Ethan Allen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay for many hours of work.
Designer (Current Employee) –  IllinoisApril 16, 2018
Extremely stressful work experience due to constant pressure from management for designers to meet highly unrealistic minimum monthly sales quotas.

No job stability.

A job requirement is to go on in-home design meetings.
Compensation is so low that it makes it a challenge to afford access to a car.
Pros
great team of designers
Cons
must work weekends & poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Margate, FLApril 16, 2018
Overworked and underpaid. Lack of good management. Asked to do tasks that are not part of your working contract. Such as painting and plumbing work. Would not reccomend this place of work to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Supervisor and Bobtail Driver (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAApril 12, 2018
I miss working there. I couldn't wait to work the next day. My co-workers, my boss are the best. Traveling and interactively involved with our customers.
Pros
Awesome place to work
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment
Design Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMarch 5, 2018
Have so much enjoyed my four years with the company. It has allowed me to develop my management skills via a supportive corporate culture. I came here after two consecutive - as well as stressful and chaos-filled - positions with locally owned family businesses. Myself, I need structure and have found it here at Ethan Allen.
Pros
Hours, product, benefits.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful hours and unrealistic sales quota
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 26, 2018
Design Consultants must work every weekend and they are only closed Christmas and Thanksgiving. You are expected to work the other holidays. If you do get a weekend off (maybe once a year), you loose out on commission. The sales goals are rediculusly high. The pay structure is commision with a draw. The draw is very small and you have to sell a lot to be able to support yourself. There is not enough sales volume to support all the designers in one store.

The training is minimal and the other design consultants won’t help.
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
Hours, weekends, holidays, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Operations Administrator (Former Employee) –  Skokie, ILFebruary 23, 2018
No one wants to do their own work. We had four managers but they always put their work onto someone else if they could. Designers looked down on anyone who was "support staff". The designers are also very catty with each other. There were several instances where they would get in loud arguments in front of clients. No one was ever disciplined for their behavior.
Pros
Great Hours
Cons
Even when taking a break you are still expected to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be couscous when thinking of applying here
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 15, 2018
The location I worked at was poorly managed It also was a very toxic work environment. They do not train you and treat you as incompetent and useless when you do not preform
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
INTERIOR DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Pineville, NCFebruary 15, 2018
Unfair monthly quota expectations, poor management, lack of help from managers, no value to employees from superiors. You can be easily replaced. Very little training
Cons
unfair advantages to employees that are liked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved their products Beautiful store
Interior Designer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 13, 2018
Loved my experience with Ethan Allen in Colorado Springs, CO and San Jose, CA. Superior products Loved that I ran my business as if it was my own Loads of suuport
Pros
great products Beautiful showrooms freedom great customers
Cons
Had to come back to COS they closed their location Denver too far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work for them again
Interior Designer/Sales (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 5, 2018
Owner had no clue about sales and customer relations. Training was fair but not well done. Unreliable in scheduling for floor coverage. Lack of support when it was needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAJanuary 30, 2018
Very poor management, unsupportive, unrealistic expectations, very inflexible culture, very demanding, not customer or employee oriented, flawed procedures, inconsistencies, lack of integrity , and much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reception Work Average
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 23, 2018
If you are not a designer, there is very little to do. The job is not challenging and should only be considered by people who are not worried about career advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad pt job
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Chester Springs, PAJanuary 22, 2018
Was part time. Enjoyed the work load. Some furniture was heavy but two men at a time would carry in furniture. Manager was great and awesome guy. became a GM and didn't have the time to do it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 17, 2018
Lackluster environment. Promises of quicker advancement-- those of which weren't held true. Much of the day consisted of administrative work, which is fine in itself but days spent almost entirely doing that sort of work coupled with the inability to leave the front desk (even for such minor things as using the restroom) made my days there very difficult.
Pros
Salary & Health Benefits
Cons
Lack of passion within the environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but fun work environment. Very positive
Manager - Customer Service/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Victor, NYJanuary 13, 2018
A typical day at work consists of a fast paced environment with responsibilities in multiple areas. Great people to work around and is a very positive atmosphere.
Pros
Company events and working with people
Cons
Lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative design oriented company
Custom Interior Design and Sales (Former Employee) –  SLC,UTJanuary 9, 2018
Creative, collaborative, challenging, competitive environment.
Opportunity to work with high caliber coworkers and clients.
Mid to upper end quality furniture and services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work at.
Design assistant (Former Employee) –  Wasau wiDecember 22, 2017
Had some wonderful co workers.had a second family at work.Always motivating to bring the best of us.great clients ready to try out stuff we have, had the opportunity to choose products we want to bring into the store.
Pros
Timings
Cons
Uncertain buisness
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace
Operations Administrator (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXDecember 20, 2017
It is very easy going. The only thing I have to say is at the end of the month things can be hectic and closing out that month's business. The hours are good except Thursday, Friday, & Saturday as we are open until 9:00pm. Management is very supportive and if you don't know how to do something there is always someone to assist you.
Pros
Relaxed workplace and supportive management
Cons
Short breaks and no incentives on reaching goals or bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Loyal to Employees
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 9, 2017
Been with Ethan Allen for 11 years. I started at $9.50 and hour, I am currently at $10.50 an hour after 9 years. I do not take their benefits and there has been no attempt to even the pay field. New people hired are paid higher then me a seasoned employee who also trains these people. No loyalty to the employees. They take take take. Expect everyone to do more more more and get paid less.
Too much upper management that do not know or care what is need down in the retail area where we make the money to pay these over paid execs.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an ok place to work until new management came in
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 4, 2017
New management took over and has run the business into the ground. It is definitely not what it used to be. They have laid off most of the seniority so they can bring in new workers and pay them less. Not an enjoyable place to work at all.
Pros
Cant think of any at the moment
Cons
Don't even know where to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ethan Allen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 170 reviews
557
445
336
222
110

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.1Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight