Estes Express Lines Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 716 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5180
4174
3194
278
190
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 714 reviews matching the search See all 715 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal Organization
Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAJuly 17, 2018
Estes Express offered me my first managerial role. I started out on the dock in college and was offered a supervisor role upon graduation. The culture was so positive and it was a great place to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced but challenging position
Dispatcher/Planner (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCJuly 16, 2018
Overall it was ok, the main reason I left was wages and benefits. I was offered more in both areas that I could not pass up. I did give them the opportunity to match. At first they did not. I put 2 weeks notice in and then they said ok. However I had already given their chance and did not go back on my word
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace good paying job
Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Eugene, ORJuly 4, 2018
would not leave company but transferring has seemed to be a challenge
where I am, I am considered an asset. Hard working employee.
The supervisor & terminal manager Have expressed to me How great of an employee I am so I do not understand why the terminals down south have resistance to letting me fill their open positions
Pros
love my job
Cons
Clifornia terminals dont seem to want to except me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people bad management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 2, 2018
Dock workers are the best around but the management could use some help, especially terminal manager. Terminal manager is very vindictive and slimy, if you are willing to put up with it then it’s a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
youwork what you want, a lot of work
Truck Driver - Class 1 (Current Employee) –  SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIAJune 29, 2018
i love my company is just tha i want to move to canada., i think to retire from here but like i said, i need to move to canada for family reson, but i love estes and my job.
Pros
work never ends
Cons
when you are new you hav to be extra board driver.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrendous.
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Bensalem, PAJune 28, 2018
Horrible place to work for. Scumbag management. Do not apply here. Don’t care about how hard of a worker you are. They get the drivers out late on there runs. Then expect you to drive like a maniac to get everything done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Linehaul team driver (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 27, 2018
If you have ever worked for a truck load carrier, you can appreciate this job a lot more. They are currently adding new trucks, trailers, and dollys. They are also adding more terminal locations across the country, currently there are about 240. As a linehaul driver we go terminal to terminal, drop and hook.
Pros
Good work schedule and time off
Cons
Insurance could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INJune 26, 2018
Co workers are great to work with, supportive and helpful. Company is good at promoting from within and rewards hard work. Has a good incentive program.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Work a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay if you want to live on the road
Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Barling, ARJune 23, 2018
I have been driving for 20 years. I think that it’s a decent place to work. I would still be there if they would have other regular routes in my area.
Pros
You are put up in hotel for your break.
Cons
Small terminals you have little chance to get a regular route
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McCook, ILJune 20, 2018
Helping customers,I learned how to multitask and how to handle pressure situations. Management was great to work with. The culture was family oriented. Most enjoyable part was getting the chance to meet customers face to face on occasion.
Pros
Being able to work Monday - Friday. Great place to wok
Cons
There were no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rock bottom
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  West Middlesex, PAJune 19, 2018
the hours are horrible
management was poor
working environment was poor
they dont hire you in youre always a temp
youre screamed at the entire time your there
Pros
non
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Applicable
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 19, 2018
I am not going to provide any information on my work day at Estes Express Lines. It would be unprofessional, and unethical. Everyone experiences something different.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, poorly managed
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MIJune 19, 2018
A very stressful place to work. Managed very poorly. I received nearly no training on the computer system but expected to know how to use it. Even if you do your work and get it done, management will have something negative to say. Problems are never resolved.
Pros
None
Cons
Use you until you can't take it anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 17, 2018
Estes is okay company to work for could be better poor management
seems to be nothing but young people in management who don't understand about life just go by the book when it suits them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJune 14, 2018
bad bad managment personal. horrific system .. work u to death... major favortision.. bad for buz ..bending rules to make them right.. alot of retaliation
Pros
overwork
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a solid place to be
Senior Engineer and Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 8, 2018
Estes was a great place to work except for being in a basement. I truly enjoyed the culture and my co-workers. Work-life balance was important among the team and the leadership cared about you. I truly enjoyed my time at Estes.
Pros
Travel all over the United States, fun work environment
Cons
IT has a big separation with the business but that is changing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for great attitudes
Sales (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 1, 2018
Great place for people who have good attitudes, work hard and get results. These people ALWAYS get promoted...seen it consistently for over 17 years.
Pros
Stability
Cons
No real cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place if you want a long term career
Operations Lead / Dock Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 31, 2018
Stable company with good benefits. Management is typical of a dock environment. Hours are overnight being in the trucking industry but the work is not hard.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Local Driver (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI 53221May 30, 2018
The work to life balance is way off. Expect people to work 50+ hours a week is not a way to treat employees. Not worth the great money to put up with managerial defects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall poor management
Data Entry Document /Imaging (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 29, 2018
The people of that company was rude, managers was just awful, High turnover in the technical solution Department. It was uncalled for to do people just wrong.
Pros
Lunch was good, and Healthcare
Cons
Need trained managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Estes Express Lines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.6Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight