El Pollo Loco Employee Reviews

Found 734 reviews matching the search See all 758 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place too work
Cashier, take (Former Employee) –  Pacoima, CASeptember 23, 2018
I had a good experience working there . They were nice people . The managers where understanding . They trained very good and they wouldnt get mad if we asked for any help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo normal
Cooking Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orange, CASeptember 22, 2018
Me agrada cocinar, trabajar en equipo me gusta ser limpia.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good start
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 19, 2018
El Pollo Loco is a good place to start. They accept most people that apply to it when positions are available. It gets you another place of work experience in your resume and more. You may start of with low hours, but with time you will get them raised and so will your opportunities in the job as well. I just don't recommend staying there for a long time since there are better opportunities and jobs in the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, busy
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Bedford, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Everyone is well nice, managements is simi hard or easy, rush hours are the most hard part of the day, ive learned customer service, the food handling, and my coworkers, time and job duties
Pros
Food discount
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 18, 2018
I worked here temporarily in high school, during this time I gained a lot of experience in customer service. It gave me a sense of responsibility at a young age that I carry on now in any job.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and healthy setting.
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 18, 2018
Fantastic experience. They helped me where I was unsure of things. I learned quickly because they taught me well of what needed to be applied as a team member.
Pros
Great team and environment.
Cons
Not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, CASeptember 17, 2018
Was threw for a few years but have to move out the area I enjoyed my job the management was good also were the employees I enjoyed my job as a cashier very much
Pros
Hours we're flexible
Cons
Always bussy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give them a try
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 17, 2018
Great place to eat fast pace small business. Been bilingual is a plus. Customer service needs to improve management aswell communications is weak between the team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past and annoying
Cashier, cook, and prep (Current Employee) –  Bellflower, CASeptember 14, 2018
el pollo loco is a good job if youre only gonna be there for a couple months no more no less. this job takes a toll on your character as me and many coworkers talk about. this job made us all more moody and aggravated.
Pros
discounts
Cons
shouldnt be a fast food place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Gate, CASeptember 14, 2018
Its a great job . They are flexible with your hours. Management are good people they hear you concerns if necessary. Coworker are really helpful and great.
Pros
Food discounts
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for a first time employee or students
Cashier/ Service Assistant/ Food Expeditor (Former Employee) –  North Hills, CASeptember 11, 2018
some days might be really quick and fun with other employees
management was mostly friendly with the staff
culture was decent
rush hour can be stressful when workloads become more demanding
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team building. Fast paced environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Palmdale, CASeptember 11, 2018
Overall working here has made me a better person. I feel it has given me a boss-like mentality. I know what it takes to ensure orders are executed correctly and in a timely manner. Also i have learned how to deal with unhappy customers and resolve any issues regarding our services provided. Definitely a great place to learn to adapt to a fast paced workplace.
Pros
Discounts.
Cons
Pay not high enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job as a first job.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZ 85301September 7, 2018
There was mostly always issues because of the neighborhood, it wasn't really safe, I still tried my best to run a fun shift as well as serious and committed.
Pros
Sometimes fun.
Cons
Very bad neighborhood, not a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Visalia, CASeptember 6, 2018
The GM is so nice and she knows what she is doing! Very tough but loving lady! Overall I love how they teach us different positions and always make sure we feel comfortable in the work environment.
Pros
Discounted lunch.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a first job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CASeptember 6, 2018
This is a great job for high schoolers to start their work experience. There obviously older people with experience who do this for a living but if you want to gain work experience this is the place. The only thing is management is not that great once you become a full-time cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but fun at times
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2018
It was a good start up job. Minimum wage so the pay is not good. No benefits and no over time or paid days off. But the people you work with and meet make the place berable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and good experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CASeptember 5, 2018
Good experience for a fast paced job with good co-workers. Easy to communicate with others to resolve issues ie. good team chemistry. I learned to solve problems on my own.
Pros
discount on meals
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviornment
Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CASeptember 5, 2018
A typical day of work consisted of packing salsas serving 100+ customers through the drive thru, and cleaning the restaurant after closing. Management was okay I really liked the current GM Diana. The workplace is fast paced but the coworkers made it bearable. The hardest part of the job was meeting the average drive thru time of 4 minutes. The most enjoyable part was closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAAugust 30, 2018
Fun but also fast pace work environment
Someone can burnout some if not interested
Really enjoyed the management I mean they offer a flexible schedule for any high school student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great stepping stone
Cook (Current Employee) –  Bella TerraAugust 29, 2018
Helped taught and understand Spanish with peers as well as customers. And highly motivated through college til graduation. Made me highly motivated in everything and showed me anything is possible if you try.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at El Pollo Loco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 759 reviews
5242
4208
3189
263
157

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

1.4InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

1.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight