Elgin Community College Employee Reviews

Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working schedule
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2015
A good part time position which helped me to work around my class schedules. I enjoyed working there. Faculties were very nice to me and help me in many ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if money is not a driving consideration
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILAugust 28, 2015
Overall as an adjunct instructor you are at the mercy of enrollment numbers. If there are not enough students signed up for your slotted class then you don't teach that semester. That can be a bummer but its that way as an adjunct anywhere. So if you are not dependent on the small salary you get as an instructor then this is great. The class sizes are small enough so that you can be on a more personal level with the class and you can be more creative with your lectures.
Pros
Small class rooms, great support staff
Cons
small salary, unpredictable work loads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College, good effort in attracting diversity students
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILAugust 16, 2015
This is as good a community college as one will experience. They have a log of good faculty and professors and they really want students to succeed.
Pros
Diversity Committment
Cons
Horrible benefits for adjunct
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Payroll Specialist/Human Resources Department (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 17, 2015
Working at ECC was one of the greatest experiences of my life.
The atmosphere was positive and the workers were very helpful. Working in an education based facility made me want to continue my own education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment
Adjunct Professor - part time teacher (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 14, 2015
The facilities are excellent which supports and allows tasks to be completed. Staff and administration are all helpful to any concerns employees may have.
Pros
Healthy work environment
Cons
Not regular teaching offerings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting!
Instructor Medical Billing (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILJune 1, 2015
I love teaching the students who may be changing their focus. Since this position is continuing education it is very fulfilling to work with older students in learning a new career.
Pros
Meet new people.
Cons
Would like to have more students sign up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Child Care Teacher (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILApril 10, 2015
Worked there 10 years and it was the best 10 years. Worked in the child care and loved it. The co-workers where great and I'M still friends with many of the them. the best part of the job was the children and staff. The hardest part of the job was leaving because of my moving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and great benefits
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILNovember 5, 2014
Been here for several years and I can say this is a pretty great place to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Academic Support Staff - Tutor (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Great diverse population to work with.
Supportive management and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Custodial Worker (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 17, 2014
good workplace. learned to interact with people more. got me out of my "shy shell".most of the time felt like working with family.
Pros
we got free lunch during our break.got free uniforms, and learned to make new products and taste new drinks, and sanwiches to better benifit the customer.
Cons
it was partime job, so we didnt have healthcare benifits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJune 16, 2014
Nothing exciting to say. It wasn't bad or good in the financial aid office. I know the other offices had very high turnover if you didn't get them enough students though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling job helping students
REGISTRATION SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 13, 2014
Had an excellent President of the College to work under with great value supporting his goals and ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring Center
Mathematics Tutor (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 4, 2014
The Elgin Community College Tutoring Center is designed to help current ECC students perform well in their classes. Subjects addressed in the Center include mathematics, chemistry, biology, physics, and English.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting environment for enhancing lives for students futures for tomorrow
Trio Student Support Advisor (Current Employee) –  Elgin, IllinoisNovember 25, 2013
This is a faced paced environment where you are responsible for the educational, personal, cultural and individual needs of students that are first generation, low income or have special needs. The most enjoyable part of this position is to see a student aspire to their goals and flourish in their field of studies and graduate.
Pros
four day work week in the summer, major holidays of, i.e., Martin Luther King day
Cons
Part-time health care benefits are not competitve with the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, family atmosphere, welcomining staff
Manager of Mail Operations (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILSeptember 24, 2013
Very friendly staff from top to bottom, excellent training and HR Benefits, very rewarding educational setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Administrative duties
Secretary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJanuary 11, 2013
Help the Foundation Office run more effectively by doing copies, creating mailings, and doing database maintenance. Great management with the option of creating my own hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Early Alert Coordinator / Retention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILDecember 13, 2012
It is a good place to work and I enjoy my co workers and the students
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
catch up with technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb place where office skills were essential to the job.
Student Worker - Career Services (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILNovember 22, 2012
Keyboarding skills a plus.
Co-workers phenomenal to work with.
Weekly updating of Job Boards on campus.
Formulate Packets by the direction of the Office Administrator
Pros
view campus schedule in advance
Cons
loud public office
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly rated continuing education institution.
Part Time Instructor in the HVAC technical school. (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ILApril 17, 2012
A respected institution for continuing education addressing electronic,HVAC,nursing and culinary markets.
Pros
graduation ceremonies.
Cons
none that are important to dwell on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of building of props and setting up for events
Sound Tech/Carpenter Tech (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 25, 2012
Being that I run sound for events I also work with a team of people (6-7) in the shop in which, we build props for plays and maintain the theaters. Since I was hired the learning process of behind the scenes production is very important from building props, to hanging them on arbors, and practicing cues before the days of performance. The biggest things I learned was professionalism and how to build stable props and make them look good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Elgin Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 64 reviews
534
420
37
21
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

4.3InHerSight Score

4.9Personal Development

4.3Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Elgin Community College Reviews by Location