Ellis Medicine Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Degree Happy
Practice Manager (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYOctober 23, 2018
Overall I have loved my experience at Ellis- I love the people I work with more then anything. Management and administration is blind and make horrible decisions that effect the whole institution negatively. Every simple job requires a degree it seems, they will take a degree in culinary arts to fill a position that requires medical knowledge over a person with a lot of experience in medical field or someone that has been employed by their institution and knows the culture. It is sad, the place is going down the drain due to the degree requirements for entry level jobs.
Pros
Hours, competitive benefits
Cons
Need a degree for everything, no more grandfathering in regardless of experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization to work for
Dining & Nutrition Call Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYOctober 4, 2018
Ellis has helped me with growth and strength when it comes to management skills. The workplace is like home to me and i work with a lot of amazing people. My manager and my director are amazing and have given me critical information on how to help with my management skills.
Pros
Amazing staff and Amazing learning opportunities
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work!
Continuum of Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYAugust 20, 2018
Because of the nature of my job, although it required a lot and would occasionally be stressful, I loved what I did and the customer care aspect of the position made going to work every day enjoyable!

For the time I was there, my overall experience, with mixed emotions of course, was good!

I left a while ago, so I’m not sure if the environment is still the same as it was when I was there!
Pros
Occasional free meals, staff recognition, teamwork, etc.
Cons
Long hours without compensation at times, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ratings of Hospital, based on blood, sweat and tears of jr. staff who worked their sweat off to please management.
Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYAugust 1, 2018
The management worked staff to the ground and did not care much for them, constantly on you, very demanding. Staff were hard working and cooperative among themselves .
Cons
short breaks...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too stressful no time for personal time with family
Customer Relation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 21, 2018
this job was very stressful and no time to spend with family. Working in this environment is like walking on thin glass with the management they have "running the show" there. No acknowledgement when good achievement has happen, alot of favoritism.
Pros
cafeteria
Cons
short breaks, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 13, 2018
I have always felt very supported, appreciated and able to grow my clinical skillset. Health benefits are good.Very friendly and supportive work environment. Top notch clinical staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great startup job experience.
Service Desk Technician Level I (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 22, 2018
A great startup job experience. Everyone at the work place is kind and helpful to each other. The facility takes pride in helping its customers and patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity for professional growth
Facilities Manager and Utilities Management (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 11, 2018
Open opportunities to grow professionally, manage open to new ideas to stream line process and manpower,. Customer service is the most difficult area of employees as this is a fast pace facility with very little time to address all concerns.
Pros
great vacation time off
Cons
silo mentallity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Unit Support Techician (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 20, 2018
i love helping people so i love working at ellis. iv been doing this type of work all my life .Ellis give you the chance to grow. we are a tewam there we all help each other
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience was good.
Financial Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Clifton Park, NYMarch 14, 2018
When I began employment with Ellis Hospital I had no prior hospital experiance. The work environment at Ellis was fast paste. Overall experience was good. Never had to take work home.
Pros
Great people
Cons
No advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing crew that work together so well.
Lead Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Clifton Park, NYMarch 8, 2018
Very fast paced work in the Emergent care. Bringing patients who can be very sick into rooms. Taking their demographics and running insurance verification. Helping patients feel better is the most important part of being there. Being able to work so closely within reason helps the team move fast and efficiently.
Pros
Work close with all clinical and non clinical staff.
Cons
No cafeteria
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Patient Access Rep (Former Employee) –  Clifton Park, NYFebruary 21, 2018
Good place to work. Overtime was offered whch I liked. They had a 403B retirement account which was generous. I had every other weekend off. My hours were 3-11 p.m. which worked for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
UNIT PRODUCTION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 20, 2018
Great Work Place for all employees
Good Compensation and Great Hours
Culture is friendly and Customer oriented
family friendly workplace with great benefits
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Poor Discipilne
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 11, 2018
I very much so enjoyed my position some days were more hectic than others but I love a challenge.Every day was a learning experience in all different areas of expertise.My managment team was a really great group of people, we all seemed to form a work and personal relationship inside and out of the job atmosphere. Team work. All of our volunteer activities was the best part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYNovember 26, 2017
Fantastic place to work. Always encouraged to learn and grow. teamwork encouraged and done well. Never feel like you are on your own. Physicians are very approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ellis Medicine
Clerical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYNovember 18, 2017
Highly organized and responsible secretary with professional experience in medical and clinical settings; ability to handle front desk secretarial services, utilizing skills and Medical Office or Family Practice setting, where I can apply my knowledge as a Medical Clerical Coordinator and elaborate on my extensive customer service and medical staff assistance to ensure the best patient care experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Neuroscience ICUOctober 29, 2017
I am new to Ellis Medicine and it has been really great so far. It is a really good learning environment. The managers and preceptors are fantastic and always reachable and approachable. I am in a twelve week residency program and I have learned so much from it. The level of respect that employee's have for each other is outstanding.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Very busy at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEpressing workplace environment rift with turnover and confusion.
Multi Unit Director of Food and Nutrition (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYSeptember 28, 2017
Poor workplace culture. Some bright spots like recruiting and HR. Both top notch. But the CEO acts like a CFO and money is paramount in all conversations.
Pros
Work HOurs
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people that started work with me there
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYAugust 16, 2017
Great workplace, get to meet great wonderful and different life experiences from your elderly. Greasy nurses and other success Woking to dedicate their time to others.
Pros
Lunch and break
Cons
new management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind, caring people.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 29, 2017
The people at Ellis are such kind, compassionate, caring people. The whole team wants you to succeed. I am thankful I work here. Great benefits and paid time off. Salary is very competitive. I love the community in which this hospital serves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ellis Medicine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 50 reviews
519
413
312
24
12

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ellis Medicine Reviews by Location