Express Mart Employee Reviews

Found 68 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hate
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 20, 2018
i really hated that place to the fullest managers were messy and things were unorganized. everyone was friends and not much work got done. employees was always late.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Express Mart
June 25, 2018

All of our stores are located in the state of NY. We are not affiliated with any stores with similar names in any other states.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, not a bad company to work for.
Cashier-Manager (Current Employee) –  2700 Union RoadJune 3, 2018
This is a good place to find yourself if you are willing to put the time and commit to the job. Now, as a Manager, I would not recommend
moving too high up, because the work load and the stress level are not commiserate with the pay.
Pros
Fun, fast paced work environment
Cons
Can take over your life if you let it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 31, 2018
it's a very good place to work and very good people to work with. you go in in the morning and count your cash drawer and make sure the correct amount is in there and the same at the end of each shift. Take care of customers and cash them out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales Associate 1 (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 9, 2018
every day i learned something new some tings were higher then my level and others i got to teach someone something new everyday is a learning opportunity.
Pros
friendly, helpful, outgoing staff
Cons
24 hours and working overnights is rough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful altogether
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Otto, MOMay 2, 2018
Overall this company was a great company to work for it had its ups and downs but still managed it fine.your coworkers and yourself get along for the most part with each otherq
Pros
Hours
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space
Cashier/Bagger (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXApril 8, 2018
Its great because you have your regulars.
Management gets replaced often.
Overtime is available when prompted.
Always gigven your two off days.
Sometimes working in such a small area causes friction.
Pros
free food from deli
Cons
no breaks, can not sit down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Team Lead/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Webster, NY 14580April 4, 2018
I learned a lot from the staff working there. At the time I was just looking for better hours and less of a strenuous job. would recommend working there is a great place to grow and advance if you put in the time and effort
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Marion, NYMarch 14, 2018
The advancement was great. The employees were very outgoing easy to work with. The corporate did not do the right paperwork, for overtime. The manager was not understanding of incidental problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Canastota, NYMarch 7, 2018
There was no place for employees to take a break and eat, worked by yourself most of time so you could never really get anything that needed to be done, done.
Pros
usually was busy
Cons
no place for workers to sit, take time to themselves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producitve work place
Cahier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Homer, NYMarch 6, 2018
Fast-paced, friendly manager's, nice people. Open to hour changes and will work with you if you need to work different hours. overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Sales Associate Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arnold, MOMarch 3, 2018
it was all right and i like the manager. Most of the customers were pleasant. I enjoyed meeting new people. I just wish the schedule more secure and consistent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Express Mart
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Phelps, NYFebruary 22, 2018
I worked at Express Mart to make ends meet when I was young and married. The hours were terrible the pay was poor and the employment was unpleasant to say the least.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chippewa Falls, WIFebruary 22, 2018
Its a gas station. You run a cash register and help customers. Listen to co worker gossip because at the time most employees where female and they gossip.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Express Mart
June 25, 2018

All stores are located in NY state. We are not affiliated with any stores of a similar name in any other states.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t recommend
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, NYFebruary 20, 2018
You will work very hard for little compensation. You will not feel valued as an employee and will work hard for little compensation, wouldnt recommend
Cons
Promotions, pay increases, weekly schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management but no advancement
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Imperial, MOFebruary 5, 2018
Good Management but not very good pay or advancement. Worked different shifts and had to work some double shifts. Was given more duties but not more pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this gas station job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJanuary 22, 2018
This job was a great at times it was fast paced at times then slow but that's what happens at a gas station . We were on campus so days they had parades or games is when it was alot busier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet alot of great people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Shell Lake, WIJanuary 16, 2018
Customers were great, and didn't get mad with the understanding of only one cashier. Got to meet a lot of people which was the fun part of the job. There was always work to be done making the shift go by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun job
Team Lead/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXDecember 15, 2017
A typical day at express mart show up on time count cigs, make coffee, check pumps, paper work, then tend to customers.
I learned how to balance paper work change pumps paper,make schedules, stock,and etc
workplace culture slow paced, fast paced
Hardest part wasnt really a hard thing here
Enjoyed serving smiling faces everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  front st, binghamtonDecember 12, 2017
it was a very nice place to work, i enjoyed it for the time i was there ... my hours were garenteed , which was nice... didnt get sufficient raises for the time that you worked there, no shift premeuim ....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montour Falls, NYNovember 11, 2017
The one I happened to work at was actually a completely different company with a different manager/owner. Things changed significantly over time. It's hard to say if Express Mart itself is the same as the one I worked at. But it wasn't right for me.
Pros
Free food, nice people, flexible people
Cons
unfixed schedule, practically never get a raise, hours are poor, no paid time off of any kind, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Express Mart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 70 reviews
522
417
315
28
18

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.5Culture