Estes Express Lines Employee Reviews

Found 800 reviews matching the search See all 801 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Customer care clerk (Former Employee) –  Augusta yaJanuary 13, 2019
My direct supervisor was awesome. I enjoyed my coworkers. But my terminal manager was a disgrace. He told me that I didn’t need to come back from maternity leave with juiced still coming out of me. He told me he would have never hired me if he knew who I dated when I applied. He constantly wanted to talk negative about the father of my child. He was very rude. And deceiving.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought it'd be better
Driver (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJanuary 12, 2019
Really expected more out of this company. Other than being established. I don't really see how they're in business. Management doesn't have a clue. All they care about is their numbers. ( which are based on false information). Keep their numbers up and you'll do good. I haven't met but a few employees that LIKE their job. Everyone else is here for benefits and a check that's it. No joke. Very disorganized.
Pros
Good money and benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Customer Service Rep II (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 11, 2019
Too much FAVORITISM!! Office mgr too many favorites and lets them break policy. Mgr cusses to much at employees. Too much write ups for nothing. Management is terrible.
Cons
Too muvh foul language from mgr.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun rewarding
Assistant Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  McCook, ILJanuary 2, 2019
Greet place to work , positive environment engaging personalities. Hours are reasonable and rate of pay is fair. Policy is dictated by individual circumstances
Pros
Job security
Cons
Chosen circles of trust
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized work place
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Stafford, VADecember 31, 2018
Lacks organization the people have favoritism at the job, but the health benefits are good, the vacation time is pretty cool and they have a 401k plan, and they have lunch breaks
Pros
hours at job
Cons
organization needs work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressed and Stressful
Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 31, 2018
The Greensboro Terminal is very unprofessional, team members do not work with you, plus when need help or ask questions they give negative feed back and use profanity language, the training system is poorly, equipments not update, almost all the time something is broke, never get fix! Management walks around with negative attitude, I would prefer anyone to think twice before making that move. It would be a better place if they would get rid of those supervisors that just want a pay check, but don't eant to do anything else but to use bad language...... Its not ESTES, its those kind of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and shorthand
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 26, 2018
As a company Estes is great. Middle management (ATM /TM) is a disappointment. The owners would be very disappointed to know how their staff is being treated. They are never willing to help or assist customers. They act like you are bothering them when you ask for help. It makes your job hard and make the environment stressful.
Pros
Benefits, Pay & Bonuses
Cons
Middle management, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunties for advancment
Platform Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GADecember 23, 2018
Management team doesn't ask the right questions when trying to solve issues.

Hardest part of the job is the tight schedules that can lead to freight being loaded improperly or wrong schedule
Pros
Benefit package is competive
Cons
Lack of structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many happy people
linehaul driver (Former Employee) –  York, PADecember 18, 2018
Could do better, bunk rooms I stayed in 20 years ago, they can definitely take better care of their drivers, maybe things have changed but I did like everyone there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We were a family
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  North Bergen, NJDecember 17, 2018
Like all job there up and down but at end day. We still spoke and we family.the hours were flexible. We all cover each other shift did our work.and we play when it was needed.
Pros
Free kunch
Cons
No grace period u were late a minute you were written up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Estes Express Lines?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company, but...
Linehaul Driver, Driver Trainer (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaDecember 14, 2018
The company is well run at the corporate level, but at the local level there is a complete lack of accountability for equipment neglect and abuse, which has created a real morale problem.
Pros
Great pay & benefits
Cons
Lack of accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Forklift Operator / Dock (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GADecember 13, 2018
Estes was ok, but I had a problem with how they laid me off. I was at work every day that was scheduled to be there and worked hard. I didn't have the schedule I asked for and had to work nights instead of the day shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, needs better management
Driver/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXDecember 13, 2018
Estes is a great company to work for, I just did not get along with the terminal manager. As did most people that worked their. There has been several drivers that have come and gone for the same reason since I left.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and always having your job threatened
Driver (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INDecember 8, 2018
Company in general is a great company to work for, South bend terminal not at all, Management is very hard to work for manager does not want to hear any of your comments, It is his way or the highway
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Pineville, LADecember 5, 2018
Fast paced, decent hours, decent pay and a safe work environment. Great management and staff. Very challenging work. Can be physically challenging. Would love to work here again!
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced work environment
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Athens, GADecember 4, 2018
Load and unload trailers
learned how proper secure freight
The terminal manager is always business first
relaxed attitude between coworkers
the hardest part of the job is dealing with weather
Bonus checks for lack of damages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fenton, MONovember 30, 2018
I enjoyed my time at estes. No complaints. They treated employee well and cared about them and their families. A innocent mistake cost me a great job.
Cons
Good company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company looking to improve daily.
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  York, PANovember 30, 2018
Estes family is a great company but they are still working through a growing industry. So you will hear that people work long hours and extra days however it is only superficial. I see this company improving in the years to come, getting there might require some hardships on the way.
Pros
Great health insurance
Cons
Extra days/hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job has good pay but the work environment leaves a lot to be desired
DOCK WORKER (Former Employee) –  Pulaski, VANovember 30, 2018
The only good thing to say about the dock worker position is it has very good pay for an entry level position. Past that, the experience is not a good one. The work environment is hostile basically all the time and most all of the management is very unkind and it's usually unmerited. With the exception of a small few, the employees and management alike are hostile and demeaning every shift.
Pros
good pay
Cons
hostile work environment, unfriendly coworkers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great company to work for!
Driver Operator (Former Employee) –  Kutztown, PANovember 24, 2018
Worked here for 11 years and relocated to another state and took a job with a company close to my new home. Always had an open door policy if you had any issues. Would work there again in the future!
Pros
company uniforms..decent equipment to get the job done.
Cons
Mandatory regional run on one weekend a month..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Estes Express Lines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 801 reviews
5196
4199
3213
294
199

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.6Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight