Essilor Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Farmers Branch, TXFebruary 12, 2019
I had a great experience at Essilor A typical day at Essilor was very quick paced. I learned a lot and gained a lot of knowledge. I was trained in multiple departments and got to see the bigger picture.
Pros
discounts
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry
DATA ENTRY PROCESSOR (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 5, 2018
Typical day is just entering orders for glasses for you whole shift. Worked by quota which wasn't hard because I am good at it. Great insurance and great co-workers.
Pros
Free glasses every year.
Cons
Nothing that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor leadership
Optical Lab Tech II (Former Employee) –  Walled Lake, MISeptember 14, 2018
unpredictable work shifts
tribal leadership
no accountability
hardest part of the job is following untrained managers
enjoyable was working 2nd shift when most of the managers left
Pros
making some very cool lenses
Cons
very low glass ceiling/poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure
Lab General Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 9, 2018
Lack of communication and mid level help.
Lab sites were not asked for feedback often enough. Long hours . Possibly not enough positivity by upper managment
Pros
Good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
robotic
Optical Technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 6, 2018
this job was very unstable and lack of management. I was promised that i would get hired within the next 6 months and failed to do so, they would come up with excuses and avoid us ( temporary) people. Everyday was the same exact thing, nothing ever changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
District Sales Manager - 21st Century Optics (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2018
I typically see 4-5 accounts per day where I'm selling the labs products (RX Lenses) and services. They give us the tools we need to be successful but with the heavy majority of the competition being within the same Organization, there is not a big opportunity for growth. The success of the territory is heavily reliant on the performance of the Optical lab as opposed to the sales rep which makes it difficult at times. Overall a good company to work for with solid management but some aspects are out of their control.
Pros
Ability to make own schedule
Cons
Constant account management with not enough ability to actually sell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Optical Lens Polisher (Former Employee) –  Farmers Branch, TXNovember 27, 2017
I enjoyed working at Essilor, however, I received a better job opportunity from AmeriSource and decided to take it. Essilor is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with but uncertain future with merger
Director of Business Development (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 30, 2017
Need to log many hours each day to get what needs to be done. Poor balance with work and life. One must think for themselves and carve out their own future
Pros
Great people
Cons
lack of free time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with fantastic benefits and opportunities
Project Director (Current Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FLOctober 12, 2017
A typical day at work is self-paced and autonomous. You have the opportunity to be successful leading without authority. Learning is massive in this culture if you seek out the opportunity and you have a strong manager who cares about staff development.

Like in any company there are good managers and bad managers. I have been very fortunate to work under some very good managers / mentors.

Multi-cultural workplace. Great opportunity to meet and learn from other culture. On the downside, communication can be difficult between the cultures especially in terms of language.

Best part is the experience gained, the friends made and the countries I have traveled to.
Pros
Experience, benefits
Cons
Must be willing to relocate to move up in the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good, but excellent.
Optician (Current Employee) –  LagosJanuary 5, 2017
1. On Tuesdays and Thursdays are of good example of working days, because its the clinical days, so therefore we have so many patients around.
2. I learned how to work and manage an organisation perfectly.
3............
4.My co-workers happens to be one of the best thing in my life..
5. the hardest part of my job is moving to and fro from home to my place of work.
6. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my optical automatic machines.
Pros
free breakfast and lunch...
Cons
short breaks, healthcare, transportation and feeding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The leads are awful
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJuly 25, 2016
One if the likes to start drama like she is in 3rd grade if no one isn't talking to her and tell the boss lies to get them fired. No matter the proof you have on her lies, they always take her side.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i can not describe as long as i am working with this company
Distribution Lead Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Northvale, NJJune 23, 2016
rating shows everything I dnt need to explain everything about the company. i am keep looking for better opportunities because i know that i can do much better
Pros
later
Cons
later
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorgnized and behind on technolgy
Busines Analyst (Former Employee) –  Farmers Branch, TXApril 19, 2016
They promote within but they don't get paid what they are suppose to make until 6 months later.
Good place to start if you are a graduate.
Pros
Good place for a beginner with no experience
Cons
HR is horrible and they base it by who they know and like. Are not good at HR relations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on, very effectively, maintaining/improving market share
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 16, 2016
.Organization can over analyze situations. However, it does review most or all of the possible options before making decisions. Management can be political at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that Great a place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 19, 2016
The company closed its doors in Austin due to the location not being profitable. However the real problem was the sales rep and her inability to see past the color of someones skin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essilor/opti-craft
Machine Edger Operator/Finish Room Grinder (Former Employee) –  Gresham, ORDecember 19, 2015
Very good company to work for. I love what I do . But the support lately is unknown. I am ready for change. I take my job very serious.I like to have fun .
Pros
I love my job
Cons
no support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
MBA Intern (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 30, 2015
I learned a lot about marketing concepts. They pay very well and you will learn a lot about both B2B marketing and direct to consumer marketing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I managed a team of workers in the finishing department
Group Lead (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 12, 2015
I managed and trained workers in the finishing department. Start their 2nd shift when their was only originally one shift when I was hired. Worked around 50 hours a week.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
marked not rehirehable for putting in a three week notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring place to work--really great employees
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sauk Rapids, MNJune 26, 2015
The best thing about this place was the people. I always felt valued among my co-workers and we were able to work out any conflicts or problems among us I also had a really great boss. I think we did a very good job with limited resources.
Pros
The best people to work with-such a great group!
Cons
Limited resources--building was too small
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essilor is a great company to work with
Sr. Data Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 13, 2015
Essilor is a great company to work. Work Culture is good and very friendly environment. I would like to work for them if given an opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Essilor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 191 reviews
568
481
330
27
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight