Excela Health Employee Reviews

Showing all 143 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Medical Information Management Technician (Current Employee) –  Latrobe, PAOctober 24, 2018
The co-workers are great without them it would be a nightmare. Too much red tape, don't hire within, no appreciation, and everything is cheap. Use for experience, good starter job. Pay is ok for starting out, not competitive, but more than a lot of places pay as of yet. Once you have your experience leave. Seniority does not mean you will make more pay than those coming in the door. Someone who gets every raise for 10, 15 or even 20 years can still and some are still making as much as those coming in the door. They just cover it under red tape and follow the hopes that no one will talk about their pay.

One laughable joke going around within all departments is: "If it makes sense, we won't be doing it here!"

This counts for all facilities, Latrobe, Frick and Westmoreland Hospitals.
Pros
good starter job, good for experience, co-workers are great
Cons
not good to stay, pays same as coming in the door even with all raises, managment terrible, don't hire within
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big organization with job titles to fit every person and personality
Administrative Intern (Current Employee) –  Westmoreland County, PANovember 21, 2018
Excela is a large corporation with many different job types that fit almost everyone. They do offer great benefits to those who work part time and full time. They do a lot of great charity work, and constantly strive to do better for the patients. It can be a fun place to work depending on the department, and that specific office management.
Pros
There are a lot of Pros to Excela Health
Cons
Not really any.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place and people
Medical Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJune 25, 2018
this was a great atmosphere to work in and I enjoyed the job. the people that I worked with were wonderful and very helpful. I unfortunately left my position because I my second child and decided to stay home to raise my children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and enjoyable
Lead PET Scan Verifier (Current Employee) –  Latrobe, PAMarch 29, 2018
I enjoy my work at Excela Health. I have continued to learn all aspects in the Patient Access Area. I have trained coworkers on multiple jobs in our position and coordinate with other departments as well. I have learned all there is to learn and would like to continue to develop new strengths,yet there is no chance of advancement. I am a quick learner and have excellent customer service and patient communication and enjoy working communicating with our patients.
Pros
vacation and benefits
Cons
desire to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for nurses
Intensive Care Clinical Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, PAFebruary 6, 2018
If you are not afraid to work hard, this is a great place to work. They reward loyalty as your PTO increases for every year of service. If you are called in for overtime, bonuses are often provided. The have fair wages and give raises regularly. Management can be a bit inconsistent, but it is because they are trying to adapt to growing pains as we reach for magnet recognition and stroke accreditation. Benefits are the best I have seen offered in any of the hospitals within 50 miles of Pittsburgh.
Pros
Free parking, no mandating
Cons
Very busy, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Behavioral Health Technician(group therapy staff) (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJune 5, 2018
Had good coworkers
Adequate benefits
A discount on food in the Cafr
Relatively stress free
Constantly evolving environment
Clean Environment
Plenty of parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
certified medical assistant (Current Employee) –  Latrobe, PAMay 2, 2018
They have very good benefit package. There are 3 different insurance you may pick from. Great 401K. Health and child care flexible spending accounts. Discounts on stores in the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, PADecember 6, 2017
A lot has changed since I started here. The work environment used to be amazing, we had such a good boss and now with the advancements to outpatient and the manager changes(currently there isn't one), working here is a lot more difficult. You are on your feet all day and there is constantly things to be doing which would be fine but everything is unorganized. I am only speaking for this department, not for others.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management (lack of), standing all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with room to grow
Unit Clerk (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJanuary 4, 2019
I started here with the intentions of a nursing career, however after switching majors, I have found that there is plenty of room to grow outside of just medical. Overall, Excela is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to advance
Registered Nurse Neuro/Stroke Rehabilitation Unit (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PADecember 16, 2018
Excela allows for advancement of education and promotes this advancement. They provide information on schools and their programs as well as offers tuition reimbursement.
Pros
good education program
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Culinary Specialist (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PASeptember 24, 2018
The main managers in the dietary department are basis and poor. They do not help out and tend to stay in their office and stare at a computer aimlessly while trying to figure out why they cannot get work done.

The work culture is poor and the supervisor will talk about other employees to their coworkers. It is a very unprofessional setting and becomes toxic quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place
registerd nurse home health (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PANovember 19, 2018
10-12 hour days when scheuduled 8

poor communication from managers and supervisors
made to feel like the work you are doing isn't good enough even though you bend over backwards.
no constructive criticizim, constant nit picking about things you did wrong,but not valuing the things you did to help the team like going to see a patient out of your territory at the end of your day because the visit was missed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management in the Admissions department
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Westmoreland County, PAOctober 17, 2018
The supervisor will not work with your schedule unless you are one of her "favorites". She will not allow you to go from part-time to full-time because she "does not want to do the paperwork". Let's not forget the company in general takes forever to hire even when the department is very low on employees.
Pros
Great nursing coworkers
Cons
Supervisors, Human Resources will not help, terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We all worked together as a team.
Physician Biller (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAAugust 29, 2018
Overall I was very happy working at Excela. Learned a lot there and management was very helpful. Would still be working there if I was still living in Pa but decided to move to Vegas to be with surviving family.
Pros
Different perks because of Hsp affiliation
Cons
Lot of changes within depts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PANovember 14, 2018
Typical hospital setting. Close to home. Competitive pay. Opportunities for RNs to advance. Local & community oriented. Would recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No vacation days only pto which had to be used for everything. Pay is less than most other places. Points system for calling off even with Doctor's
Technical partner (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJanuary 8, 2019
Would not recommend someone to work here. They're very short staffed because they work you so hard. Depending on your shift, there is not always teamwork which is needed when lifting heavy patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff and co-workers, but managed very poorly.
PSYCHIATRIC REHABILITATION SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAFebruary 13, 2017
I worked for Caregivers of SWPA for almost 5 years. It was a great place to work to gain experience and I met a lot of great people there. The clients were absolutely wonderful and the vacation and PTO time was great as well. Benefits were good, although because we were just an "umbrella" of Excela Health, we didn't receive the same benefits as the hospital which I felt to be unfair (considering we had to follow all of their policies and procedures). We also didn't receive any type of raise for (now going on) three years, and the management team didn't care about their employees at all. They felt as if they were all replaceable and were strictly only concerned about dollar signs.
Pros
Pto, benefits, and flexibility
Cons
management, the care for staff, salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Internship
Supply Chain Intern (Current Employee) –  Greensburg, PAOctober 19, 2018
Worked as a Supply Chain intern for the summer. Got to meet plenty of people, all of the staff were very nice. It was a good experience. I learned a lot about the entire hospital supply chain system.
Pros
Networking
Cons
Not a whole lot to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill and stressful sometimes.
Technical Partner (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJuly 5, 2017
I was pregnant when i started working here, so they was not helpful at all. and when my doctor gave me some restrictions--- like i need another coworker to help me with certain jobs, they refused to help me and fired me when i was 5 months pregnant. That was horrible and i fell into a deep depression after that. But other then that part, the work was easy and I enjoyed a lot of my coworkers.
Pros
good benefits, great coworkers, and great pay
Cons
don't get hurt, or pregnant, cause they will fire you. That don't care for your well being.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Med Surg Unit
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PASeptember 14, 2018
I loved my medical surgical unit that I worked on at Excela Westmoreland.
The unit was small and intimate. Ratios were manageable at that time.
The overall nursing staff was not so friendly when I worked there.
Dietary and escort services were very friendly!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Excela Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 143 reviews
537
454
330
214
18

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight