Essentia Health Employee Reviews

Found 309 reviews matching the search See all 310 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, forget it if you dont "fit in."
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDDecember 8, 2018
The direct manager for the med/surg unit plays favorites. If you don't fit in with the clique of people that worked with her before she was a manager, you are doomed. Was written up for incidents that were serious for me, but other employees have gotten away with much worse. Doctors were mostly great to work with inpatient, but there are always a few nurse shaming bad eggs. Overall, it was a hostile work environment filled with bullying.
Pros
Some of the staff was kind
Cons
compensation, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
ER nurse (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNDecember 7, 2018
great place to work
great with schedule
family oriented
great manager
great teamwork
8hr shifts
great team
knowledgeable
great people works in that ER
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Barista (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNDecember 7, 2018
I worked the coffee shop so it was pretty relaxed but fast-paced. The customers were absolutely amazing and the other hospital staff is always so kind. Compared to other coffee shops I have worked, this one was the best. The kitchen staff are almost a little family of their own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a good job for Duluth
End User Platforms Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNNovember 15, 2018
Not a bad place to work. It could be better. Pay is better than most but still about 15% off of were I like to be for the work I am doing. If you are will to have a career here then it will get better as time goes on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Culture, Poor Management
Education (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNNovember 13, 2018
Really a depressing place to work. Limited opportunities for advancement. Management pushes a culture where the dollar is more important than the patient. Supervisors are total stooges for senior leadership. Most employees unhappy with the organization.

EH at least has nice dining areas for lunch, staff there is great.
Pros
They paid me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall loved working here
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Virginia, MNNovember 12, 2018
Overall I loved working for Essentia and with my small team. I loved how our manager and co-workers were understanding when it came to family matters and needing time off.
Pros
flexible one needing to take time off for emergencies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
Employee (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNNovember 10, 2018
Toxic organization where they've always struggled to create a culture of partnership, trust and improvement. Quick to blame without understanding the root cause.
Pros
the idea of wanting to help people
Cons
exectutive leadership, lack of training, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company focused not employee focused
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Brainerd, MNNovember 6, 2018
I loved the people I worked with, Essentia is a very greedy money orientated hospital. If there is a way to cut corners to the employee they will. The way the upper people talk to their employess is ridiculous. People are quitting left and right.
Pros
Friendly helpful coworkers
Cons
Management and greedy company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cardiology Technician (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNOctober 29, 2018
loved working here! advancement options, great opportunities to learn and develop new skills. flexible hours, great management and great benefits as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun pla e to work
Team Lead Patient Access (Current Employee) –  Deer River, MNOctober 19, 2018
The coworkers in the hospital make you feel like we are one family working together. Smaller community so really personable. The staff are willing to work together and get the job done
Pros
Friendky people
Cons
Distance if drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement and paid very poorly
Patient Registration (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNOctober 17, 2018
Management is very poor. EH seems to only care about the money and not the employee's. Employee's getting let go due to not enough work but can build a million dollar expansion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Essentia
Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNOctober 10, 2018
Essentia is a very business type of place to work. A typical day would be busy, which is what I like. I really enjoyed working in the NTICU and the people that I worked with.
Pros
free meals on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for Essentia
Coding Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDOctober 4, 2018
They are a great company and very supportive. They always give you help and will work to keep you informed and supported. Takes the time to show you every step
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co-workers
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNOctober 3, 2018
I will miss my co-workers, hard-working people with high work ethic one of the best that I ever had in my working life, each person has a treasure of knowledge and they are willing to share it for the good of everyone.
Management, not satisfactory.
Pros
Being one of the biggest employers in the area is a good starting point
Cons
Low management skills, wages under the average for the area, poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
RN (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNOctober 2, 2018
Received plenty of opportunity to advance skills and was provided many learning opportunities. Great Nursing Staff! Rotating schedule and call time was the most difficult part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Staff Nurse LPN (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDSeptember 25, 2018
I loved working at Essentia. It was a work family. I was able to effectively perform my job with help available when needed. Management was supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company centered
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Virginia, MNSeptember 20, 2018
Company is centered on corporate more than patient driven. The company focuses on cost-saving cuts to save the hospital money. Good care is given to the patients no matter due to the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skills Development
End User Platform Support Tech (Current Employee) –  Detroit Lakes, MNSeptember 17, 2018
They encourage you to take classes or take online courses to help improve you skills. They help guide you and assist you with family and life. They alow you time to take care of family activities.
Pros
Work Hours
Cons
Benfits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired Through Temp Agency
Human Resource Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNSeptember 11, 2018
I was hired through a temp agency. After 2 months I was offered full time employment. I was a scheduler in the HR departments. The onsite gym was a nice perk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNSeptember 7, 2018
Never enough staff because the more unit manager can save in the budget, the bigger the bonus they receive. Management is poor and self serving. Employees are not recognized by there hard work and dedication. Your opinion doesn't matter even if you are the most knowledgeable and educated person in the room. Beware to anyone who is willong to work there. Just look at how many opening positions they have and the proof is in the pudding!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Essentia Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 310 reviews
5102
4110
365
216
117

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight