El Super Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search See all 186 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unfair company. Rude customers, chaotic.
Checker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 12, 2018
Owners only care about making money, dont care about employees. Managers are lazy with very poor management. Customers are the rudest customers ever. Facts
Pros
No pros
Cons
No benefits, poor management. Wouldnt work here ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and Overworked
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 11, 2018
Some days were slow some where chaotic but I saw the cashiers had it the worst. My section was stressful after awhile with the amount of people we had . Store manager and Assistant store manager could never be found when needed , all the workers were polite however i heard some things about 2 managers basically not treating their employees like human beings. The only difficulty was being in a understaffed section.
Pros
10% of lunch if under $15
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporalmente
Cocina (Former Employee) –  9710 WoodmanDecember 3, 2018
Me encanta el súper porque ay muchas oportunidades en el trabajo
Pros
Me encanta
Cons
Personas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Tortilleria clerk (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CANovember 9, 2018
El super was a learning experience about how to handle fast paced environments. It was also the place to start in whether your just a student gping to college or someone older trying to get ends meet.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Probability of going on vacation and getting approved, slim to none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little stressful but an OK job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CA 93906November 7, 2018
fast paced and stressful job. It can be a good place to work for someone who likes to be challenged or likes environments like El Super. The bad thing is trying to get days off because theres is a waiting list regardless the day of your choice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good company to work for.
Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 3, 2018
The employees are great hard workers, great customer service. have the chances to get promote. You get to do different jobs you would learn about from different departments.
Pros
more hours
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Adelanto, CAOctober 16, 2018
managers are friendly and accommodate to customers complaints and try to resolve the issue. Cashier's are always smiling and whit great attitudes willing to help customers Whit there groceries.
on floor employees friendly ,attentive and helpful.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
rushed breaks and no employee discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 12, 2018
Great place to work and a lot of people during the holidays work with your schedule. Really friendly environment and really nice coworkers. Its mostly Mexican people their.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was troublesome
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAOctober 10, 2018
You would have to punch in go to you station start work and you'd be there whether or not it's slow, doing nothing or pretending to do something unable to talk to a coworker about anything even when no one is in the store. Management looked out mostly for them selves from my experience. I think dealing with management was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyably part was you break were no one could bother you.
Pros
health care
Cons
schedules were fix and you couldn't do anything about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tabajo seguro y con respeto
Decorator (Current Employee) –  Lawndale, CAOctober 9, 2018
Se trabaja con mucho respeto,muy seguro,con beneficios
Pros
Tenemos descanso alas 2 horas y lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very learning experience in food industry
Meat Clerk, I (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CASeptember 21, 2018
I like helping people and the feeling of completing their orders had made me feel good.
But the number of hours were just not there and the paid scale was off I feel.
On one hand your promised 40hr/wk and in reality your given 20-28hr/wk never made the 40hrs and the work day was 6-7hrs lucky to get an 8hr day.
The managers and employees were all very nice.
Pros
Got to help alot of different people
Cons
Just not enough hours and pay sorry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was clean and safe environment to work in.
Runner (Former Employee) –  Van Nuys, CASeptember 19, 2018
I give it at 4 star overall review because it was a good environment to work and there was many learning opportunities. The superiors and co workers there were also great people.
Pros
Learning opportunities
Cons
Stressful days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CASeptember 18, 2018
Fun environment to be around
Great people to work with mostly around my age
The mane gets there are so rude and disrespectful
Most of them don’t train you, they expect you to know things
Pros
I don’t know
Cons
Me discount short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad mangement
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Baldwin Park, CAAugust 30, 2018
The management at the store is horrible as well a time management. They ignore any requests made for days off and vacations. Poor pay along with poor hours resulting in poor checks.
Pros
Non
Cons
Low pay, low hours, requests ignored
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice nd friendly place to be
limpieza (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 30, 2018
The custumers like me at the super they like how i was with them i was a good worker i loved to muntaine the illes clean nd organize nd i also loved the produce are too be super clean.
Pros
On chrismas day they did lunch for the workers
Cons
30 minute lunch 10 min break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a starter job
Cake Decorator/ Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 19, 2018
Always had a fun time and everyone was always friendly. Feels like a big family and. Never a shortage of hours always busy place. Always opportunity to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangers were nice
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  San Fernando, CAAugust 17, 2018
People that worked there were nice. didn't have good benefits and never gave bonuses. the management was fine. the most enjoyable part was two managers that made working fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst nightmare
Restaurant cashier (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 30, 2018
They're so unorganized management is so rude there bullies to their employees always expecting for employers to do other people's work dirty place employees don't wash their hands
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful almost feel abused most times lack of communication with manager etc
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2018
It's an unfair work environment unhealthy at least in the location i'm in constantly working under stress. Poor pay. People get treated horribly yeah.
Pros
None
Cons
It's stressful when it shouldn't be
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Victorville, CAJuly 14, 2018
Assist customers with product selection and queries.
Operate registers, mobile devices, and cash drawers.
Investigate and resolve customer complaints.
Manage store displays, shelf stocking, and pricing activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at El Super. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 186 reviews
545
440
358
226
117

See reviews about

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture