Elwyn Employee Reviews

Showing all 222 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but stressful
Adult Day Instructor (Former Employee) –  Media, PAAugust 1, 2018
A typical day at work is going on outings to the park, mall, museum, library and other places of that nature with the individuals that we served. I learned how to properly care for individuals who have disabilities and how to change, feed and interact with them. Management was not the best and need to increase their pay rate and how they treat their staff. The workplace culture is mainly pleasant and enjoyable we all worked very well alongside each other when it came for caring for the individuals that we served. The hardest part of the job was learning how to talk to the individuals and manage to get them to cooperate if they were not in the mood or did not have their medication yet. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting and teaching the individuals that we serve new things and bonding with them as well as my co workers they were great as well.
Pros
My co workers and clients
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need a part time job or entry level position
Unit Director (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJuly 31, 2018
Elwyn doesn't value their employees. They don't promote from within so there is no room to grow. Everyone walks around with attitudes, definitely not a friendly environment. Elwyn's wages are low and they want a lot out of underpaid staff because they're still running the organization like they're in the 90's. Management and higher administrative staff hire their friends so there is a lot of favoritism going on. Be prepared to also buy all your own supplies even down to toilet paper
Pros
The individuals and some staff members will be missed
Cons
low pay, over worked, not appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A moral disaster
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJuly 24, 2018
Clients are mistreated and cover ups are the norm.

There are few good staff; which are mentally abused.

The pay does not equal the amount of the stressful workload.
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
LVN (Former Employee) –  Lamirada, CAJuly 18, 2018
taking care of clients in residential homes, taking them out to outings, doctor appointments, and providing for their needs . good training given, fair pay.
Pros
fun workplace
Cons
too much gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Missing
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJuly 13, 2018
I enjoyed working with the ladies i took care of. I miss them every day and think about them all the time. But i got sick and I couldnt go back to the home i was in so I moved on
Pros
take your own
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Mental Health Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Media, PAJuly 13, 2018
Co-workers were nice and help each other. Overtime was available. New staff not given enough training to start. Supervisor give a lot of workload and expect to be complete on date she give staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lsa
Customer Service (Life Skills Associate) (Former Employee) –  Media, PAJuly 9, 2018
In order to advance your career with Ellwyn you must be there for a long time. Elwyn does not pay very well. Nonetheless, Elwyn doesn't appreciate their hardworking employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJJune 28, 2018
Working at Elwyn was a great, and rewarding adventure. I love the staffs, and managers they was every respectful, and were willing to assist when needed.
Pros
One hour break, great training
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elwyn Company
Medical Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Media, PAJune 28, 2018
Convinient place to work, always has over-time for certain positions, no room for upper career advancement, salary/ pay is low. can be a little stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Residential Living Staff (Current Employee) –  Media, PAJune 26, 2018
The job is good, accommodating and challenging. Management is great but sometimes needs steadfast action. It is very interesting job people are cheering and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,and family style settings
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Temple City, CAJune 24, 2018
working at Elwyn has helped work better with people to provide better quality care for our residents. the company has also shown me how important it is to help people and that you can make a difference
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Care
Group Home Counselor (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJune 19, 2018
Transportation. Daily log entry. Goal planning. Breakfast, dinner and lunch preparation. Client laundry and light house keeping. Medical appointment scheduling. Monthly client reports.
Pros
People skills sharpened
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great before new Management
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  PAMay 18, 2018
New Management came to Elwyn only to enrich themselves and hire their friends. One new Vice President was involved with pushing kids to private prisons. They are preparing to sell off as much real estate and buildings in their 5 year plan to strip out all of Elwyns assets.
Pros
Was a great place to work
Cons
New Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place for your own mental health
Mental Health Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMay 7, 2018
Director and supervisor of this place are super unprofessional, they do not know the basic labor laws let alone anything else. They do not give any raises and will require a lot from you. They expect you to drop everything you’re doing if they need you. Staff meetings are scheduled when director feels like having them and you won’t get advance notice. They have little reguard for anything you have going on in your personal life, not to mention how racist they are. I would avoid this place at all costs and find a job else where.
Pros
Residence
Cons
Unprofessional and dismissive menagement, no pay raises, racist, time management, benefits, no breaks, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Elwyn, PAMay 7, 2018
This company strives for excellence for their population. You have to be a dedicated and hard working individual to deal with clients with special needs. you have top be willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. give more of yourself to help the clients be more successful. You transport clients to work and school and also teach life skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elwyn is a good place to work
Telecommunication Manager (Current Employee) –  Elwyn, PAMay 1, 2018
Upper level executives are approachable and easygoing.No issue with taking time off and no micro management by supervisors. Very friendly place to work.
Pros
Able to manage day and work without direct supervision
Cons
Better communications between departments and service lines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn new skills
Licensed Psychiatric Technician (LPT) (Current Employee) –  Granada Hills, CAApril 28, 2018
Great starter job for a LPT. You will learn new skills, especially working in a behavioral home. The clients are great, management hasn't lasted long. High turn over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for real advancement
Group Home Technician (Current Employee) –  Vineland, NJApril 28, 2018
Not a place you work if you want to have an outside life.Management does care until you interrupt their days off or call them after a certain hour of the day.So easy to get stuck on a double. Beware when you get there don't expect to leave after your 8 hours are over and please don't expect supervision to step in
Pros
vacation time accumulates quickly
Cons
no guarentee you leave at the end of your 8hour shift, No one rally cares until something goes really wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive
Assembler Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 25, 2018
They always made sure that we had work to do. It was a lot of different contracys for us to work on. We always learned a lot of different things. We always had a choice.
Pros
Alot of dofferent contracts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really supportive growing environment
Intake coordinator (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 17, 2018
Guidance and support provided by supervisors was great throughout my time with the company. Only reasons for leaving was low pay and inability to acquire hours according to personal scheduling conflicts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Elwyn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 223 reviews
555
462
354
225
127

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight