EMS Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search See all 256 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say no.
Vocational Trainee (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMay 2, 2019
Playing the game; no real effort to place candidates. They talk the talk, and know all the right things to say. However, when the wheel stops spinning no walk is seen and no results. Stay away. Nepotism runs high in this company.
Pros
None
Cons
You name it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad environment
Car Detailer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 11, 2019
Management is horrible

Hours arnt flexible

No raises

Lots of issues with company

Has a very hostile environment with people who are rude and not willing to help othes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2019
lack of goals and direction

new management at the time

dysfunctional organization

stressful

unrewarding environment

lack of training

unrewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There dirt
Janitor and Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAJanuary 31, 2019
I had to do my boss’s job and do mine as well and got In trouble for not doing 1st and 3rd jobs for them. I was supposed to get a raise after 30 days and never got it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back job
Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 15, 2019
Ems is a laid back job where u can work at your own pace and still get the job done by the end of your shift never got to worry about any one hovering over you is what I love about being a janitor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad organization and leadership
Store Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTDecember 13, 2018
The Eastern Mountain Sport company used to be a good operation until management bankrupted the company due to hiring incompetent manages and district managers who never cared about the people that work under them or the customers. It was always all about profit.
Pros
vendors would give you gear to promote them
Cons
short breaks, infelxible hours, incompetent management and low morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Day
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCNovember 14, 2018
A typical day at work consisted of washing sheets and clothing. During my shift, I was able to listen to music and work alone. Also, I had interaction with others, but mostly worked alone at my own pace.
Pros
Work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guide and Boot Guru
Guide and Boot Guru (Current Employee) –  Warrington, PANovember 2, 2018
great place to work if interested in the high paced world of Outdoor Sports retail. Good starting position for the young/novice or semi-retired, or those called to a management position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm place to work at very relaxed.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 5, 2018
It was a nice place to work at I was always late due to traffic. You’ll love it there the employees was nice helped me a lot around there got to meet new people, we work late night so nobody was there to get in the way that’s what made it nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to at and for tbe company of EMS
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 18, 2018
EMS is a nice company to work for. My boss was awesome and he treated me with respect. I wish they had more openings here in Huntsville but they dont!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced and nice environment
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 3, 2018
I loved how face paced it was and everyone was very well informed of managment changes. Environment was nice and office was located near my home. Loved working with new people all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just ok
Mechanical Foreman (Former Employee) –  Broussard, LAAugust 21, 2018
I have good people there insurance was not that great that’s one of the reasons why I left them management far is mechanical could be better electrical department had great management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
House keeping / laundry (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAAugust 18, 2018
I quit the job because at the time I was 6 months pregnant and asked my supervisor if I could switch to laundry because the chemicals made me feel sick. He did not allow me to switch therefore showed any concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Retails Sales Guide, Footwear Specialist (Former Employee) –  North Conway, NHJuly 5, 2018
I do not have anything to say about working for this company. I stopped working there because I moved out of the state. I have no issue with EMS or working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, good people, lousy pay. It's retail.
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJune 26, 2018
lots of training and knowledge required for pay equivalent to McDonalds. However, they offer great discounts for gear lovers. Also some of the kindest and friendliest people I've ever worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow traffic can turn into heavy workload
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 25, 2018
A slow day can instantly become a fast rush of customers, so you need to be ready for that. My store didn't have a manager for 6 months, and the assistant manager did not pick up much slack, forcing me and the other keyholders to pick up that work for no additional pay or anything, even though it wasn't our job. Most of the employees were fun to hang out and talk with on shift, and most days the job wasn't too hard.
Pros
Balanced Schedules for Entry-Level Employees
Cons
Poor Upper Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employee discount
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Waterford, CTMay 21, 2018
not a bad place to work, management does not affectively communicate their direction for store operations. schedule can be flexible to a point. make sure you put in for time off months in advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Johnson and Johnson ems (Former Employee) –  Uvalda, GAMay 21, 2018
I enjoyed working there. Great crew and great supervisor. I dealt with several different patients who were violent and thankfully had good partners to deal with them.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Hours can very from 30 -40 hrs a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Mountain Sports
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDMay 6, 2018
EMS was a great place to work. Good work life balance for a retail gig. Great discounts. Upper management and company cares for your advancement. Great training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Retails Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 16, 2018
If you loved the outdoors and fitness and health and wellness, this is the best job. You're able to meet multitudes of different people with different backgrounds that have many common interests as yourself.
Slow paced and friendly environment, from staff to clientele.
Pros
Friendly, upbeat, interesting product and people
Cons
lower compensation, can be slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EMS Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 256 reviews
571
485
357
222
121

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture