Upper Arlington, OHMarch 26, 2013
Hutton was great. They use to match your 401k dollar for dollar. You had the opportunity to actually go to the NYSE when starting with Hutton. You could send wires (now known as email) to New York. To bad the Market tanked and Hutton went under and was purchased by Shearson Lehman and so on and so on.....
Pros
getting to go to the exchange floor
Cons
none really that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous employer, great people
Vice President, Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Hingham, MAOctober 18, 2012
One of the best companies ever. (until they got greedy). I built the number 1 office in the firm from start in 1981 until 1986. Very satisfying years.
Pros
great company, great people
Cons
was acquired by shearson in 1988
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report