Empire Comfort Systems Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here
Production worker (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILJuly 21, 2019
They lied during the interview. They tell you that you work 4/ 10 hr days with an occasional mandatory Friday. You work every Friday with an occasional Friday off. They tell you that you that they hire from within the company which they don't. And if you end up having medical problems while working with them they want to fire you. You only get six dr. notes a year so if you get sick more then that you get points to where you can point out.
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Management, Hr, working 50 hrs weekly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILJuly 13, 2019
I enjoyed working at Empire it was a nice experience and I would Love to go back but it was a contract job. My co workers were nice and friendly and easy going. My supervisor was a nice guy too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned, but not managed well
Prefer Not to Say (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILJuly 9, 2019
I've been gone from Empire for a few years. And now that I can look back on my time there, I see it more clearly. I was an office worker and did not know most of the plant employees. There was definitely and "us vs. them" feel about that whole situation. My boss at the time was nice enough, but failed to really take care of any serious issues with other employees (this includes, but is not limited to: looking at pornography in the office and hording of trash to the point that we were catching more than 5 mice a week - a problem we did not have for almost 10 years before the employee started). The building interior is warn down and was in desperate need of a makeover. The wallpaper was peeling from the walls and the carpet was pulling at the seams (and stapled down with a staple gun).
I was friendly with many people I worked along-side and do miss them. What I don't miss is the daily "huddles" that accomplished absolutely nothing, the monthly reviews, impossible to meet "personal goals" and the overabundance of work. Everything was a priority and a rush.
Employees were constantly being told by upper management that we were all replaceable. We did not "feel the love" from them at all.
My salary was extremely lacking for the position that I held. I didn't realize it at the time, but when I started looking for a new job I found out.
In the end, decent benefits and mostly friendly people were not worth the stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ECS Review
Writer / Designer (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILMay 30, 2019
Great people.
Work culture is terrible.
To many evaluations. Monthly YEAH!!
To many meetings.
Don't provide forum where
employees feel like they can speak
openly about work culture issues.
Pros
Good people working there.
Cons
Work culture is absolutely terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized with a careless union
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILOctober 19, 2018
The union in this business is not considered a part of the primary union and will not stand up for you. The senior people take complete advantage of you and dont do very much.
Pros
Press experience
Cons
Union, alot of ex cons, horrible work ethic
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor job
Fire place cell (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILSeptember 8, 2018
Bad place to to work.poor management .no advancement..no raised hot and hard labor ..no time off .I don't advise people to work here..dont care about the people
Pros
None
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laborer/welder
Laborer Worker (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILJuly 13, 2018
run assembly line,welder,trump operater,ect..Looking for a job were im not on my feet so much..Doctor orders Great place to work just time to move to somegbing diffrent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted & Supported
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILMay 15, 2018
I was promoted while working there, and learned a lot. Family owned operation was transitioning to next generation at the time. It was a hard job but they never expected extra time put in, and I appreciated that. Family environment for sure!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for being around for 80+ yrs in Belleville
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILApril 26, 2018
I really liked my job and the employees. There were some issues with change in office so that was challenging. Everyone friendly and hardworking. I think theyre doing really well.
Pros
Family atmosphere
Cons
Did not give raises for 9 yrs but that changed recently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Business with Ability to Wear Many Hats
Intern (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILApril 4, 2018
Empire has over 500 employees, yet it seems like you will know everyone. The culture is rooted in tradition which is favorable for people who prefer small businesses. The pay is slightly sub-par compared to my career field in the area, but that isn't as important to me. Administrative work also seems to have put stress on the day-to-day responsibilities of some employees, so some projects are pushed to the wayside because not enough time can be made available for this. This could be combated through the addition of employees to assume the extra responsibilities.
Pros
Small business feel, various opportunities for experience
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Manufacturer
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILMarch 22, 2018
Good place to work. Allows varied work and flexibility.
Family-owned business limits opportunities for advancement.
Offices are are somewhat dated and dirty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILMarch 15, 2018
this place sucks. the supervisers are jerks unless you get to play poker with them at lunch. most of the workers are idiots and are extremely unfriendly. nothing good about this company. but then again this is bellevile il, which has become nothing but a dump.
Pros
not much
Cons
just about everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a comfortable atmosphere
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILFebruary 1, 2018
There are too many people that are stereotyped by management. The owners of the company are great but the executives and middle management do not know how to create a team environment.
Pros
affordable health benefits
Cons
unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical manufacturing
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILNovember 16, 2017
very competitive, long hours, heavy workload , No job advancement or future incentives, Not enough training for the work knowledge expected . Not enough pay for the amount of work,
Pros
Good family oriented company
Cons
no incentives or bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned.
Controller (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILOctober 24, 2017
The company is family owned and has had turnover at the upper management level. It has been in business for 85 years in the current location with 300 employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid my bills
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILOctober 5, 2017
The pay is not to good for the average worker. They concentrate on paying the upper degreed people more than the skilled workers.
Generous holidays. Company employees get paid less than union employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with advancement opportunities
Casting Operator (Current Employee) –  Belleville IllinoisJune 4, 2017
Overall great place to work people are very nice to get along with good team leaders and comfortable place to work at I don't think the pay was very well and as parking goes it was very small
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Manager is the definition of a nitpicking micromanager
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILApril 26, 2017
The Engineering Manager there is the very definition of a nitpicking micromanager, nothing is good enough to satisfy him. Every boss acts like the place is their own little kingdom. Paid what I made 10 years ago, jumped at the first chance to get out.
Pros
Only good if you have to have a paycheck
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful!!
anomyous (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILMarch 4, 2017
Family owned company that is on it's 3rd or 4th generation that is poorly run. I have never encountered so many lies in my career. The management uses fear to get anything accomplished. The office is filthy and disgusting to be in.
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Press Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  918 Freeburg Ave Belleville ILLNovember 4, 2016
I think this a good company to work for at the time. I learned a lot with this company. Its was hands on learning.If I had a chance I would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Empire Comfort Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 31 reviews
58
44
38
25
16

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.5Culture

Empire Comfort Systems Reviews by Location