Emporia State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 63 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start
Intern Athletic Trainer (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSApril 9, 2019
This was a great opportunity for me to finish up another degree while getting my feet wet as an ATC. The staff helped me learn while I was able to make my own decisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment.
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSApril 2, 2019
I enjoyed my time working as a graduate assistant at ESU. The pay was fair and the professors were very collaborative. Everyone on campus is friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Sign Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Emporia, KSMarch 19, 2019
This is a great place to work as student. They are flexible with schedules and are understanding of your personal lives and emergencies that may occur with family matters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant
Criminalistics Assistant (Unpaid) (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSFebruary 20, 2019
I assisted my graduate professor in preparations for the criminalistics and biological and physical evidence classes. This was a volunteer, unpaid position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assoc. Director, TRIO Student Support (Current Employee) –  Emporia, KSDecember 13, 2018
I have had a wonderful experience at Emporia State. I have had the opportunity to learn, be promoted and develop as a professional. Additionally, I have impacted students in a positive way
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Wide Receivers Coach (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSDecember 5, 2018
I would highly recommend working at Emporia State University. Great school, system, and leadership. I really enjoyed my time there and wish I could have stayed longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESU Rocks
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSOctober 28, 2018
My day included about an hour of two of preparation for classes I was teaching. Sometime less time was spent if I was able to prep the week before. Then I taught a couple of classes M,W, and F. This was a great opportunity to learn and lead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chance for career advancement
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSAugust 29, 2018
Emporia state is a good place for job security, but the opportunity for advancement is limited. The benefits are amazing and the PTO is second to none. The amount of work you do is not compensated by the pay.
Pros
Benefits, 401K
Cons
Pay, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSJune 4, 2018
Joined the department at a very difficult time. Must say, the dean and chair did their best. But the culture at ESU is not great for employee retainment..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow placed work environment
STUDENT SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSMay 12, 2018
While everyone I worked with was really nice they lacked in things for employees to assist with. There is quite a bit of downtime so being a self-starter is beneficial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSMarch 15, 2018
This was a wonderful job experience. The atmosphere was fairly relaxed. The schedule was very flexible. I would recommend it for any student who needs to make some extra money.
Pros
This is a work study job
Cons
not enough hours to live on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esu
GRADUATE INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSFebruary 15, 2018
Fantastic workplace with tremendous fellow employees. We works in tandem to provide a better education and culture that would impact students on a wide of issues and empower them to achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perfect college job in the Biology field
Burn Assistant (Current Employee) –  Emporia, KSFebruary 12, 2018
Jobs like this make going to school and working doable. Without this job I would be struggling. I love the experience it has given me, and the flexibility of my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSFebruary 12, 2018
This job wasn't a bad job but did not get good hours and was to work with my school schedule but when it came down to finals my boss would not work with me.
Pros
paid 15 min lunch
Cons
not good pay and not nice boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get a masters
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSJanuary 9, 2018
Loved my time at ESU. They promoted learning in the physical science department and allow for a wonderful place to establish leadership and scientific skills.
Pros
Good professor-student connections.
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Emporia KSDecember 29, 2017
Emporia State University is a great place to work and learn. The faculty at Emporia State University are very professional. The working and learning environment are excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIfe in a College work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSDecember 20, 2017
It has been several years since I worked here, and at that it was a temporary job in that it lasted only the life of my time of schooling. It did help provide some experience in the tech field while I attended school. Management was new at the time so was learning on the job. Coworkers for the most part were enjoyable to work with.
Pros
learning/gaining experience in the field of my degree
Cons
I could have used more hands-on experience before graduating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Scene Shop Employee (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSDecember 13, 2017
Wonderful place to learn and develop professional skills in the work environment. The educators and staff are so very talented and easy to work with and for. Worst part is it was college so it was only temporary.
Pros
Friends at work
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turmoil behind the scenes
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSDecember 2, 2017
Research the campus history thoroughly before accepting a position at the university. Campus equity climate is in turmoil, but the administration claims otherwise.
Pros
None
Cons
Campus climate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It adds to my experience in teaching.
Writing Center Tutor (Current Employee) –  Emporia, KSNovember 30, 2017
I enjoy working with a supportive manager and friendly co-workers. I am doing what I love to do for my career which is teaching English. Working at Emporia is enhancing my career experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emporia State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 63 reviews
540
416
32
23
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.4Culture

Emporia State University Reviews by Location