Emergency Medical Associates Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
DIRECTOR OF RECRUITMENT/ LEAD RECRUITER (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJMay 22, 2018
No longer with company...EMA was purchased by Envision around the time I had left. It used to rely heavily on it's physician partnership offering, but that has since changed and no longer an incentive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Emergency Medicine Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Belleville, NJMay 17, 2018
Have various practicing locations. Great job security. First job out of PA school. learning a lot at my facility. Looking forward to all the years to come with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company, very responsive to employees
Clinical Information Manager (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYApril 26, 2018
Good training period prior to starting role as a medical scribe. Flexible work schedule and good amount of vacation days. Working with multiple people at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here very much
Front/Back Office Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 20, 2018
Really enjoyed working with the company doctors and nurses were all extremely nice. Patients were great And all around enjoyed this place. Would recommend if you love helping people and are a caring individual
Pros
Excellent people
Cons
Didn't have any as far as I'm concerned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company is very rigid.
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJ 07054January 31, 2018
I was there for a short time and I found the work to be challenging, '
I learned a great deal while there.
The environment is very robotic, redundant.
I do not have anything else to say.

This was a temporary assignment,
Pros
Great entry learning experience
Cons
the company is very robotic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a relaxed atmosphere!
Medical Coder (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 17, 2018
It was an amazing place to work with very friendly people that became my friends! I learned many things while working there.
The atmosphere was relaxed.
Pros
People I worked with
Cons
The medical coding had been outsourced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job with invaluable clinical experience for medical field
Clinical Information Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaNovember 18, 2017
Loved working here. Difficult with management not being local at times, but the work is rewarding and incredibly useful. Great co-workers, and the doctors are willing to teach you while you work, which is good for them and you as your skills grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morristown, NJSeptember 20, 2017
I worked with a great group of coworkers who were also my age. The hours were tough because of the 12 hour shifts and varying time frames you would be scheduled for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great people
Clinical Information Manager (CIM) (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, PAAugust 10, 2017
At EMA, there are many ways to be employed by this company as a physician, mid level provider, CIM, and much more. They take the time to train their CIMs well to make sure that they uphold their standard of excellence. Working on site in the ED was very rewarding. I was able to learn much more terminology, pathology, and procedure wise. I witnessed procedures happening daily while shadowing 1 on 1 with a provider each shift. This was an excellent job right out of college bridging me to my ultimate goal of becoming a provider myself. There are many ways to grow with EMA and many locations to work on site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan Beach, CAAugust 9, 2017
Good employer great pay, great physicians, excellent learning opportunities. Wish they were in more locations such as in southern California. Wish I could
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After emcare nothing but negative
Clinical Information Manager / Medical Scribe (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJMay 18, 2017
Not recommended .

Much better ema.




Emcare merger changed a lot of things

Hospital sites always understaffed

Not ideal work environment
Pros
Collegues
Cons
No breaks but forced to put break. Complete disconnect between management and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good company
DIRECTOR, URGENT CARE OPERATIONS (Current Employee) –  Parsippany, NJApril 16, 2017
Due to recent mergers and acquisitions, the company is now publicy traded leading to elimination of jobs. People are now treated as numbers.The family environment no longer exists.
Pros
some free lunches, able to participate in health and wellness programs
Cons
Poor HR director. Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Assist the Emergency Room Physician (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 27, 2017
As a scribe, I learned the ins and outs of the Medical Field. Medical terminology was new to me when I began and it became apart of my natural verbiage. It was an enhancing experience into the health care field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As noted in previous review for EMA.
Clinical Information Manager, Scribe (Current Employee) –  Lumberton, NCNovember 29, 2016
As noted in previous review, this is not a bad company to work for a work experience is unparalleled. That being said, there is little room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, interesting placed to work
Nurse Practitioner, (Current Employee) –  Nyack, NYMay 1, 2016
excellent learning experience in this area because it teaches you things such as, the acute ed cases, as well as full admissions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
physician assistant (Current Employee) –  Mount Kisco, NYDecember 3, 2015
We work both independently and in collaboration with our physician. Busy and fast paced. I love my job here. If I didn't need to relocate i wouldn't leave.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Cash Poster (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJSeptember 2, 2015
I learned to review remittance advices and post payments to medical accounts received from various insurances and patients. I reviewed different types of accounts and also learned to make HCPS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethics
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Parsippany, NJApril 30, 2015
I am an honest person and I do not believe in tricking patients/customers into paying for services they do not owe. This department is a call center which, I do not mind but, please do not ask me to choose between money and health; others and my own.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
This company is afraid to come into 2015.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and intense ER
Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  WMHJanuary 22, 2015
Very busy -- high acuity for a community hospital -- PA's have good autonomy --

swing shifts with no opportunity for requests for time off is biggest obstacle

average hourly rate, but good benefit package
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to develop my office skills
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Germantown, MDAugust 27, 2014
• Input payment data as well as file receipts and past payments
• Create charts for references
• Contact insurance agencies for requested information
• Prepare bills to be sent to patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emergency Medical Associates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26 reviews
58
411
35
21
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Emergency Medical Associates Reviews by Location