ESCO Group LLC Employee Reviews

Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 113 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment gets worse every year.
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  newton msAugust 13, 2018
When I started, Esco Newton was a decent place to work. We had a decent manager and the people were fun to work with. nobody minded the long hours because we liked each other. Now its just cut throat. Managers and supervisors are clueless about the process. they hire warm lump of meat off the street to fill a role. they do not listen to feed back from the floor when and if they ever come to the floor. Management preaches moral boosting but every decision they make brings these guys down just that much lower.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Helper (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 1, 2018
Great place for sure absolutely. It’s a definitely a good place to be I just want to be working other places and having new experiences in the work force
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of room to move up if you want more responcability
Grinder (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 1, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company and felt that feeling of job security and always felt there was lots of room to move up in my work positions thoe it was competitive.Safety and safety meeting were very important to just about everyone I worked with and it was easy to mention to someone if I saw them being unsafe.
Pros
Able to work plenty of overtime and weekends
Cons
Short lunch.Very hot inside the foundry allways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sandblaster and grinder
Sandblaster (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 1, 2018
The Timeline for Raises, Bonuses, or Promotions
I’m really enjoying my position and growth within the company. What timeline are you thinking about in terms of raises or promotions, and what can I do to get there?”
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management focused on cutting costs to sell company
Advanced Materials Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 28, 2018
The senior management, particularly the former CEO, was focused on selling the privately owned company. This resulted in the closure of a large number of overseas production plants and the outsourcing of large portions of their product line. Additionally, their research and development of new materials for their product line was closed down and a number of metallurgists laid off leaving few for quality control of the outsourced product line.
Pros
interesting projects
Cons
extreme cost cutting and lack of job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out great... didn't end that way
Welder (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 19, 2018
When I started I loved the company. I worked every Saturday for the first three years I was there, happily. Thing went down hill fast the last three years though. They stopped valuing their employees and ultimately ended up closing their flagship foundry where I worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Bench grinder (Former Employee) –  Newton, MSJune 8, 2018
bench grinder,finsher ,grind and fit all parts inspect and label ,air tools operator heavy duty ep. training and helping others .following rules and regurlations.
Pros
sometime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Welder (Former Employee) –  Covington, KYJune 3, 2018
Ok place to work. I really needed a job and turned out I liked it there just had to drive hour to and from everyday and my vehicle could t take it any longer so missed days cuz of car trouble and got me fired.
Pros
Work 4 days a week
Cons
Overtime and hot in summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant company reorganization and changes in direction
North American IT Client Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 7, 2018
Challenging market conditions caused constant change and redirection by senior management. Not a satisfying work environment. Lacks trust of leadership. Great hardworking employees.
Pros
3 weeks vacation to start
Cons
Portland jobs continue to disappear
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic people to work with.
Account Manager/Sales (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 26, 2018
Great people to work with and flexible schedule. Able to determine your own schedule with very very little micro management. Superior products designed to meet the customers needs.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Hard to find time for additional training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but rewarded, compensated well, and appreciate by corporate
National Sales Director (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 14, 2018
Because I held multiple progressive roles my duties changed throughout the process.

cold calling
sales force to manage
incredible work life balance
reasonable sales goals- high payouts
management is incredible
Pros
CEO consistant growing vision
Cons
alot of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am happy to have learned the skills involved with the work detail, but was happier to relocate
Plastic Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXFebruary 17, 2018
Heating, mixing and pouring of plastic . To pour plastics the materials must remain over a certain temperature to get a clean mold. This entails a very fast pace to meet a daily quota while working inside of an oven. While I disapprove of the management style, this company is very successful. I did enjoy the actual work detail, but the heat was overwhelming.
Pros
Learning new skills, healthcare program, paid holidays, hard work
Cons
Workplace atmosphere, day to day fear of lay-offs, extreme heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esco was a good place to work if you want to know about metal.
Welder (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 5, 2018
Esco was a place you could learn how castings are made and repaired. You have to learn how to work safe because it can be a dangerous place . There was a good safety committee there, which i belonged to. This is the place i learned the most about welding and safety.
Pros
They had safety meetings every morning
Cons
If you were not safe you would probably get hurt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World wide company
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 8, 2018
Excellent place to work that offers career advancement and good pay but you got to work hard to excel.safety is definitely their number 1 goal and they expect you to definitely participate in helping with that.
Pros
They have ping pong tables in lunch room
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bad air to breath to work.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 4, 2017
It's a fast pace work, sometimes must stay late to work to keep up
and work weekend, must learn different type of tools and machine
to work, have so many variety of pattern to work and must be done
or communicate with supervisor need to be done, pass it to the next
shift.
Pros
more hours to work.
Cons
short breaks and lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gillette, wyNovember 17, 2017
esco was not a terrible place to work.. Was required to do work for others and was not compensated for that work.. Sometimes quoted several hundered thousand dollars wort of parts for our outside people and got less than even a thank you
Pros
Decent pay, great benefits
Cons
highly demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot hard and heavy!
Steel Pourer (Former Employee) –  Newton, MSNovember 3, 2017
Had fun, made money, miss working there much. Great benefits, crazy schedule. Melting department works hardest, definitely need to be ready to tote some hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place intell they kicked us out
Overhead Crane operator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 19, 2017
It wasn't a bad place to work. the orders were starting to become staggered but that because they decided to shut the plant down. they were nice enough to warn use in advance but considering the place had been running over 100 years i thought it be a career not a day dream.
Pros
good salary and friends. sometimes great managment
Cons
the place is no longer in portland, OR and it was not worth moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place
Safety Director/Lead Rigger (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVSeptember 18, 2017
Some issues as far as management goes, hours weren't the best, pay could have been A LOT better considering the liabilities you take and safety factors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Delight Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 30, 2017
good people and they are extremely willing to help people in any situation that they might be in. they are 100% willing to meet your needs. excellent work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ESCO Group LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 113 reviews
539
427
325
212
110

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture