Ellis Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Service Response and Room Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2018
Process patient requests and service calls related to dietary needs. Interact with professional hospital staff, including dieticians, nurses, and doctors concerning the personal needs of patients during their stay at the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very short staff and still is not enough team work I wish we was able to get 12 hour shifts that staff have been requesting and the PCT have union
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 4, 2018
I would never work there again short staff daily to much responsibility and not enough staff was thrown into things that you are not properly trained for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 1, 2018
again I was a traveler at their location. It was a good assignment because I renewed 3 times. the staff was friendly enough and educated I personally had no issues working there as a traveler
Pros
good cases
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Mental Health Assistant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 16, 2018
this isn't the best job but it helped me get my feet on the ground trying to learn right out of college. the people there aren't the friendliest but it works and you can enjoy it mostly
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
LPN (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 23, 2018
I transferred to this with the previous provider I worked for.
Things were promised when I started working there that never transpired. This company is disorganized and has high turnover rated of staff and providers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive year spent at Ellis
Supervisor, Coding Education (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 5, 2018
I went in to rev up the coding department and help push through ICD-10 coding transition. After a year the task was completed and it was time for me to move on to something else. I had other clients and could not devote full-time to Ellis for an extended period of time.
Pros
Paid well, supportive scheduling
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really missed working there I really enjoyed my job and the people I worked with.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 16, 2018
It was pleasure working at Ellis. I truelly enjoyed my job and hope to work with the organization again. The experience was wonderful especially to be able to work with the residents for different Nations.
Pros
There were days with exicilent work flow things runs smoothly
Cons
There were days where patient wasn, t happy but that doesn, happen too often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ellis hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 28, 2018
I did not enjoy my employment at Ellis hospital it was a stressful enviroment with nurses that did not care. The residents were lovely but not the place itself
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but calm
Patient Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 8, 2018
I loved working at ellis however had to relocate due to personal issues, i would definitely work there again if i had the option. Management was great and every one was welcoming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy icu
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 8, 2018
Staffing is chronically short, staffing depends heavily on nurses working overtime, frequent turnover in management and administration, high staff turnover
Pros
Opportunity for critical care skills acquisition, nurses represented by NYSNA
Cons
Chronically short-staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rn
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 14, 2017
Love my career at Ellis. Highly recommend. Great group of nurses to work with. Great team work. First job working with a union and I am very pleased with being a member.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun clean workplace
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 5, 2017
I loved it it was a very clean and fun working environment i dont really understand why the review has a minimum of 150 characters but it was overall a great place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work because of staff and assistant managers
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 5, 2017
Overall good place to work. Needs help with staffing and could pay a little better. I do like being union. I like how they rotate staff nightly to different areas of the ED.
Pros
Team oriented, and great incitives with education, reimbursements.
Cons
Short breaks; poor staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace surgical floor
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 2, 2017
new management causing major changes - putting nurses and patients at risk. Have been a faithful employee at St Clare's and made the rough transition to Ellis in 2008.
Cons
mandating 12 hour shifts house wide
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked perdiem in the adolscent center vey great experience.
MENTAL HEALTH TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 1, 2017
My experience was such a BLESSING, Great management and Great coworkers right down to housekeeping and cafeteria people .. I will always cherish this experience..
Pros
The work enviroment, coworkers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYNovember 27, 2017
it is a a good place to work for RNs. the benefits are great. the health insurance is good. the pay is good compare to hospitals around he area. i would recommend Ellis Hospital to a friend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Ellis Hospital
RN (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYNovember 18, 2017
I very much enjoyed working at Ellis hospital. I felt that I learned a lot from my preceptors, and they were more than willing to assist me in any way. I feel that my orientation was excellent and long enough to learn what I needed to learn. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping patient in desperate need of IV medications and seeing them smile when I provided access that helped them in their healing journey.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
My job was eliminated and I believe that is a loss for the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ellis
Service Response Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYNovember 13, 2017
Ellis Hospital is a good place to get an entry level position. I obtained a position while still in school for my Bachelor's degree and it was very beneficial to maintain an income and school work,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYOctober 25, 2017
Very busy but I loved the unit I worked on while I was there I had the absolute best Nurse manager & coworkers, these people became more than friends. Work was always fun because it was always team work. I enjoyed working at Ellis Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your always learning
Phlebotomist/ ICU Tech (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYSeptember 29, 2017
I have been with Ellis Hospital for over 10 yrs. I have had my ups and downs here but my main concern is for my patients as long as they are taken care of I feel good and the end of my shift. Do unto others is my motto, and I live by it as well
Pros
overtime helps when you have bills to pay
Cons
Not everyone is on the same page as you when it comes to patient care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ellis Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 93 reviews
531
432
322
22
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.0Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Ellis Hospital Reviews by Location