Ellie Mae Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 29 reviews
Ratings breakdown
510
48
36
23
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 29 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  RemoteJune 11, 2018
Ellie Mae is a great company. I am proud to say I work here. I am able to learn new things every day. Their release schedule is somewhat aggressive, but management is willing to accept push back on released features.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright
Software Engineer 2 (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAMay 15, 2018
A typical day at Ellie Mae follows some agile methodology which is having stand up or doing grooming. Tons of meetings for just planning out the next release. Learned a lot more about how to make things work when they don't work. The culture is awesome and they love it when you have that right attitude. Management is sort of political and the hardest part about working there is the politics. It's good and enjoyable when you have the right teammates that know what they are doing.
Pros
We get breakfast the first of every Wednesday and ice cream
Cons
Don't come here for a great paygrade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is shifting
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAMay 9, 2018
This company had a great culture but bad behaving managers have not been dealt with and it's creating a toxic environment. Everything else is competitive in a good way - pay, benefits. Fun place to work. Love the company, hate my manager.
Pros
super fun, diverse, good pay & benefits
Cons
not very inclusive (they try). Leadership and managers need to clean out the bad behaving managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch who you talk to
Manager, Software Development (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 3, 2018
Development Directors seem to be out for themselves and not the team. Talked to HR but ended up getting let go because they had too many managers. Rest of team got laid of 6 months later. Company has lots of money and if someone would lead it correctly it would have been a fun place to work. Culture is an issue because Indian culture meets Western culture and our office had tons of issues. From talking over us to flat out just being rude in conversation. 90% of our meetings were via video conference with the Ca office, could almost never get a word in.
Pros
Money, tools
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote offices are treated inferior
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 26, 2018
Remote offices are treated inferior are not offered the same company perks and amenities as the corporate office.

Management skill sets are in need of improvement.

Lacking in leadership with little to no accountability.

Team camaraderie is virtually non existent.

No compensation for working nights or weekends

Cross team functionality is discouraged.

Software and processes is antiquated but is starting to improve.

Not a “FUN” place to work.
Pros
401K Matching and ESPP Plan
Cons
Poor leadership and lacking team camaraderie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Sr. Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAApril 23, 2018
We have high turn over rates, average 12 hour days 6 days a week, and are not compensated for the time.

Management is only focused on new features not improving the current issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Technical Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 11, 2018
I loved working here, I loved my job and loved most of the clients I dealt with on the phone. The pay and benefits are great.
The Management is terrible. In 2 and 1/2 years I had 4 different managers and only 1 was onsite. They are not trustworthy and they take sides and are unethical.
My advice, never go to HR about an issue as they are not trustworthy either. It is sad and they lost a good employee because of it.
Pros
Lots of food days, fun place to work, friendly employees
Cons
Management is awful, They are growing too fast and not prepared for it, The HR team has no confidentiality and are not trustworthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Technical Support Lead (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAMarch 12, 2018
nice place to work and learn

training provided and room for growth

provided free breakfast and lunches twice a week

free drinks and ice creams every day
Pros
free lunches, free drinks, game room, gym
Cons
my manager had low IT knowledge and was not approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Ellie Mae is a great place to work for. The company culture is very relaxed and collaborative. They really invest in employees and hence keep you happy.
Pros
Great Work culture, Work life Balance
Cons
They are great at retaining people and so the work distribution is not ideal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software Company with Growing Pains
Senior Sales and Strategy Manager (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAFebruary 5, 2018
After a decade of double digit growth; the market is tight and management has decided that pressure the sales organization rather than look at the product folks for innovation. In a nutshell; the train has left the station.
Constant travel and the need to always be at HQ took the life /work balance into the unsustainable zone.
Pros
Good money and some smart people that I enjoyed working with.
Cons
Pressure and internal politics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Ellie Mae?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Support
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CANovember 4, 2017
Supported Loan Officers, purchasers, and all individuals assocated in real estate business.

Workplace was operating similar to a sweat shop.

The most difficult was an unseasoned manager who did not know how a call center should run in support of our customers.
Pros
Co-workers were good people.
Cons
Micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work without the Silicon Valley traffic
HR Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CASeptember 26, 2017
You would be joining a company that is moving to the next level in the Fin-Tech industry.
No matter what role you are in, you will never hear "that is not my job" from a fellow peer. Everyone is always kind, willing, and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Sr. Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAAugust 28, 2017
Overall I would recommend Ellie Mae because they pay well and offer good benefits. My manager was supportive and encouraging until the pressure was put on her by senior management, and she became very cut throat and unwilling to listen to or support her employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with great benefits
Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 11, 2017
Only worked for three months as a contract hire, but great experience. Great benefits and an environment that promotes independence initiative. Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
WebSphere Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAJune 28, 2017
company is good, nice place and environment, good management and staff it was great worked there. was get great help with people in team all was so good and working team like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Ellie Mae
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAJune 28, 2017
Ellie Mae gives you plenty of time to get acclimated to your role while offering plenty of support.I would recommend working at Ellie Mae for anyone interested.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sr. Corporate Technical Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAMay 15, 2017
Ellie Mae is a mortgage related company. Based in Pleasanton California, located int the East Bay, north of California. Also has locations in different states in the US.
Pros
location
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technology Management
VP (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAApril 9, 2017
Very toxic. Management is over compensated and lacking in emotional intelligence. People do not respect deliverable deadlines. Too many celebrations and not enough attention to building a culture of accountability. Sales is the priority. Poor use of awards across the company other than in sales for celebrating good work. Lies to customers about technology capabilities.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Executive Management is very incompetent in most cases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Encompass Software Trainer (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CADecember 9, 2016
Very casual dress code, laid back culture. Many jobs allow the option to work from home. Overall a great company that I would love to work for again if given the opportunity under different management.
Pros
Work From Home
Cons
Managers need to be more involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very pleasure work with Elliemae
TS wintel Admin (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAOctober 4, 2016
its been 6 months i am working with Elliemae, its very pleasure work here, i got great opportunity. i hope i fulfilling that with my handwork.
Colleagues and Managers are very helpful.
the work culture is great,but few things i should mention
some times work is hectic, except that everything is awesome
Pros
Great work culture
Cons
hectic work, Most of my weekends gone
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report