Emser Tile & Natural Stone Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible culture
Operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 18, 2018
They have insane operational guidelines with 14 different people to report to. You never have a clear view of your role other than you are obviously the paid "help." Secretive, cut-throat, close-minded.
Pros
None
Cons
Insanity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, bad management all around
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  TexasDecember 24, 2017
Emser is a good company as long as your one of the favorites of management. If your not don't ever expect to promote or be recognized for any reason. They preach customer service but treat their employees poorly. It's a lot easier to give great customer service when you don't think your manager is looking for anything, or nothing, to get rid of you to bring in one of their friends in your position. They pay well and that is why most people stay I think. In this case i would rather have less pay. Always have an updated resume handy with this company. You will eventually have to use it.
Pros
The employees are great, pay is great, work/life balance is great
Cons
Management is bad all the way to the top, HR doesn't exist or help for any reason, very antiquated in their way of running business, most mgrs have been there so long they can do what they please with no repercussions at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Sales Culture
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 19, 2017
The company is focused on Market Share. High level of empowerment at all levels.

Too many people direct and in-direct reporting structure.

Strong work ethic required.
Pros
Large support structure
Cons
Large support structure and reporting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience ever
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 9, 2016
I worked at Emser for almost 5 years and in the beginning I loved my job. After the first year you are beat up terribly by the operations regional manager and other higher ups. She will make you feel like the lowest form of scum on the planet and yes, everyone in the company shares this opinion. Their job is to basically lower your moral then leave. This company is great about making you feel bad about yourself and talking out of both side of their mouth. Emser use to have a grasp on what it meant on how to treat employees. Now you are strictly a number to them, replaceable too. If you're not a favorite of regional management, forget about being promoted. Smaller branches never get noticed. Emser is a firm believer of out with the old and in with the new. They will use you up and spit you out. Never felt like a manager, just a worthless associate who was micromanaged to death.
Pros
Work life balance, kind of.
Cons
Grow eyes in the back of your head. Someone will stab you in the back eventually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of great opportunites
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILJune 23, 2016
This company isn't a fly by night company. They're very strong and moving in the right direction. They pay well and expect much in return. Very fair, and a great supporting corporate class.

The hardest part of the job is feeling confident in making a business decision that makes sense to the customers you deal with face to face and not having someone else override your decision based on how they feel business should be conducted. Not capitalizing on the amount of profit that is available based on the strategy to give everything for nothing.

Most enjoyable part of this job would be the tremendous support you receive at the push of a button. There's really a lot of good people in this company!
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
Too many chiefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting entrepreneurial management
Branch Manager/Operations/Trade Sales (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVSeptember 22, 2015
Company was great to work for and paid well above industry average. Started to change culture to big box mentallity towards the end.
Pros
Best pay
Cons
lost edge of being flexible and entrepreneurial turned into a big box
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apparently consistent in the way work take precedence over workers.
Application (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake VAAugust 21, 2015
Apparently we are spending time with an interest in the future of the other requirements of the exchange rather than the emotions of the working world so that led to the owners concerns being more material and less people oriented. If management can get away with insensitivity and successfully proceed, the reality of danger is hidden by the masks of awards and praise.
Pros
Consistency, awards, praise.
Cons
Inconsistencies, inhumanity, falsehoods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many managers that are only concerned for themsleves
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 18, 2015
Although this company pays well and has excellent commission structure and 401k plan, the style of management is not conducive to improving the morale and growth of an employee. A typical day consisted of reporting to the main office and picking up samples for the week. You would have to meet clients daily and target key accounts to grow the market with. Operations managements as well as all the different managers that really one sales manager can do, made the job more stressful than it should. Co-workers weren't really team players as some would steal outside sales and mark them as house sales. The hardest part of the job was dealing with inflated egos but the most enjoyable part of the job was leaving the warehouse and actually seeing customers.
Pros
great salary and benefits
Cons
too many mid-level managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 5, 2014
This company has a habit of lying to it's employees about training and advancement opportunities. T hey consistently short staff their branches forcing the few employees they do have to work ridiculous amounts of overtime. They do not provide the employees with the proper tools to accomplish the work, yet demand that it be accomplished any way.
Pros
None
Cons
Working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company / Stable
Architecture/Commercial Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 8, 2013
Grew markets in Retail, Residential markets
Advanced to National Chain Accounts MGR and traveled monthly
Great support staff and managemet
Grew knowledge in the Natural stone field of flooring
Pros
Support and growth
Cons
Advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 26, 2013
Good Place to work, however being part of the Construction business it was not always very busy.
Pros
Good People to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAJune 3, 2013
didnt like the people there, they were very nosy and alot of drama. i hated this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging balance of operations and sales development
Branch Manager/Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston TXApril 22, 2013
My team made coming to work each day enjoyable.
We just never had enough people to run the business optimally.
I learned very quickly how to prioritize and use my time wisely.
Everyone on my team were team players; they always jumped in to help out where ever needed.
Pros
freedom to run your business the way you want to
Cons
not enough head count
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely not a good company to work for ----
Management (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 3, 2013
Unfortunately everyone gets fired from Emser. It is just a matter of time when your number gets called. There are or were several great folks to worked long hard hours and really wanted to do a great job.
Cons
long hours, low pay, lack of management trust
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap and shady management
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  FresnoFebruary 28, 2013
Owners are shady group. Play the game of one against other. Upper Management not owners dont play by rules say onething do another, Before housing bust were told that going to happen and they laughed and drummmed me out
Pros
$
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  San DiegoFebruary 11, 2013
I worked here a few years back after being recruited away from a company I shouldn't have left. I honestly felt like a number with this company and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. They're very unorganized (not good communication between the higher levels and the branches) and they don't seem to have a genuine concern for the employees. Big mistake working there. They are constantly cycling through employees, even in the best of times. You'll notice that they're constantly hiring. It's not because of growth.
Pros
hmmm...paid ok i guess
Cons
poor management, lack of concern, lack of organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 8, 2012
Its not a easy job. You have to be safe ,fast, and accurate and pay attention to details.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emser Tile & Natural Stone
Showroom Manager (Former Employee) –  San diego, CaNovember 28, 2011
I worked for Emser for little over 3 years. I made a lot of money when the market was hot. Emser was a great place to work, but unfortunately the manager at the time wasn't the sharpest knife in the drawer. But i will say one thing. 1 of the owners of the company. I think it was Eddie, really helped me out when i needed some extra money to buy my first house. He gave me a interest free loan. It wasnt a lot of money, it was the fact that this guy helped one of his employees without even really knowing him. i would go back to work with Emser any day. I left on good terms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 19Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emser Tile & Natural Stone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 19 reviews
51
45
34
22
17

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture

Emser Tile & Natural Stone Reviews by Location