Elkay Manufacturing Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search See all 74 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment and management
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Savanna, ILJuly 8, 2018
9 hours of working in humid and extreme heat environment. Management does not listen to employees thoughts and complaints. Overtime every week in extreme heat (summer and winter). Other employees do not work well with others. Many complains about other employees.
Pros
Lunch outside of building. Decent pay and benefits
Cons
Short breaks. Hot environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace.
Cabinet Maker (Former Employee) –  Independence, ORJuly 7, 2018
Everybody was hurting for money and nobody ever got a raise. The only thing that matters to Elkay is making a quick buck. Employees are just there temporarily.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot and nasty place to work
Multiple positions (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NCJuly 3, 2018
I worked for Elkay for 10+ years.
Supervisors and team leads shows favoritism and talks to employees disrespectfull.

Some supervisors arent fair when it's time to evaluated for your raise, instead of basing it on your performance they base it on their personal feelings towards you sometime causing employees not to get their raise and when it's brought to management attention, nothing is done.
Pros
Great compensation
Cons
Poor leadership and Human Resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team members
Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJune 22, 2018
Good team members
Centrally located
Good new employee welcome events
Good products
Too many projects running at the same time
Shortage in resources
Lack of communication
Pros
Good location and team members
Cons
Limited communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad job
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Culver, INJune 12, 2018
For starters they lie about everything. I was told I had 60 days to sign up for insurance and was told i was to late after 30 days. You never know day to day when you get to go home you can work anywhere from 8-16 hours a day.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of comunnication, hours, and being lied to
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great company
Assembled Wood Products Repirer (Former Employee) –  Ringgold, VAJune 11, 2018
it was a good company to work for! It was a great learning experience.
hard work but it was great
manager was great
a lot of team work



we got holidays off and was still paid for them
Pros
na
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Backup Lead/machine operator (Current Employee) –  New Ulm, MNMay 13, 2018
It was a good job, had good benefits, room for growth. Hours were long, sometimes work load exceeded the people they had to do the job which lead to long hours and working weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too bad they closed
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNApril 21, 2018
Was a nice place to work. If they where not closing the doors I planned on retiring here. For a while you could bring home scrap wood which I used in projects at home. Some used for firewood.
Pros
half hour lunch you can leave campus if you punch out
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run while you can
Back up lead (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNApril 8, 2018
Employee of 5 years and now lost job because of closing the plant. Had not family or personal time. Management is beyond worthless. If it wasn't for my situation I would want the last 5 years of my life back
Pros
Finally get to find a better job
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Process Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2018
If you really want to learn while working in an industry, Elkay is surely one of those places. A great place for interns. The management staff is really great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace with no real directuon
Assembly lead (Former Employee) –  Culver, INMarch 18, 2018
If you like working alot of hours including Saturdays and never know what time you are going home each day than this place is for you. There is no work to home life ratio. They do not care what you need to do outside of this place. You are forced to use your vacation time if you need to go to the doctor because you are never out of this place on time and anyplace that closes at 5 you will never see. Management here is blind at best. They believe they have all the answers but yet none of them talk to you about it, they talk at you and threaten that if rate isn't met then there will be accountability. If you would get correct parts or the right parts it would be able to be done. Most Co workers here are great to work with but the management is poor. Leaders lead, bosses dictate. All they have are bosses who don't even know how to build a cabinet. STAY AWAY!!!
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
No work to home life ratio, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Various (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MnMarch 8, 2018
The New Ulm plant is a joke. Horrible management, Horrible Human Resources... little to no training while being thrown on a different spot. Just a joke.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Builder (Former Employee) –  Culver, INFebruary 17, 2018
It was a very fast pace, unorganized job that had poor management and long hours, but i did not working the long hours because i liked getting overtime.
Pros
repetetive
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen ambiente muy agradable
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 4, 2018
aprendí desde hacer el cajón poner guías y frentes
Pros
Si
Cons
Ninguna
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day sweatshop
Panel Packer (Former Employee) –  Culver, INJanuary 30, 2018
You’d find better management at your local McDonald’s. They don’t care about your health and don’t take concussions seriously. The biggest problem was lack of care and attention to workers who underperformed due to inconsistently in training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and friendly enviorment with plenty of opportunity for advancement
Vault Technician (Former Employee) –  Waconia, MNJanuary 1, 2018
The overall work environment is friendly and supportive. All of the floor workers and managers are helpful and always there if you have any questions about the work you're doing.
Pros
Good conpetitive wages and friendly work enviorment
Cons
Some of the upper management isnt the best
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company with terrible management
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNDecember 10, 2017
I worked at the New Ulm, MN plant for 4 years and it was a terrible experience. Awful management who are clueless about many things. You're just a number who's easily replaceable while working for Elkay. Very poor training, they just throw you on a machine and expect you to immediately perform up to their standards, which are ridiculous.
Pros
It's a paycheck
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty nasty place to work.
Polisher/packer (Former Employee) –  Broadview, ILNovember 29, 2017
It started out as an ok job but the longer you were there the worst it had gotten. They would change your shift with no notice what so ever. I had became really ill and had to be hospitalized and a member of Elkay started calling my home leaving horrible message with family members that if I didn't call or come to work that they would fire me. Well when I was able to contact them I QUIT .
Pros
It's a job.
Cons
No respect for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have not worked there for 20 years
Call Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILNovember 20, 2017
I have not worked at this company for 20 years. The entire management staff and all other important individuals that I would have worked with are no longer with the company
Pros
irrelevant
Cons
irrelevant
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and benefits poor management
Shipping member (Former Employee) –  Waconia, MNOctober 26, 2017
Like the job right away when started. but work hours vary for 8 to 12 hours. different start times and terrible overtime management. 2 occasions of working more than 20 hours in one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Elkay Manufacturing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 74 reviews
516
419
318
28
113

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture