Evergreen Packaging Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 5, 2018
it was not a great place to work - hot, too much OT no work/life balance. My shift sucked. 11-7am. the management wanted us to start rotating shifts,
Pros
pay was adequate
Cons
no time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good health insurance and benefits
Offset press helper (Former Employee) –  Athens, GAAugust 23, 2018
Evergreen is now GEC. The company is mostly the same with some minor changes. Working weekends and long hours can be taxing but it's a good solid job to support a family. Biggest downside is changing shifts weekly.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
weekly rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can advance quickly
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 20, 2018
If you can handle 12 hour days there is a lot of overtime .you will be trained in multiple positions you can earn points back with overtime.advancement can happen fast. they offer great benefits 401k has great pay and I really like people I work with
Pros
Great pay
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Labor/Slush Operator (Former Employee) –  Canton, NC 28716August 20, 2018
I had several job positions while working there . Advancement or progression in jobs duties depended on what was required each day . So we generally didn't have a typical day .
I learned the process of making copier paper .
My manager was always helpful with anything I needed to perform my tasks.
The work place culture was based as a team coming together to keep production running and efficiently as possible .
The most enjoyable part of the job were the co workers . Great group to work with .
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, but leaves little time for a life outside of work
Export Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, AR 71601July 8, 2018
Evergreen provides great pay, strives for excellence, and promotes from within. Great career for someone who wants to dedicate their life to a company.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Always on call, little time for a life outside of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its really what u make it at this place, i try to make it fun n joyful for my coworkers every chance i get n stay positive n keep it going
STACKER (Current Employee) –  Portage, MIJune 29, 2018
Its a ok place to work if u dont have a family , its long hrs n can be very stressful due to the heat n the environment , the union sucks they dont care about there people , self only, witch makes it hard for some management is unorganized they don't communicate information properly , but if u are there only to get a pay check n not care about nothing else or no one else n selfish then that would be the place for u.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training and development.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Olmsted Falls, OHJune 22, 2018
Supervisory staff is educated and supportive. Daily meetings provide insight and information about the coming production needs. Ability to forecast allows for proper planning of resources.
Pros
Rotating schedule allows for one to be on 1st shift every other week.
Cons
Union work force is needy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its awful
Pressman Helper (Current Employee) –  Olmsted Falls, OHMay 29, 2018
I would recommend to never work there ever. You will be wasting away there if you decide to work there. Say goodbye to social life amd work life. Please apply somewhere else.
Pros
None
Cons
Underpaid, long hours, poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 25, 2018
A progressive, innovative company with a good work place environment. Continually seeking diverse opportunities to remain viable and profitable in a challenging and competitive market place.
Pros
aggressively seeks new business opportunities
Cons
resource constrained to support product development
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIApril 18, 2018
Without knowing current condition the new mgr changed everything, those who opposed were singled out and fired. The union strikes deals with management, but they only benefit those who have elected positions.
Pros
15 min payed lunch
Cons
Illigal personal vehical searches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many hours-not good for health reasons
Service Operator i (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARApril 18, 2018
Very long hours and stressful work schedule. A lot of 16 hr days and night in extreme heat and cold environment. I don't recommend for anybody that doesn't want to work a lot of hours in a week. Hard to plan and have a homelife
Pros
good pay
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Operator/ maintenance (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARApril 4, 2018
Plenty of options for advancement, but must be willing to go the distance to prove yourself to make it higher. Most all managers and foremans are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better places to work in Pine Bluff as far as pay. Promotion unfair at times.
Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARApril 2, 2018
Better paying job in Pine Bluff, hours can be long. Certain places in the Mill are extremely hot (between 100-120 degrees). Promotion can be unfair in certain areas, but that's a long story.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Long hours, mediocre health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared
Senior Recruiter / Talent Advisor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 14, 2018
Evergreen is a changing and fast-paced environment that demands you bring the best each and every day. The people are great and they care about the career development of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great pay
Assistant Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2018
I excelled and was trusted by management to do basically any job at the company. From the presses to the sealers and the warehouse. Started at the Printing presses where i was a stacker. Then was cross-trained on the sealer machines. I was then relocated to the warehouse driving a fork lift, where I also earned my fork lift license. I was then put back onto the printing presses where i then advanced to a Assistant Press Operator.
Pros
Nice checks
Cons
Alot of hours worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Machine Operator and maintence repair (Former Employee) –  Plant City, FLFebruary 3, 2018
good place to work if you were a good ole boy and a yes man this place became a Tabaco paradise you see dip in the water fountins cigarates everywhere the pay actually make your job ok supervisor were racist towards the women only if you were sexy and didn't sleep with any of them a few employees were low life pervs the could never get dates outside of the job and a few dope heads and drunks that were either drunk or high at work but if you can make it through all that then it was a ok place to work
Pros
good pay
Cons
a bunch of lonely going bald outta shape men thinking moneys is gonna make them handsom
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to grwo with
EHS Manager/ HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CAJanuary 24, 2018
This company provides ample opportunity for career growth. The corporate office demonstrates continual support for the EHS program and offers assistance with every aspect. Local management is equally supportive an willing to assist with all aspects of the EHS program.
Pros
Growth opportunity
Cons
None at this time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Long hours
Pressman 1 (Current Employee) –  Olmsted Falls, OHNovember 29, 2017
Work long hours under stressful conditions. Long hours no time off. Very unorganized and poor management. If you don't want to live it's a great place to work
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and stressfull
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Olmsted Falls, OHNovember 21, 2017
improper training, told one thing then told something else, some workers are helpful while others yell at you, no regard to long hours of work. no time for family life.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IANovember 19, 2017
a lot of travel, alot to learn about the bussinse. but in the end the market in socal not be to work here. just when i was understanding the equipment and making friends with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Evergreen Packaging. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 101 reviews
527
418
330
212
114

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight