El Pollo Loco Employee Reviews

Found 845 reviews matching the search See all 873 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Assistant Manager-Cashier (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2019
Overall is a good place to work. The regional manager is very flexible with the schedule, if you need a day or accomodation she will be happy to help. It is a fast paced work environment and sometimes can be stressful, but with the help of coworkers it gets easy. I learned that is important to know how to work independently, but sometimes you need to rely on your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTMarch 14, 2019
Good starting job. Great learning experience, Hardest part of the job is when it gets busy because El Pollo Loco is understaffed. Most enjoyable part of the job is eating there
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthustiastic
Cashier/Cook/Team Leader Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 11, 2019
It was a very fast paced job i learned alot i came to this job to become manager and i learbed to cook how to prep and was a great drive thru cashier until i became manager
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZMarch 11, 2019
I haven't worked there long but it is a good job and I would recommend it. You need to be fast and understand Spanish for most of the morning shift but overall it's good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAMarch 8, 2019
They wanted me to do everything when I wasn't the only one working. I get its part of my job but they were super bossy. they never gave me enough hours
Pros
discounts
Cons
not as much hours, the pay was bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a okay job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  California City, CAMarch 7, 2019
Coworkers are chill but for how busy it gets not worth the pay they give you , you end up doing more then the job title you applied for they expect so much from you but they don’t wanna pay more
Cons
The stress that job gives you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK as a starter job
Food Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tracy, CAMarch 2, 2019
It is a good job for a student or as a part time employment. Management is very disorganized. not enough hours to be a good income source, maybe as a side job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy going
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 28, 2019
during my experience with elpollo loco, it was very easy, yet not too easy, it did offer a good day to put your foot into the door when it comes to fast food
Pros
discounted lunch
Cons
no part time benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lodi, CAFebruary 27, 2019
They didn't give me any hours and refused to fire me correctly. I was told by my manager I was a good worker but they refused to give me hours not long after I started and never officially fired.
Pros
it was work
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good habit
Cook (Current Employee) –  Vacaville, CAFebruary 27, 2019
I like going to work and doing what I love to do, is being a cook and having to make food for the people and seeing them like the food, that I make is very excellent and getting compliments makes me happy !
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAFebruary 26, 2019
very competitive job and stressful a typical day at work began with taking orders later throughout the day began to clean dine area around 6-7 pm it gets hectic.
Pros
good hours
Cons
not many days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAFebruary 26, 2019
El pollo loco is a restaurant with high skills, management and friendly people around, everyone helps everyone. The managers are always there, giving instructions helping others and providing service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 23, 2019
It's a good job for part time and full time positions. They have flexible hours, free meals, and gives you a chance to work your way up to management positions
Pros
Free meals, flexible hours, and its a good work environment
Cons
Super fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment,
Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sun Valley, CAFebruary 22, 2019
Good place to start off. They encourage you to move up in the restaurant and do better. Not a place where you can just stand around and do nothing. Must be quick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
El pollo loco (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAFebruary 22, 2019
Is fun and nice place to work at people are hard working , working for the company is cool they treat u good and you can eat free food especially working as a cooker
Pros
yes
Cons
Good break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAFebruary 22, 2019
Pollo was a good place to work at, management was poor. Schedules were always fluctuating and managent was changed every so often. Its a hard working environment and stressful, being overworked and not for a good amount of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
Food Prep and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAFebruary 20, 2019
Work environment is very cluttered. It is a very fast paced work space with very little room for error. Felt welcomed with its culturally diverse atmosphere.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Short breaks, Cluttered environment, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXFebruary 18, 2019
working there was fun for me because of the people i worked with. pay is always the minimum and you dont get a raise until you are 6 months working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace however very dirty and the GM does not know how to properly train his staff.
cashier (Current Employee) –  4325 W Bethany Home Rd, Glendale, Az 85301February 17, 2019
A typical work day is stressful and fast pace, you will always have something to do. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the customer while simultaneously taking out an order. However I did enjoy connecting with my staff and developing some close friendships.
Pros
The friendliest staff and the shift managers will hook it up with free lunch.
Cons
Coiming out of work greesy and filled with salsa stains.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
El Pollo Loco Cashier and Prep Manager (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZFebruary 17, 2019
Working at El Pollo Loco was fun. A lot of the shift leaders are really cool and understanding during emergencies. The hours are unbearable sometimes; they will call you in the day before if not hours before and get angry if you do not take the shift.
Pros
nice coworkers, decent breaks
Cons
late closing time, unpredictable hours/call-ins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at El Pollo Loco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 873 reviews
5269
4241
3227
272
164

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.5Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight