ESS Support Services Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search See all 77 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes this is a fun place to work because the people agree to deal with and they are respectful and have great workplace relationship and ethics
Offshore catering (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 17, 2019
are the riddle ESS Support Services I've learned that you spend a lot of days away from home you can't be afraid of water because you're nowhere around land you in the Gulf of Mexico working with great and fun people you working 12 hours a day I'm 12 hours old you sleep there you eat there you do everything there shift from 28 on and 14 days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and pay just far away from love ones.
Cook Supervisor/ Galley Hand (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 14, 2019
I enjoy my job been there for ten plus years, the pay is good get plenty overtime the only, con is im far away from home, love ones and church family.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAApril 17, 2019
I enjoyed working for this company. Had I not gotten sick and moved I would more than likely still be there. Being off-shore was fun and exciting. Had a great time.
Pros
Fun and relaxed
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook
Galley Hand (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 1, 2019
Worst place I ever worked, not good pay, the management is horrible to deal with,bad attitude's, an they make more money than us an we doing the hard work risking our lives. If someone don't show up for work, you have to stay r get fired, and when you do stay over helping the company, don't even be nice and tell you thank you, or do anything for you, cause actually your saving their contract with the job, cause their contact with the company can be terminated easily for not binding by the rules of the contract of keeping staff at all times
Pros
Good people
Cons
Bad company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
DAY STEWARD (Current Employee) –  Louisiana, LafayetteDecember 8, 2018
Great job to work. Very hard to move up into a higher position but overall I love my job. Friendly work place and great people to work with. Been with the company for 6 years
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESS job
Steward (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LANovember 10, 2018
worked on an oil production platform.Cooked 3 meals a day for 10-25 people and cleaned living quarters,meet a lot of nice people,no manager on site being away from home for 14 days,fun place to be
Pros
free food
Cons
away from home for 14 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly
General Helper (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 5, 2018
I loved working with ESS Support Services great management great team work, providing great work environments, provide good food and sleeping arrangements safe
Pros
Free breakfast, launches and dinner
Cons
Every two three hours break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place.
Galleyhand (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LA 70506October 12, 2018
very busy work day.lot of safety drills. i learned the importance about safety.management did not care enough.workplace culture very good.the hardest part of the job was coming on shift and having to catch up on things that the previous shift did not cover.the most enjoyable part of the job was going fishing at the end of the shift.
Pros
free lunches.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good company to have for
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 2, 2018
It a good company to work for I got layed off in 2016 the last part of 2016 I was a cook for them from 2005 to 2016 I enjoy working offshore I want to do it again
Pros
learn a lot from ess
Cons
got good benefits paid vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Head Cook (Former Employee) –  Robert, LASeptember 27, 2018
When they took over the first week they were all dog and pony show. Showing how good they can do then after that everything went back to the way it used to be. Then when we hit our 89 Day we ask them how everything was. They said everything was good. On day 90 they fired everybody
Cons
There's no supervision and if you screw up they will not stand behind you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly clients and a great challenge
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Juneau, AKAugust 31, 2018
I think ESS does a great job trying to meet the clients needs with the employees they have. The managers are always willing to take on the challenge to do everything make Greens Creek an enjoyable place to by while away from family.
Pros
Free meals and room and board
Cons
Not as many advancements possibilities, no paid vacation, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Executive Steward (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 18, 2018
The staff on board were enjoyable to work with. The company ESS needs to improve on management and schedule direction. Overall good company for the beginner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice starter offshore job.
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 13, 2018
Good job to start with Incase you need offshore experience. The people are nice and easy to get along with. The only problem is they do not give pay rate raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and was glad to be apart of the team
Utility Hand (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 26, 2018
Well from the helicopter rides to the rig to the great steaks on saturdays & wensdays I had a blast work offsore for e.S.S. Community sevices world wide!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ess
Utility Technician/ Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 6, 2018
My overall experience of working for ESS Support Services a few years back was life changing for me. I never flew before and never been on a boat so that was kool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Administrative / HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKFebruary 1, 2018
ESS Support Services is an excellent place to work, the people are very friendly and helpful. The working environment is happy and productive. ESS offers a very competitive compensation package.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot of fun working on the platform with the crew
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gulf of MexicoJanuary 9, 2018
Working on the platform in the Gulf of Mexico was a learning experience for me and I enjoyed doing my job That’s when I learned that food makes people feel better about a lot of things especially good food and you meet beautiful people all over the world the money wasn’t all that good but the people made up for that because we were family I started my day at 4am cook 3 meals a day I was in charge of the galley crew BR crew groceries order and payroll it was fun but I left for better pay.
Pros
Working 14 days on the job and 14 days off
Cons
The pay wasn’t good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tenis,basketball etc
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 17, 2017
all i can tell is that the people there are nice the environment is beautify the family of the workers are allowed to visit the facility once in the year.
Pros
free launch
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
offshore
U/T (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LANovember 25, 2017
this job was good other than you work 21-7 as in you work 21days out the month an only off 7. i did it for a little while but that got tiring fast. i love the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 17, 2017
Get to work in areas not available to all residents and visitors to Alaska. Working with a diverse group of people was exciting, and experiencing all of the different cultures was great as well, I learned a lot about people and thought processes. Very satisfying.
Pros
Fair treatment, promote from within
Cons
Pay can be dictated by the contracual aggrements
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ESS Support Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 77 reviews
516
431
318
26
16

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture